We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ONE UN New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ONE UN New York to your Saves list
ONE UN New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3575 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived just after the storm (Sandy). This was supposed to be a really special treat following a difficult year. I paid top price and was promised a room in the newly refurbished West Tower. This is not what we got which was a long, long way from a 4*. Staff refused to reallocate us to the type of room we had paid for. Whilst the room was big and the view of the East River through the grease smeared windows was impressive the room left a LOT to be desired. It was shabby and not clean. (Beds and bedding was OK). Bathroom in particular was poor. Room was well worn with dirty marks on walls and carpet (heavens knows when that last saw a vacuum!) We had no hot water for two days. Hotel staff didn't seem to care. No alternative such as use of facilities at other Millennium Hotels was offered. Reception staff were thin on the ground. Spent at least 10 minutes queuing at Reception on at least four occasions. It took three attempts to get complimentary tea and coffee brought to the room. Concierge was frequently not on duty. BA kindly lost one of our cases. Some Bell Staff were helpful but several were disinterested. Pool and Gym were good. On the plus side the location is fabulous. Pretty much everything in Midtown was within walking distance. Some excellent diners close by (you can tell they are good when they are packed with locals!) If you are lucky enough to get one of the newly refurbished rooms its probably a good hotel but for what we paid and the quality of room we got we would have been better off in the Westin, Carlton or Hilton which are also 4*.

Room Tip: Specifically request a room in the refurbished West Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to express our deepest regrets and sincerest apologies on the experience you have endured during your recent stay at our property, in particular with the condition and cleanliness of the room. It is unfortunate we could not elevate your spirits during such upsetting time as post hurricane Sandy period.

Indeed, we have recently renovated the West Tower of our property and will be undergoing an extensive renovation in the East portion of the hotel scheduled early next year. We value your opinion and believe it will help us improve our standards and reach desired level of services we provide our guests. We would like to have the opportunity to provide you with a memorable and positive experience and showcase our new product. Could you give us a call at your convenience at 212-758-1234 and kindly speak to one of our Guest Relations Managers to look into your case for future stay options and follow up with associates involved.

We thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    782
    332
    148
    90
See reviews for
412
695
100
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in the newly renovated tower for one night and wish the stay could have been longer. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was the best and it even had a fold down seat if you want to sit while showering. The staff was friendly and helpful. I hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

One UN is a nice hotel, and my room was huge, recently renovated, and very impressive. However, the rate was daunting too-with tax, the room was more than $700 per night. The location is quite good, and the staff seemed friendly and customer focused. On balance, this was a very good choice, although certainly not for those on tight budgets.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the One Un New York. We were there for my 40th birthday and spent 3 glorious nights and had a wonderful time! The hotel is beautiful and we were in the newly opened West Tower. The room was on the 38th floor and the view of the Manhattan skyline was breathtaking (see attached pictures). We ate breakfast in the Skyline lounge, which was delicious and it offered eggs, sausages, toast, muffins, yogurt, jams, juices, coffee (yummy because of their Nespresso machine). The views from the Skyline lounge were amazing since you could see the Hudson river, Manhatten and all the way down to Ground Zero (see attached pics). In the evenings the Skyline lounge served appetizers and wine, beer, and soft drinks so it was a wonderful way to ease into the evening. Staff everywhere were friendly, professional and so helpful. We enjoyed every minute of our trip and even one small issue was rectified very quickly. I highly recommend this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view....breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very swift and efficient check in, the room was a bit tired looking but I was in the cheaper tower so I was expecting that, and even so I still think the rate I got was pretty good for such a good location. Would definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Turned up at hotel at 2:30 and told could not check in until 3, ok. so qued up again at 3 to be checked in, by the time got to front of que was half 3 and told room still not ready. asked how long until ready and could not give us an answer. waited til 4 being ignored whilst many others checked in.Then put our luggage in bell room whilst going to collect my marathon race pack. came back about half five and was finally checked in by rude member of staff. Got to the room and had no towels to shower after being travelling for nearly 16 hours. Rang house keeping and they said would be right up. Half an hour later we rang again and ten minutes after that they turned up. Expensive Wi-Fi. Rooms are a nice size and had nice river view. Will be back to New York next year to hopefully run the marathon but will not be staying in this hotel. $1,500 for four nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay in our property. We hope you would accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences of not having accommodation available for you at the time of check in and delay of services. During the challenging time we had been coping with post hurricane Sandy destructions, it is unfortunate we could not exceed your expectation and provide you with the desired level of service. We would like very much to restore your faith in our hotel and look into your case more detailed. We believe your feedback will help us improve our service as we strive for excellence. Could you be so kind to reach out to us at 212-758-1234 and speak to one of our Guest Relations Managers.

Thank you again for devoting your time and letting us aware of the service inconsistencies in your stay. We hope to have an opportunity to bring your with positive and memorable experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göttingen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for few days in the October. There are two towers: the renovated one and the "old" one. The old one is really old. We managed to secure a deal which made our stay tolerable in terms of value for money otherwise it would end up in a huge disappointment.

Rooms
The room was on 36th floor and gave fantastic view of Manhattan including Empire state, east river, Chrysler building, One World Trade Center and 1st avenue.

Cons:
1. The first room we were given was not cleaned. We switched the room (to 36th floor) and it was better but yet not as expected.
2.TV has no HD channels.
3.No 220/240 V in the bathroom.
4. Internet costs 14USD per day
5.The quality of the bed is bad.


Staff:
In general, staff is not very helpful, concierge is especially not helpful: two different concierges and bad suggestions. Then we were informed that the reason for bad suggestions is that the concierge is not from New York and therefore he uses internet to find things, etc... Then at the reception they could not answer the question as to why they employ concierge who is not from New York city. When buying tickets for the Metropolitan Museum, the concierge gave wrong information regarding admission of the students. As a result we paid double price. When we complained at the reception, the answer was: "May be you should have bought the tickets directly at the museum". Only after speaking with manager we were reimbursed.

I would not recommend to stay at this hotel (unless you got a real bargain there). At normal prices we would definitely go for another one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time letting us know of your recent experience in our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconsistencies in service you have endured, especially cleanliness of the room and helpfulness of concierge. We wish we could have handled your requests differently.

As you mentioned, indeed, we recently introduced Luxury West Tower and offer our guests variety of rooms and suites with spectacular city views and the latest in-room technologies, including complimentary Wi-Fi connection.

We appreciate your feedback and believe it will help us improve level of service we provide our guests. It is unfortunate though we could not exceed your expectations and hope to restore your faith in our hotel. Would you be able to reach out to us at 212-758-1234 and speak with one of the Guest Relations Managers on duty to look into your inconveniences.

We are looking forward to speaking to you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ONE UN New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONE UN New York

Address: One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ONE UN New York 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your ONE UN New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Un Plaza
Millennium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ONE UN New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.