We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riff Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riff Chelsea to your Saves list
Riff Chelsea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel) (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #392 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was skeptical after reading reviews, but our room (with private bathroom) was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Great access to Penn Station and within easy walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller, Central Station. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: It's a good budget hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
6
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pro: Marcus, Maurice and Edwin are all great staff members. They were all so accommodating. Upon entering I noticed my suite was bigger than expected. It looked and smelled clean. The room was nice and cool which was a blessing on such a warm day. I reserved the suite for an extended stay and the staff set it up like a home away from home. Besides the large king bed there are 3 other places a guest can sleep which would be great for families.

Con: the stairs were a big surprise. You have to walk up a set of stairs to check in. My suite was located on the other side of the building so I had to walk downstairs to go back up 4 flights. Thank goodness the employee Edison was in the lobby and helped me bring my luggage up.

For a limited service hotel with inexpensive New York City prices it really exceeded my expectations. Great location!!!!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

location is great. amazing facilities considering the price. overall really good value for money

bedroom is not bigger than a train cabin and we had rats visiting the bedroom at night. They are aware of this since there were Rat Traps under the bed. most rooms are next to 8th avenue which is noisy.

I'd suggest get rid of the Carpets because they stink.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Nicolas999,

Thank you for your review. Based on your review it looks like you booked our Private Room with a Shared Bathroom, we do have rooms that are bigger than one that you described. A simple request at the front desk, can make magic. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positives:
-Bedroom with private bathroom
-Location is minutes away from Penn Stations (A,C,E lines)

Cons:
-Dirty Dirt Dirty-- while we were there, the bed was never made, the sheets were never cleaned, and we only received fresh towels once during our four night stay. There were stains on the sheets, walls, and carpet, and hair in the sink and shower.

-The room had an A/C unit but it only had two options: Sahara Hot or Arctic Tundra Cold. I would wake up in the middle of the night sweating if the AC had not been turned on, or with a sore throat from the frigid conditions if it had. There was no ceiling fan for circulation

-There was no mirror in the bedroom, and the bathroom mirror was on the upper third of the wall, so I could not see anything below my shoulders.

-No bedside tables, only outlet was on the opposite side of the room; difficult to charge phone at night.

-No closet, wall mounted shelf with only 5 hangers.

-We did not receive fresh toiletries during the trip. Conditioner bottle had been previously used (cap was opened) and the shampoo bottle's label was worn. It seems they reuse and refill bottles.We had to go to a pharmacy across the street for fresh toiletries.

-TVs do not have cable, so you are stuck with over the air channels. The reception was bad, so we lost programming all throughout the night.

-The rooms are noisy. Our bed did not come with a headboard, so our pillows were up to the wall of the bedroom. We were able to hear every little thing that was going on in the room adjacent. One night, at 2 am, the room next to us still had their (wall-mounted) TV at such a high volume that it was shaking the wall, and thus our bed. We called the front desk to have them resolve the issue, but they did not.

-They charged us to hold our bags before and after check-in ($5 per bag). That service should be complimentary to hotel patrons; next time we would have gotten a locker at Pennstation for cheaper.

We would never do this hotel again, and we would not recommend anyone stay here.

Room Tip: Chose a private bathroom- there were lines of four or five people in the morning for the "share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Jessica K,

It seems you encountered many issues during your stay, and we sincerely apologize. We hope that you do choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Riff Chelsea for 3 nights while exploring New York City. The location is excellent, close to Penn station, Chelsea high line, and even the South edge of Central Park is walkable (30min).
The biggest problem with the hotel was the cleanliness. When we arrived one of the beds had stained sheets and a pube (eew) on it. The employee checking us in (and out) was very nice and made sure this was taken care off. However, during the rest of our stay our room wasn't cleaned every day (one day we only had clean towels, nothing else was done). The reception area, hallways and stairs could use some vacuuming. We had a private bathroom that was fine.
A shame because the hotel interior was fine, and the outside area nice and as said the location great.

Room Tip: We had a room on the patio side, I imagine the rooms on t he streetside would be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sdj84,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not please with your stay. We pride ourselves on having a clean, safe and fun environment. It seems that during your stay that the ball was dropped. We hope that you do choose to stay with us again, to turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Cold room no heat and not even a mirror so I could do my hair and makeup
Better yet was the part that I had to sign the computer screen while the 4 pm staff member creeped up on me with uncomfortable questions. No thanks

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hello sofiamimouni,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We are working on adding mirrors and essential items to each room, to give a better presentation and make the rooms more functional. Your feedback along with many others,has pushed us to work harder in bettering our rooms, and guest experience. We hope that you do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The location is great, 2min walk from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station which offers transportation to almost every place/borough in NY.

The reception has a strange/bad smell, I don`t know why, but it`s not good. Next to the reception, they have an outside area With seating. It`s cosy and chill, but very few are using it. I believe it`s a Nice hangout in the summer, because there was no AC/ventilation in Our room.

No breakfast is served, just coffe and tea from 7pm to 11pm.

The room was extremly small for two persons. We had a bed and an area of 1m times 0,7m. With two big luggages, there was no Space left. The rrom had bad isolation, because we heard the traffic from 8th avenue pretty well. The TV was good quality, men no good channels og sports.

The bathroom was bad. The shower was leaking, it was dirty. the other floors` bathrooms were better.

I recommend the hotel because of its location, but dont expect much. You get what you pay for

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor because of the lousy bathroom conditions. Bathrooms on 2nd and 3rd floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hello Dzeckson,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that we did not meet the expectations of your stay. From your review, it seems that you booked our Private Room w/ Shared Bathroom accommodation and you were not please with the size. We do have larger rooms in that accommodation that you can request (based upon availability). Again, we thank you for your feedback as this helps us improve in areas that we may have dropped the ball. We hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riff Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riff Chelsea

Address: 300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riff Chelsea 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Riff Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Star
Chelsea Star New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riff Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.