We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last surviving great record stores” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J&R Music and Computer World

J&R Music and Computer World
1 Park Row, btwn Ann & Beekman Sts, New York City, NY (Financial District)
212-238-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 589 Shopping in New York City
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
Attraction details
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the last surviving great record stores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

J&R is an institution like Tower Records used to be.........great collections of Jazz, Soul, Blues and oldies..........for real music lovers who still want to buy their records this is the place!!!
Let's hope it will last for a while!!!!............Tower Records is gone, the Bottom Line theater is gone,
Lennox Lounge in Harlem will soon be gone too........Borders book store is gone etc etc.......NY won't be the same without these places.........too bad!!

Roeland Biever

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    4
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Nice selection, but un-interested sales people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went in to buy a digital camera with interchangeable lenses. Looking at some pretty high priced cameras. The salesman handed them to us and wandered away. There was no other customer in the store. We had to keep asking him to come over and show us the features of the 2 cameras we were looking . Pretty un-satisfying experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good selection and prices at a hands-on electronic, camera, computer, CD, housewares, etc. store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I disagree with some of the others. As a native NEW YORKER, even though I now live and work in Paris, I have always purchased my cameras and computers here, except for a small portable which I got at the FNAC in Paris because I needed a tiny computer entirely in French, but the price was almost 50 % more than in NYC. J&R has purchased almost the entire block of PARK ROW, little by little so you will find computers, cameras, electronic gadgets, phones, house wares, CD's, etc. All of my CD's come from here since they have the most recent releases on sale. I find that the staff is quite helpful, but you should do your research before you come and check out their website too, since you go here (or to B&H) when you are ready to buy and you are not quite sure of the particular models and prefer to try them out. If there is a problem they will exchange or refund very easily. Good points: you can actually hold and try the items prior to purchase.With any purchase you now can get a free coffee in the new cafe on the mezzanine of the computer store.Nice place to sit down for awhile before making more purchases

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not for real gamers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We looked for gaming headsets - after seeing them in the Razer's site. Found out they have a very poor selection.
Also - the store is divided into 5-6 separate stores and you should know to which you have to go as they are not connected.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great Selection, Fair Prices and Stupid Sales People”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you need electronics or housewares, this is the best place to go for selection. Price is also good but the lack of any type of help from Salespeople is just abominable. Make sure you know exactly what you want as well as the price plus call to see if in stock. I've been using J&R for many years but the customer service experience has gotten worse with each passing year. I went in to purchase some lens filters and it was a nightmare to say the least. The time before I went in to purchase two specific USB card readers and i was shuffled back and forth between Store #1 and #10 three times. It was only after I demanded to see a manager did it get any better. Customer service here is completely dead .....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&R Music and Computer World also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to J&R Music and Computer World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J&R Music and Computer World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.