We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riff Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riff Chelsea to your Saves list
Riff Chelsea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel) (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 463 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cold room no heat and not even a mirror so I could do my hair and makeup
Better yet was the part that I had to sign the computer screen while the 4 pm staff member creeped up on me with uncomfortable questions. No thanks

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello sofiamimouni,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We are working on adding mirrors and essential items to each room, to give a better presentation and make the rooms more functional. Your feedback along with many others,has pushed us to work harder in bettering our rooms, and guest experience. We hope that you do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
3
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great, 2min walk from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station which offers transportation to almost every place/borough in NY.

The reception has a strange/bad smell, I don`t know why, but it`s not good. Next to the reception, they have an outside area With seating. It`s cosy and chill, but very few are using it. I believe it`s a Nice hangout in the summer, because there was no AC/ventilation in Our room.

No breakfast is served, just coffe and tea from 7pm to 11pm.

The room was extremly small for two persons. We had a bed and an area of 1m times 0,7m. With two big luggages, there was no Space left. The rrom had bad isolation, because we heard the traffic from 8th avenue pretty well. The TV was good quality, men no good channels og sports.

The bathroom was bad. The shower was leaking, it was dirty. the other floors` bathrooms were better.

I recommend the hotel because of its location, but dont expect much. You get what you pay for

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor because of the lousy bathroom conditions. Bathrooms on 2nd and 3rd floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Dzeckson,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that we did not meet the expectations of your stay. From your review, it seems that you booked our Private Room w/ Shared Bathroom accommodation and you were not please with the size. We do have larger rooms in that accommodation that you can request (based upon availability). Again, we thank you for your feedback as this helps us improve in areas that we may have dropped the ball. We hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible experience. First the toilet stopped working because the moving parts inside the tank had rusted out. Next we get a visit from a giant roach who hides in the overflow drain in the sink. Then we get a large puddle on the bathroom floor from a leaking pipe that someone thought they could repair using electrical tape. Finally before the NCAA championship comes on we lose the chanel that carried the game and had to move to another room to watch it. And they actually had the nerve to hold $100 up front for incidentals. They couldn't pay me to stay there again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When you first enter the Riff, you walk up a flight of stairs to the reception area. It's a small living-room feel with a couch and some tables. The receptionist was welcoming, checked me in, and directed us to our rooms. The halls were a bit narrow and there is no elevator, so just be aware of the luggage you bring. The private single room was simple and small, no fancy decorations or furniture. One good thing I do have to note: I reserved a private single room with a shared bathroom, but I got upgraded to a room with a private bathroom with no extra charge.

The room has minimal features: table stand, TV, closet, and bed. The bathroom included your basic toiletries and a hair dyer. When turning on the shower, dirty water initially came out; I have since deduced that the "dirt" was rust and that the water pipes have rusted. Our bed had a few cleanliness issues and there was an unusual amount of spots and lint on the pillows and blankets. The night was noisy, due to the fact that our room was above the street, but it is New York so I wouldn't expect any different. The complementary Wifi had decent coverage and speed.

The features of this hotel are very minimal, just enough for you to sleep at night and spend your day elsewhere. The only reasons this hotel is worth checking out: location and price. It is located next to Penn Station and food is a few steps away. As for price, I got a really lucky deal with the free upgrade, but it is a very good value nonetheless.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Front Office Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Bumble B,

We thank you so much for your detailed review. We have taken all of this feedback into consideration and are working diligently to correct these pitfalls. We are glad that overall that your stay was pleasant and we hope that you do choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stayed here 4 nights in a one bedroom suite. We were with 3 adults. The room was big with a separate bedroom. Also a small kitchen.
+
Big room
Good beds
Good location
-
Room was very hot. Can't turn it off yourself
Stains in pillow covers. Even when we took them off they didnt replaced it.
They only changed the towels. Didnt use the vaccuumcleaner or changed the bedlinnen.

We stayed at the 4th floor. Only stairs available.

I think if the cleaning will be much beter i would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Kimstel,

We thank you for your review and we are most happy that you were pleased with your room. We see that you were not pleased with some of the housekeeping and we do apologize for that. We do not offer standard turn down service as we are a budget hotel, but at your request we are more than happy to change sheets, etc. for you. We do hope that you do choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riff Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riff Chelsea

Address: 300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riff Chelsea 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Riff Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Star
Chelsea Star New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riff Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.