We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, delicious food, good prices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coppelia

Coppelia
207 w 14th St, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
212.858.5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Coppelia is a 24 hour luncheonette located in West Village that serves Cuban and Latin comfort food. It is owned by celebrity Chef Julian Medina.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice place, delicious food, good prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice little place. Had a delicious breakfast which included eggs, toast, potatoes, coffee or juice all for $5.95 which is excellent for NYC. Nothing fancy but some good cookin...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    60
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Arran
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So wonderful, where to begin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent a pleasant lunch time here and decided to return for an evening meal. What a great idea. Authentic Cuban menu, attentive staff and fabulous food. Would definitely recommend . We took the subway downtown and it was well worth it. Value for money, may well return before end of our stay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant was very convenient to our hotel and the best part: it was delicious! My husband had the Cubano sandwich and it was awesome. I had the empanadas (beef and sweet corn) and they were delicious. Also, the sangria wasn't bad either.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our favorite spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are New Yorkers, have been coming here since the place opened and it's one of our favorite spots. Guacamole is tasty and plentiful, great for people who don't like it too spicy and for the others, you can just add a little hot sauce. Plantain chips taste homemade (think they are) delicious. Brunches are great. Food is always fresh, nicely flavored and reasonably priced. Atmosphere relaxed and friendly. And a special shout out to bartender/counter server Miguel Sanchez. Try the mojitos!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cuban Cuisine with a Diner Setting!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Walking in it looks like a diner, a nice diner and then you look at the menu...oh boy.
Their selection of appetizers are phenomenal (I went with the Fish Tacos) then the Salmon for main course was spectacular! Highly Recommend this place if you are in the mood for Cuban food at an excellent price!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coppelia also viewed

 

Been to Coppelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coppelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.