We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ONE UN New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ONE UN New York to your Saves list
ONE UN New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3575 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good and bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had made reservations two months ago. Asked for west tower and received a nice room on that wing. Had asked for room away from elevators, and imagine my surprise when I went to my room, directly across fr8m elevators. Asked for room that I had asked for 2 months ago and was told new room would be available by 3 p.m. Got back to hotel at 5 p.m. and was told oh room is still dirty. Then the front desk person gave me a look as if to say what do want me to do ? After much discussion another room one half the size of the other doom was made available. Also, asked the concierge, a women working at desk noon Saturday for tickets to A raisin in the sun. She looked at me in a very condesending way and said " before I call and check we use a broker and the tickets will be between 150.. and 250.00 dollars." It was very embarrassing and insulting. Then asked for a good lunch place and gave me a name of a place on 2nd ave, that was closed. Nice job lady, insulting and giving name of restaurants that are closed. By the way, went to theater and got rush tickets for 85.00 bucks. On the good side, Suzzy at front desk in morning was great. Erica was good also. Man who checked bags and doormen very good at their jobs. Rooms on 40th floor was. Great, nice view of city and very clean. Too bad concierge attitude was so bad abd such a delay in getting room

Room Tip: West tower best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I’d like to apologize for the challenges you experienced during your stay and would very much like to discuss the particulars with you. Please contact me at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com. On a positive note, I am delighted to know Suzy and I were able to elevate your experience here with us. We’re always eager to exceed our guests expectations and I look forward to redefining your experience during your next stay.

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    783
    334
    148
    90
See reviews for
413
696
100
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at the One UN Hotel from June 4th thru June 8th. Took a cab from LGA and paid about $45. On the way back with less traffic it was about $38. There are dogs sniffing for bombs when you come in with your luggage. There is police presence in all the adjacent blocks.The hotel is 5 blocks away from Grand Central Station. All the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Stayed in the East tower which is the older one since we booked it on a discount. Got a room in the 33rd floor with a view that included the Freedom Tower, Empire State Building and the Chrysler building. Room was nice size and comfortable. A couple that was staying with us got a room with a queen bed when they requested a king bed. We called downstairs and they were immediately moved to a corner room which also had a gorgeous view of the city on both sides. When we needed suggestions for restaurants they gave us several options for both dinner and breakfast. There is a cafe in the corner with a good breakfast. Hotel buffet is expensive. They have a bar and we got to watch the hockey game and basketball game there. Room service was good and fast. Cant say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff was. They would ask us the next day about our outings the day before remembering our itinerary. Check out at 5:00 am was a breeze thanks to Justin. Cleanliness of our room could have been better. Found hair pins on the floor which meant the carpet hadn't been vacuumed and our comforter had a stain. On the other hand towels were very clean. The room does not have a mini fridge and they do not provide water. There is a little shop on the same block that sells sodas, water and snacks. The gym is big. Has free weights in addition to weight machines and treadmills and elliptical machines.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a corner room which has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is wonderful to hear how friendly and accommodating our staff was during your 4 night stay with us! We are truly invested in each and every one of guests. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Justin and the other members of our Front Office team; such positive reinforcement! We will continue to do our best in all aspects and thoroughly review all facets of guest experience. Please don’t let it be too long before your next stay with us at ONE UN New York!

With Appreciation,
Courtney Broad
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

First time to NYC and was glad we stayed in the ONE UN. Stayed in a double superior room on the 34th floor in the West Tower. Very comfortable bed, big clean bathroom with an amazing walk in shower. Big floor to ceiling window, offering a stunning view of the Brooklyn Bridge, Roosevelt Island and the East River, especially at night. Lots of storage space and a secure safe to keep our passports, money, etc. The Skyline Club Lounge provided complimentary breakfast - choice of pastries, bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee. We also had complimentary drinks in the evenings which was a nice added bonus. Fast Internet access was also available in the room and a big TV with cable access. Helpful staff who booked our transport back to the airport. Location was good - short walk (approx 10 mins) from Grand Central Station, which is a couple of stops on the subway from Times Square.

