We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glimpse of NYC everyday life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Streetwise New York Tours

Streetwise New York Tours
New York City, NY
+1 347-327-6063
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most walking tours point and stare at New York-with Streetwise New York, you live it. We explore neighborhoods, recount history and study contrasts-uncovering the true New York, that's melted into pizza slices, hidden in subways, and carried in the ever-changing stories of its 8 million people. From the swankiest stretches of Fifth Avenue to the grimiest of graffitied alleys, we share tales passed down from our grandparents, gleaned from books, and whispered on street corners. See website to book your own customized private tour!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A glimpse of NYC everyday life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

On a Streetwise tour you'll get more than one glimpse of New Yorkers' everyday life past, present and future. Having experienced the lower East Side together with Andrew, we just had to walk the Meatpacking district and Greenwich Village with him too. Although it was raining heavily that day, we truly enjoyed our trip on the Highline, meeting the owner of the Music Inn (also providing inspiring comics on and for Obamanation), ... PS: The Pod Hotel offers free walking tours to it's guests twice a week.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I joined the Streetwise tour through the East Village as part of the “Explore New York, Explore the World” program by NYU. The tour was truly amazing, despite pouring rain all the time. I have never enjoyed a city tour this much. Instead of just walking around with a little flag, tour guide Dan told us the story of the East Village. We tried a famous $1 pizza slice at St. Mark’s Place, visited an Italian pastry shop that exists for over four generations and so much more. This is about as good as a guided tour gets; highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“a great way to see a different side of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The tour guide provided fantastic local knowledge on China Town and surrounding areas from New York history to local street art work as well as providing great tips on best eats for lunch after the tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“streetwise - a great way to start our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spending our first morning in NYC with Andrew on a Streetwise tour was a great way to get orientated and avoid family rows! We managed to see large parts of Downtown Manhattan and learn a lot about history and architecture along the way.And the kids didn't moan....
Thanks ,Andrew, for setting us off on a good footing, and for taking time to help us

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Patrick was interesting, knowledgeable, kind, and did a fabulous job keeping our teenagers and us entertained. 6 hours sounds long but time just flew by. It was great to be able to make changes to our itinerary as we went.

Again, Patrick was an incredible guide.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streetwise New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Streetwise New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Streetwise New York Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.