We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empellon Taqueria

Empellon Taqueria
230 West 4th, New York City, NY 10014
(212) 367-0999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Empellon Taqueria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,958 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: W 10th St
Transit: A,B,C,D,E,F,M Train to W4th. 1 Train to Christopher Street.
Description: Welcome to Empellon, a new restaurant located in the heart of the West Village, NYC. Our restaurant is devoted to offering a delicious and highly personal take on Mexican cuisine. We value comfort, seasonality and a modern thought process. These values are applied daily to a constantly evolving menu that is designed to capture everything that is magical about Mexican cooking. For parties of 13 or more, please contact the restaurant.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Will recommend to everyone I know going to NYC. Awesome fish tacos and beet salad. Wonderful in every way.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Just Happen By”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Walking toward 6th. Ave., on our way to where we always eat - we stumbled by. They said they could seat us right away even though we had no reservations. It was Sunday Brunch and the French Toast was excellent. From the looks of the place, with its polished bar and white walls, I concluded I was not cool enough to go there in the evening - but Sunday Brunch was perfect. We made a note for when a visitor comes to NYC and we want to take them to a nice place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty, but not outta this world...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent margaritas - even the virgin ones. We (4 people) came here around 7:30 and were seated in the "back" room - what we deemed the old people's room. We had the guacamole, which was stellar and the two salsas were tasty. We shared the summer squash salad which had a nice smoky dressing, if a bit greasy. We had an assortment of taco's - the steak was pretty boring, it's basically just pieces of steak with a bit of sauce, no vegetables. The lamb barbacoa was much better, it had a salsa and a vegetable. Our dinner companions had the fish taco and the spinach, which both looked good although the fish taco was an actual piece of deep fried fish, like fish and chips style. I guess I am just used to freshly grilled fish ones, a la West Coast. We also had the yucca sticks - so, so salty but I loved them and the stellar refried black beans. For 4 people we had 10 tacos, 2 sides, and guacamole and chips - it was totally enough and we had no room for dessert.

The meal was quite good, the service was good too, although the server seemed exasperated that we took quite a long time catching up before ordering. I guess they want you to move along, but by the time we left around 9:30-ish, the "old peoples" room was rather empty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great but not THAT great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Food is very good. Portions are small. I'll pay a lot for great food but I think it's overpriced (although good) for what you get. Small menu. Nice tequila selection

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“As good as Mexican cuising gets in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

A welcome, relatively new addition to the growing array of upscale Mexican restaurants in NYC. There are two rooms, so look to sit in the back room if you'd like to avoid the often quite boisterous front room and bar. Among the unusual offerings is an array of seven salsas that vary from the relatively mild smoked-cashew, to the fiery habañera. Two accompany the excellent guacamole (which, unlike at many lesser restaurants, actually tastes like avocado), and most any is worth drizzling over the excellent soft-shell tacos. The queso fundido -- several options, one with an unusual green chorizo -- nearly a meal in itself, comes with the same warm corn tortillas used for the tacos. And, the Coca-Cola served is imported from Mexico, sweetened with cane sugar rather than the high-fructose corn syrup used in its domestically produced cousin. I can't imagine anyone leaving Empellón disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empellon Taqueria also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Empellon Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empellon Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.