We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet room, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #67 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Quiet room, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently spent five nights here, and were surprised at how quiet the room was, given that the hotel sits right in the heart of mid-town. The service, as expected at a Sofitel, was very good: a request for a missing shower cap was met within minutes, and a technician showed up very quickly when the television proved problematic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our very central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,992
    1,230
    288
    96
    43
See reviews for
710
2,119
252
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not cheap but well worth the money. We paid extra for a suite and had more floor space than we do at home! On the 10th floor, not much of a view but you don't really have time to be looking out of your window, too much to do out and about.

Bathroom had all the luxuries you would expect, room had all the little things like and iron and ironing board, hairdryer, Bose sound system, 2 tv's, safe, plenty of storage space, sofa was very comfy, complementary bottled water each day. Aircon in the room was a godsend as it was in the 80's most days (June).

Now for the bed - just imagine falling into a huge white fluffy marshmallow and you get the idea. It was just the most comfortable nights sleeps we have ever had just wish we could afford our own - you can buy them

All the staff we came across were very helpful and the hotel was immaculate. The flower displays were huge, but beautiful as was the rest of the decor.

We were able to leave our bags on the last day in a secure area which was helpful as we had about 5 hours after checkout.

The interactive map in the foyer was helpful to find your way to places but you are within walking distance of most places, Times Square, Grand Central, Top of the Rock etc. we walked everywhere, even as far as Central Park and the to the west The Intrepid Museum.

Didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on this.

Our lasting memory of the hotel though was the smell - as soon as you walk in the door you couldn't help but take in the gorgeous smell every time. We were told you can buy the fragrance on line too but we have found something very similar in the UK and it is basically Green Fig!

We would stay here again if we could afford to come back to New York.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can afford it but don't worry about a high floor, this hotel is not very t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family stayed here during the first week of July. The location is perfect. We can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff, especially Mark and Erik at the front desk and Raj, the concierge. The room was clean, well-appointed, and very quiet. Room service breakfast was filling and good. We were also impressed that the air-conditioning was able to keep the room cool when the weather outside was so frightfully hot. If Sofitel makes WIFI gratis, I'll happily give them a 5. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you found our staff very professional.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed over the 4th of July. Booked a suite with a terrace but was upgraded to the presidential suite rooms 2805 and 2806. It was a delightfully huge set of rooms but was disappointed to not have a sofabed which was guaranteed to us in the original reservation. Needless to say, it all worked out and we were happy with both the service and the cleanliness. Service was always speedy and helpful. My only complaint was that I was charged for 6 bottles from the minibar which we never drank and will hopefully work out with the hotel. I made the mistake of taking some bottles out of the fridge to cool some water I bought but would hope a hotel of this level would do a bottle count or simply see the bottles I put on top of the fridge...
Hotel is in a great location if you want to be close to Times Square and the theaters.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room was clean, but the hotel's service was spotty at best. Twice called for service to the room (towels/water) not delivered. Also got checked into a room that had people already staying in it...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York again and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are sincerely sorry that our housecleaning service did not reflect the high standards of our hotel. We also apologize for the confusion at the check-in. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value our guests and your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct this towel problem.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Pichot
Hotel Manger
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.