We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #65 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location for our 4 night stay in NYC. Rooms were clean, spacious and very quiet. Our room was near the elevators, but we didn't hear a thing.

We had a queen room, but by Aus standards it was more like a double. I would suggest a king room for a bigger bead.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,742
    1,124
    254
    84
    37
See reviews for
647
1,932
229
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm surprised to see all of the other great reviews as I found this hotel to be mediocre in comparison to the price. Perhaps it was so expensive when I was there as it was NYE. The room was quite small and there wasn't a view of anything other than the building infront of ours. There was nothing about this hotel that really stood out in my mind, other than the location. You could walk to Times Square in minutes, very centrally located. With that said there was nothing to complain about either. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are sincerely sorry that you found the room small and we regret that you didn't have a nice view of the city. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take steps we can to improve our service.

However, we are pleased to know that our staff helped you during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we (a family of 4 with 2 teens) stayed in 2 rooms (superior rooms) at the Sofitel in mid July for 4 nights. We were on the 22nd floor which was perfect as there was no noise. The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk from 5th Avenue and Times Square but without the noise. There was a minor issue with the room key for one of the rooms not working a few times which was fixed by the staff immediately. The rooms were spacious, the bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have the option of both a bathtub and a shower. The concierge was great, his information about walking times and distances were spot on and he knew what he was doing. Overall it was an excellent stay and I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband booked this for the two of us for a fun weekend in NYC before traveling south for more touring. After a long day of sight seeing we were happy to sleep in the most comfortable hotel bed ever.--loved the duvet bed linens too! NYC is loud with activity but we couldn't hear a thing from our room, not even normal hotel noises such as elevators, ice machines and other guests coming and going. We stayed at 2 other hotels on our trip in Philly and DC and none compared to this cozy and quiet hotel well situated in the city. We'll go to another Sofitel again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing again and again to stay with us at the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan, our very quiet property and the comfortable bedroom . All our bedding items are available for purchase on our website.

Thank you again for all your interest, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerly
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We liked everything about the hotel - excellent location, room, Sofitel standards of service, value for money. We are fans of the Sofitel chain - have stayed at their properties around the world and we were not disappointed in this one. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors street view very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

my wife and I stayed got away for a weekend treat, We stayed at the sofitel for two days. The hotel is very pricey but we felt that it was worth the money. The room was larger then some one bedroom apartments that you would find in New York. The setup of the room was really fun with a separate living room and changing room. Our room window just so happened to look out into the direction of the empire state building. The staff service was very good, but lookout for room service we did have a incident there. However the hotel comes complete with everything you will need for a fun weekend in NY.

Room Tip: The suites are very large, if you are traveling with kids you will have plenty of space
See more room tips
Green Features: everyone in the hotel was always willing to help you with locating whatever it was that you wanted to do. located near good inexpensive restaurants and the shopping was an adventure.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Sofitel is well situated for tourists - a few blocks from Times Square, in between a handful of subway stations, and in the heart of the 5th Avenue shopping district. The rooms are relatively clean (although there were hairs on one of the towels in our bathroom and the shower wall) and decent-sized by New York standards. We got stuck in a room by the elevators so even though we were on a higher floor there was still regular noise (from the beeping of the elevator to the fans apparently blowing down the elevator shafts).

Where Sofitel really lacks is service. The front desk staff was polite, but the doormen were essentially non-existent (you'll have to figure out how to get through the revolving door with your luggage on your own and hail your own cabs, neither of these are insurmountable odds, but it's the little things that make for a great stay). The hotel offers a free shoe-shine service, which my husband wanted to take advantage of. After ringing the concierge three times (apparently if the phone rings over 20 or 30 times without someone answering it automatically disconnects you), a hotel staffer came up to the room to fetch his shoes. The shoes were supposed to be returned by 7 am the next morning. By 9 am when they still weren't there, we called the concierge again and the shoes were brought back up to our room. Of course they hadn't been shined. My question is - why offer a free service if you're not going to provide it? It's a small thing, but definitely annoying and one that would lead me to consider other options next time we're in New York.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor, but insist on one away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. We regret that the room service didn't meet your expectations.

Again, please accept our apologies.

However we are pleased that you liek the location and the size of our rooms. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again when all of our floor will be renovated so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Amex, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.