A few points knocked off for:
- Room wasn't cleaned for the first couple of days. But after that we had a cleaner in every day.
- A few areas of the room were a bit dusty... But nothing too drastic.

Overall, really enjoyed my stay at the ONE UN, West Tower and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay with us at ONE UN New York! I am happy to hear you were satisfied with the hospitality services we offer. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and it is a pleasure to know we have reached these goals. Please rest assured your observations have been addressed with the appropriate department. We hope to see you back at ONE UN New York very soon!

Best Regards,
Courtney Broad
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently stayed in the West Tower on the top floor (40th) and our room had great view of the river and the city. The West Tower rooms are all recently renovated and very nice rooms. When booking I would double check to make sure you're booking the west tower vs the east tower. The staff was very friendly and we had no problems with anything throughout our stay. I'll admit that I'm usually very picky when it comes to hotels and was a little hesitant about booking but I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are clean and very modern. Our room had a good sized working area, seating area with great views of the city and big bathroom. In New York it's pretty hard to find spacious rooms with great views for a reasonable price so we were pretty happy to have found this place. The location is in midtown, close to Grand Central, the UN and cabs are easily accessible. They also have a free happy hour and free breakfast everyday. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your remarks and recognizing our hardworking employees. We pride ourselves on exceeding expectations and providing a level of service our guests truly deserve. We will continue to raise the bar and hope to welcome you back soon! If there is anything I can do for you going forward please feel free to reach out to me at Courtney.Broad@milleniumhotels.com.

Best Regards,
Courtney Broad
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had an excellent one night stay at the ONE UN last weekend. I was worried that the room would be run down since we were in the East Tower (vs the renovated West Tower) but it was clean, the bed/sheets were very comfortable and the room (3312) was HUGE, by far the largest room we've ever had in NYC. The view was fantastic (see pics). The windows stretched across one side of the room which made the room seem even bigger. Woman at front desk was super nice and let us check in more than 3 hours before check in time on a Friday. 3 or 4 elevators all functioning so there was rarely a wait. The room could use updating but again it was very clean so no problems for me. We were lucky enough to book this room through Priceline for an excellent rate (bidding) and the front desk treated us just like any other guest (that does not always happen!). There was a bomb sniffing dog as we entered but that only made me feel safer. The hotel is right across the street from the UN building hence the name.

Room Tip: Our room on 33rd floor was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It’s comments such as yours that make us strive to providing the ultimate experience to our guests. Thank you for sharing your lovely review. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of our team where it will put a smile on their faces!

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We checked in last night for three nights (1.275 Dollars) at the West Tower! Nice Rooms and nice view, but the oldest windows and no isolation!
Our room is in the 40th floor and you can here the noise of the Trucks going back, you can here the traffic down there very loud, it's almost like the windows are opened!!!
This is not what i expect from a five star hotel and not what i expect for that price!
There will be better places for less money...
First Night in NYC - No sleep! Great start!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It’s always a pleasure receiving feedback from our guests and I thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience. Recently extensively renovated, our West Tower accommodations were designed to provide our guests with the ultimate comfort level at prices they expect. I am deeply regretful this was not the case. I am eager to welcome you back and redefine your experience and will be more then happy to do so if you kindly reach out to me at Erica.Kostic@millenniumhotels.com

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a wonderful view of the East River and the city from our upper-floor room. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was reasonably spacious by New York standards. We walked to Grand Central and Times Square without trouble, passing by (and using) eateries along the way. We especially appreciated the advice of Robert for restaurant ideas. We missed having a coffee maker and a mini-fridge in the room; that would upgrade this hotel to a 5 in our book.

Room Tip: Upper floors will give you better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We encourage feedback as it helps us know how to better serve you. I thank you for taking a moment to write your review. East Tower accommodations do not include in room coffee makers but we certainly do have them upon request which I will be more then happy to assist you with the next time you stay with us. We pride ourselves on high standards of guest relations and it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback in that area. Your comments are sure to put a smile on Robert’s face. On behalf of the entire staff at ONE UN New York, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Kindest Regards,
Erica Kostic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ONE UN New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONE UN New York

Address: One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ONE UN New York 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your ONE UN New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Un Plaza
Millennium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ONE UN New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.