We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #66 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“Amazing location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed there with the family for 4 nights. Sofitel New York is ideally located on the 44th street on a walking distance of New York main attractions: time square, restaurants and bars the famous 5th avenue for shopping etc...
Service was excellent in general concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. I really appreciated the fact that They remembered my 2 years old son Birthday and surprised us with a cake, greeting card and gift that was placed in the room
Small tip if you are travelling with family ask for the connecting rooms as you will have ample space for a comfortable stay.
Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,077
    1,265
    302
    98
    43
See reviews for
732
2,185
256
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for five nights in July. The only thing to complain about is having to leave. The hotel is in a great location close to subway and Fifth Ave shopping. Very short walk to Central Park and Bryant Park. The rooms are a good size and the staff very professional and pleasant.

Room Tip: It was very quiet we were on the 15th floor not much of a view maybe on a higher floor you get a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I always can count on Sofitel, NYC, to have high standards of care and professionalism. Not necessarily flashy, but subdued excellence. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The staff is responsive. It's my go-to spot to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Quiet neighborhood enough off Times Square area to be quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location for our 4 night stay in NYC. Rooms were clean, spacious and very quiet. Our room was near the elevators, but we didn't hear a thing.

We had a queen room, but by Aus standards it was more like a double. I would suggest a king room for a bigger bead.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm surprised to see all of the other great reviews as I found this hotel to be mediocre in comparison to the price. Perhaps it was so expensive when I was there as it was NYE. The room was quite small and there wasn't a view of anything other than the building infront of ours. There was nothing about this hotel that really stood out in my mind, other than the location. You could walk to Times Square in minutes, very centrally located. With that said there was nothing to complain about either. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are sincerely sorry that you found the room small and we regret that you didn't have a nice view of the city. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take steps we can to improve our service.

However, we are pleased to know that our staff helped you during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we (a family of 4 with 2 teens) stayed in 2 rooms (superior rooms) at the Sofitel in mid July for 4 nights. We were on the 22nd floor which was perfect as there was no noise. The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk from 5th Avenue and Times Square but without the noise. There was a minor issue with the room key for one of the rooms not working a few times which was fixed by the staff immediately. The rooms were spacious, the bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have the option of both a bathtub and a shower. The concierge was great, his information about walking times and distances were spot on and he knew what he was doing. Overall it was an excellent stay and I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband booked this for the two of us for a fun weekend in NYC before traveling south for more touring. After a long day of sight seeing we were happy to sleep in the most comfortable hotel bed ever.--loved the duvet bed linens too! NYC is loud with activity but we couldn't hear a thing from our room, not even normal hotel noises such as elevators, ice machines and other guests coming and going. We stayed at 2 other hotels on our trip in Philly and DC and none compared to this cozy and quiet hotel well situated in the city. We'll go to another Sofitel again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing again and again to stay with us at the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan, our very quiet property and the comfortable bedroom . All our bedding items are available for purchase on our website.

Thank you again for all your interest, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerly
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.