We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stressful Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macy's Herald Square

Macy's Herald Square
151 West 34th Street, New York City, NY (Midtown)
+1 212-594-4772
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Macy's Herald Square like an insider
Special Offer
$76*
and up
New York City Explorer Pass
Ranked #113 of 1,635 things to do in New York City
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From its inception, Macy's Herald Square was a store unlike any other. Over the past 150 years, it has become a true New York City icon. Built in 1902, Macy's Herald Square was the first building to have the modern-day escalator, and it has continued to be a trendsetter. Today, "America's Largest Department Store" covers an entire city block with 11 levels of the latest fashions for you and your home. Macy's offers a full-service Visitor Center on the Mezzanine Level, plus restaurants throughout the store and exciting events almost every day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Stressful Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having been told by fellow travellers about the Macy's experience I was looking forward to my visit. However this shopping centre is enormous. Very very busy place and quite claustrophobic. Yes there are great deals to be had in Macy's but the signposting within the store is confusing to say the least. We spent most of our time going up and down escalators trying to find areas within a department.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    659
    312
    137
    86
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good shopping, great selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are in NY shopping for clothes Macy's is one of the "musts". If you come from outside of the states bring your passport and get the visitors rebate card with 10% off the prices. Look for the really old wooden escalator too.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Went crazy at macy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is awesome. Bought so much clothes that my luggage was in danger to explode when i stuffed them there. I´m so afraid to see my credit card bill. Remember to go and get a 10% discount card from visitors centre downstairs if you are an international visitor,

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Harrods eat your heart out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This store has carved its reputation out and has something for everybody most at affordable prices. They also cater for designer clothes and often have bargains. This store should be on your must do list if visiting New York for the first or any re-visits. They also have a number of places where you can grab a bite to eat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You need to know what you are looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A huge store and I mean HUGE!
As soon as you enter you get approached to test perfumes........about 30 of them. I normally love the cosmetic counters but had to avoid here as kept getting approached.
This store has absolutely everything and is great for a wonder around if browsing. If there is something specific you want and you don't know the store you may find ut a little difficult due to it's size.
It's quite well laid out though and a fantastic building with old original features. Staff were also helpful.
I visited as it was "Macy's" and it's a must do in NYC. I wouldn't return if I went back again though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macy's Herald Square also viewed

 

Been to Macy's Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macy's Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.