We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give a score of 0 if I could.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ONE UN New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ONE UN New York to your Saves list
ONE UN New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3575 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“I'd give a score of 0 if I could.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had the same experience as ecotark. My husband and I left our powerless apartment in the city to check in here for their power, heat and hot water. We had an option of a few different hotels, and chose this one. Little did we know, they have no hot water and conveniently did not share this information with us upon check-in. By the time we realized the problem, there were no other hotels available in NYC. When we confronted the manager on duty last night, they offered no apology or anything. It is just wrong. Other than the hot water, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The service is atrocious. There was no shower cap in our room, so I went down to the front desk to as for one and they directed me to buy one from the Duane Reade down the street. They said they do not have any, and then I had them call housekeeping to ask if they have any, and sure enough they did! I am also disgusted to mention that there are blood stains on the comforter! The only good service I had was at the restaurant at breakfast. Do yourselves a favor and stay elsewhere. I wish we had known!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is with great disappointment to read of your unfortunate experience at our property during the power outage in your apartment. We continuously strive in delivering the highest standards of services and products and have failed to meet them at this time.

We would very much like the opportunity to speak with you and discuss your experience further. Kindly give us a call at your earliest convenience at (1) 212-758-1234 and ask to speak to the Guest Relations Manager on duty.

We hope to hear from you soon and have the privilege of serving you in the near future.

Warm regards,

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    783
    334
    148
    90
See reviews for
413
696
100
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked the West Tower during the storm. Upon arrival at the hotel was informed my room was booked out and I'd be staying in the east tower. To say the room was tired/ dated, with a tiny rock hard bed is an understatement. In the morning I also discovered there wa no hot water for the trickle of a shower. Was never informed upon checking in and was charged full amount for my stay. A total joke of a hotel, do not go.

Room Tip: Dont bother....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconsistencies in services and overall state of your room. Rest assured we will address these issues with the departments and individuals concerned. We would also like invite you back and be able to have the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail. Please call us at any time at (1) 212-758-1234 and ask to speak to the manager on duty.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to speak with you soon.

Warm regards,

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed 4 nights on the 38th floor in the newly renovated Luxury West Tower, and it was great despite Hurricane Sandy. Room was very spacious, 2 double beds, grand armchair and coffee table overlooking the beautiful view of the Hudson and large desk and flat screen TV. Too bad all the channels were broadcasting the weather. Unlike one of the previous reviews, this room had a number of drawers, large closet, floor to ceiling mirror, fridge (but full of food so can't really add much), Nespresso machine and fine teas. Needless to say I drank endless cups of tea while being under house arrest.

The breakfast was simple by luxury hotel standards, just a few hot options in rotation, sausage, scrambled eggs, potato rosti, quiche...plus an assortment of pastries, fresh fruit, toast, cereals, granola and toppings. Nice to have 3 choices of juice, 4 kinds of tea, and 5 blends of coffee to choose from though. Dining on the 30th floor was amazing though, 360 degrees of the NY skyline.

Despite 90% of the staff not showing up for work the hotel kept ticking along, you could see the staff that were there were overworked but still smiling. At $449/night for a double room it was pricey, but well worth it especially during the Hurricane. During the height of the storm the window started leaking, but the staff were able to seal it. My only complaint is unrelated to the storm, the door adjoining the room next door seems to be too thin/not sealed as we could hear the neighbours laughing, fighting, crying and making all kinds of noise.

Nonetheless, I was very pleased with our stay, especially given the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and preferably without other guests next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked hotel as we were affected by the recent storm (Sandy) and lost power.
When we got to room we discovered that there was neither heat nor hot water.
No warning. No explanation. By the time I tried to find another place to go - too late.
At the time I booked this the day before I had a choice. As I confronted them about it the story kept changing but the bottom line is they willfully lured customers in, many with kids trying to find shelter without any warning. They told me water only just went off. Other guests I spoke with said it had been off over a day. So ethics is my biggest complaint here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during Hurricane Sandy. Unfortunately, many hotels within the area lost electricity and hot water, and one major factor that was undetermined in all cases, was the time this would be fixed by. It rests as no excuse to the inconveniences you and your family encountered however, and we would very much like to have the opportunity to speak with you personally in order to offer you an experience you can truly enjoy at our property. Kindly give us call and ask for the manager on duty at 212-758-1234 at any time.

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Tatiana Bermeo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Apart from the great view the hotel was very disappointing.
The room was very bare and only provided the bed and tv. There were no drawers for clothes, no mirrors,no pictures on the wall,no fridge,mini bar or tea making facilities.When we mentioned this to reception we were told we would have to pay more for such facilities!! What do you expect for $370 a night?

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEUNNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at ONE UN New York, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize for your recent experience at our property, including the state of the room, and the lack of in-room amenities such as the mini bar and tea making facilities. We are happy to announce however, that our hotel will be undergoing an extensive renovation in the New Year. We will be completing the entire east portion of our hotel, and we have just recently opened the west luxury tower of our property. We look forward to having the opportunity to showcase them both to you for your enjoyment.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Tatiana Bermeo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from the hotel. We had a great room on the 30th floor with a river and city view. Breath taking. We had a massive kingsize bed which was really luxurious and a big flat screen tv. Room was clean daily with clean towels etc. Ideal location, not too far from grand central and plenty of good bar and places to eat with in walking distance. Only down side but not major was lack of coffee making facility's. Overall a fantastic hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked the One UN New York for our first trip to NY.
Room was clean and of a good size with good beds but could do with a lick of paint, a few marks on the wall but overall good.
Big plus point was the view, we were on the 34th floor and looked over East River and south over Manhattan with views of the Empire State and Chrysler buildings, absolutely stunning.
Reception and concierge staff were very helpfull and happy to help.
We loved the hotel location, 10 minutes walk from GCT and 30 minutes from Times Square.
The hotel bar and restaurant looked very nice but we did not use them as they were quite expensive, mostly had breakfast at John's Diner (corner of 44th Street and 2nd Avenue) and grabbed a quick bagel and coffee a couple of times from the bagel cart at hotel entrance, very nice and good value ($10 for breakfast for 3).
We would go back.

Room Tip: South/West facing, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ONE UN New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONE UN New York

Address: One United Nations Plaza, 44th Street (Between First and Second Avenue), New York City, NY 10017-3575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ONE UN New York 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your ONE UN New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Un Plaza
Millennium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Un Plaza Hotel
Millenium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ONE UN New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.