We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tribeca "Pretty Close To" Grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribeca Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Tribeca Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Tribeca Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Weekend Special
Ranked #139 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tribeca "Pretty Close To" Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location is great, although parking a car there was confusing. (We wound up in the lot across the street for $46 per night). Greeted with pink champagne upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised as the gracious size of the common spaces and rooms. Our room was on the 5th floor above 6th Avenue and we were quite happy with the lack of street noise for the Saturday of St. Patrick's weekend. I'm not sure the white noise generator (a good thought) was working, but we had no problem with the noise regardless. However, security was knocking on our neighbor's door at about 3am (again, unsurprising and not the fault of the hotel).

Not necessarily a criticism, but ours was a handicapped accessible room (not by request), and the shower would have flooded the bathroom floor had we not dropped several towels and the rug.

We didn't eat in the hotel (I would be hard pressed to do so anywhere, particularly NYC), but the restaurant menu did look good. The bartenders were some of the hardest working pros I've seen in a while.

Overall a very nice hotel in a great locale.

Room Tip: Higher floors always better in the city, but they seemed to have done a good job of soundproofing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Garytwnyc,

We’re thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your detailed feedback. It's the details that help form a truly exceptional guest experience. Next time I would love to invite you to experience our lounge and bar so that you can try our new food and bar menus. Please contact me prior to your next NYC trip and it would be my pleasure to assist with anything I can.

Sincerely,
Sal Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    320
    98
    45
    45
See reviews for
87
336
73
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Achingly trendy hotel in a great location. A great alternative to the mayhem of staying in midtown just a few minutes from Soho shopping, and 2 blocks from the Ghostbusters HQ!

The room was very nice, if a little dimly lit. The white noise generator definitely helped to cut down on the noise from the busy hotel bar below.

The staff were efficient, helpful and all looked like the hippest of New York hipsters.

A few more options on the inclusive breakfast would have been nice. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms on the 7th floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear siambient,

Thank you for choosing The Tribeca Grand Hotel for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always great to hear positive feedback about our staff and your experience. I hope the next time someone asks you when traveling to NYC “Who you gonna call?” you know the answer is always Tribeca Grand.

Regards,
Sal Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this modern, clean and contemporary hotel. We were greeted nicely and efficiently by the front desk. Our room was on the 8 (top) floor. It was clean, relatively comfortable, had a nice size bathroom with Kiehl's products, but could have used better lighting. It was only relatively comfortable because the bed was pushed up against the drapery Making it difficult to enter that side of the bed. Additionally the drapes never shut and even though the hotel attempted to fix the issue, they couldn't. It allowed the light to enter from the outside. Location of the hotel is great. Soho, TriBeCa, the Village, China Town, the Financial District at your fingertips. The lounge was terrible though. The waitress was incompetent and annoying. It is an attractive area but the drinks just OK and their wine selection pricey and poor. All in all though, a very nice hotel in an area that is desirable to stay in.

Room Tip: Avoid connecting rooms and request a higher floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Stafanie T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Tribeca Grand Hotel. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am concerned to learn that part of your experience left something to be desired. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed with our lounge experience, in room decor, and lighting in your room. I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not discourage you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to NYC.
We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in The Tribeca Grand Hotel.

Regards,
Sal Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Tribeca Grand on our first trip to New York. Location was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We got continental breakfast vouchers so that was a nice option every morning and could get it packaged and brought back to our room. Loved the white noise option and the coffee bar on each floor. I don't drink coffee but made a lot of iced tea so that was nice. Beds were very comfortable and never heard any noise from outside or in rooms around us. They had Kiehls shampoo/conditioner/bath gel/ and lotion and my daughter loved that. We would highly recommend this hotel. It was a great NY experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Christi m,

Thank you for choosing The Tribeca Grand Hotel for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Regards,
Sal Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location of this place is why we usually pick it to stay while in NY. It is close to the subway and lots of things to do. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are clean and larger than some of the others you will find in the city. The people who work there are great! The door guys are so friendly and the people at the front desk are eager to please. Also, the hotel bar is a fun spot for cocktails and late night snacking. We will be surely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear wwrrkd,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at smonaco@tribecagrand.com when you are planning your next NYC visit and I would be happy to assist in any way I can.

Regards,
Sal Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the first time we stayed in the Tribeca area and I loved this location. The area was safe for walking, even after dark, and there are close subway stations to take you uptown. The staff was welcoming and efficient. We had to change rooms because of noise from the bar, and they gave us no hassle, moving us to the other end of the building. The bar/lounge area is gorgeous and comfortable, plays great music, has a nice pool table. We even sipped our wine next to a TV star. Rooms are a bit small, but very comfortable, they have a quality line of bathroom shampoos/soaps and they offer free wi-fi throughout the facility.

Room Tip: Avoid 215, it is right above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear JulianneS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Tribeca is truly one of the most beautiful areas of NYC and we are pleased to hear you were able to experience it.
Please contact me at smonaco@tribecagrand.com prior to your next visit so that I may personally assist and assure you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,
Sal Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My experience at Tribeca Grand was wonderful except for one night. The hotel is in a perfect location near everything in SoHo and in a great neighborhood in Tribeca. Upon arrival, check in was fast and easy and the staff was extremely nice. We were told a bit about the hotel, the amenities and then brought to our gorgeous room. We stayed on the third floor, in a King Corner room. The bed was very comfortable and the room felt spacious (especially the bathroom which was quite large). The decor was modern but warm, with a desk (with hotel stationary including paper and envelopes which I thought was a nice touch), side tables and good size tv. The bathroom is very large for New York hotel standards and had Kiehl's products, which is always a nice touch. I have absolutely no complaints about the quality of the room (which was fantastic) and the incredibly courteous staff but on our second night at the hotel, we did have a problem with the noise from the dj on the first floor lounge. It was quite loud and we wish we had a higher level room (which can be easily fixed by requesting a higher level). I would return to this hotel but just request a higher level room away from the downstairs lounge. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request a high level room to avoid the noise from the downstairs lounge on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribecaAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Tribeca Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Natalie S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience. I have noted your comments regarding the lounge and the volume level during the second night of your stay. Please reach out to me when you are thinking of returning to NYC, I would be grateful for the opportunity to provide you a room on a high floor as you have recommended to others. I can be reached at smonaco@tribecagrand.com, I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribeca Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribeca Grand Hotel

Address: 2 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tribeca Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the border of SoHo and TriBeCa, Tribeca Grand Hotel's location is unrivaled and has long offered guests unparalleled service, stylish accommodations, and exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tribeca Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tribeca Grand
Tribeca Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribeca Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.