We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, alright!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribeca Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribeca Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Tribeca Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013 (TriBeCa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Grand, alright!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Impeccable service! Make sure you ask for the pet goldfish when you check in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    394
    126
    54
    51
See reviews for
125
399
85
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

White glove service from the beginning. We were offered champagne upon check in and quickly was shown our room. The room was very small but it's NYC so I expect that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here to attend a weekend seminar, which was conveniently located 1.5 blocks away from the hotel. Yes they DO offer a goldfish in your room. The food at the restaurant was wonderful - I was happy to have caviar with my salmon appetizer! They offer you a glass of champagne upon arrival, the decor was very modern and beautiful, the bed comfortable. The staff was friendly, helpful and top-notch. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at the Tribeca Grand Hotel this week for 3 nights – I happened to be there on business and thought that while I would be working in the financial district it would be nice to be a bit removed and stay in this neighbourhood.

PROS:
- Free wifi everywhere even in rooms
- Cool lobby bar, The Church. Beautiful lounge area overall
- Comfy duvets in all rooms
- Free coffee and magazines at the ice machines – on every floor
- Pretty good service, for the most part efficient and courteous - changed my room to a king bed although a bit reluctantly but the hotel was super busy when I checked in. Note I had reserved a King bed and was given a room with 2 doubles
- Great concierge - called my room immediately after check in to help me with dinner reservations
- Cute, young doormen open doors and help you hail cabs
- Cool decor - stainless steel counters in bathroom and bedside table. Although grass cloth wallpaper, the striped wall paint and the duvet cover fabric may get dated very quickly
- Great fluffy towels!
- Nice brand name toiletries
- Nice robe to use during your stay
- They have a white noise setting in the rooms to drown out the noise – nice idea but it not enough. I strongly recommend earplugs!
- Upon check out there was an issue with how much they were trying to charge me for long distance – the front desk was very understanding and significantly discounted my bill
- Location! In the heart of Tribeca, tons of great restos around and on the border with Soho

CONS:
- My one service complaint – when I said there was no umbrella in my room the receptionist literally gave me a blank stare and said she could not help - really you can't find an umbrella for me anywhere in the hotel???
- Hotel overall is dark like a night club – it really could use more lighting in certain areas
- Rooms a bit dark too - bathroom needs brighter lights
- If you have a Blackberry Bold and your US roaming service is through AT&T you might not be able to type in the password for the wifi
- The cordless phone: after 10 or so minutes on the phone goes onto to conf and beeps - no clue how to fix. The phones in general are pretty old and need to be updated
- Hot water out of the sink takes a few minutes to warm up
- The complimentary toiletry bottles are only half filled
- Small closet - ok for one person in a King room but 2 might be difficult

Note if you are checking in on Friday or Saturday you are greeted with a glass of champagne – the lady at the front desk was nice enough to give us a glass as we were checking out and it’s good, not the cheap stuff!

I did enjoy the hotel and think I might stay here again although I am a bit on the fence - for the price and location I think it is a good deal for NYC but I do think there is better.

Room Tip: All floors are open to the lobby area below - try to get a room in one of the corners examples room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

You can ask for a goldfish to have in your room - how fun, business center great place to work, lobby awesome place to sit, have a drink, convenient location, food great, Bubby's restaurant in walking distance, take a day and walk the shops. Can be noisy at night especially on thursdays otherwise the place is excellent. you might even see some celebrities! Rooms, bed very comfortable. You really feel like you are in NYC

Room Tip: go higher up if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We typically will stay in midtown but to try something new, we chose this hotel. Great location, close to SoHo and Chinatown.

Outstanding service from doorman to bartender. A free glass of champagne at checkin is a nice touch.

They have THE most expensive cocktails but perhaps one was worth it.

A run or stroll along the lower western banks of the Hudson provides a dedicated path with a spectacular view of the Freedom Tower and Statue of Liberty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Staying at this hotel made our NYC stop-over just perfect.

Great staff - very international - the concierge gave us some lovely tips for our trip to Paris, France.

The breakfast buffet is totally worth getting up for!!!

Room Tip: King executive room is excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribeca Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribeca Grand Hotel

Address: 2 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tribeca Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the border of SoHo and TriBeCa, Tribeca Grand Hotel's location is unrivaled and has long offered guests unparalleled service, stylish accommodations, and exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribeca Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tribeca Grand
Tribeca Grand New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribeca Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.