We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #53 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hammond,La
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“weekend in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

centrally located near many restaurants, pharmacies, shopping etc. it is a short ride from La Guardia Airport. we were in town to celebrate a niece's wedding. the staff, from the doormen, desk attendants to concierge and maid service are excellent, helpful, & friendly. I was given a room up grade upon arrival. The baths are roomy with separate tub & shower,help make getting ready for a night on the town a breeze.Beautifully clean hotel in all areas. Lovely room with very comfortable bedding and spectacular view. Loved that after a late night of partying in the city I could get a tasty pot of coffee with fresh fruit & pastries delivered to the room after 4:30 a.m. I would most definitely recommend Hotel Sofitel and on future trips to NYC will be staying here!

Room Tip: stay in the higher floors for a spectacular view of the city skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,670
    1,086
    246
    76
    34
See reviews for
618
1880
221
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are impressed with the overall environment of the hotels. Great, friendly staff and we felt welcome upon check in. Great facilities, if you need to check in or print any reservations and bookings there is an area where you can do that. Staff are very approachable and willing to help.

Very comfortable, spacious and clean room.

As a Le Club Accorhotels Gold member there are no recognition at all, they just thank you for being their loyalty member.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Had ANOTHER great stay at Sofitel. Pressures and anxieties of a busy travel schedule are immediately washed away upon arrival. Gracious staff (Louis Lenglet deserves a medal for his attentiveness), excellent bathroom soap, super fast elevators, thoughtful turn down service, Paris meets NYC art work and the LOCATION! I will be staying here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and kids for 8 days. Checkin was quick. The room was a suite with a bedroom,sitting room with sofabed and a bathroom. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Times square is 10 mins walk,Bryant park 5 mins and central park around 20 mins. Housekeeping was good and whatever instructions given would be followed. For us breakfast was included in the tariff. It is alacarte which includes a main dish, a juice, a beverage and breads. Staff at breakfast was friendly providing good service. The conceirge though very friendly,seemed to have limited knowledge but we were lucky to find Elvis the bellboy. He is a local guy whose suggestions on the places to visit and how to get there were very useful. Maday at the front desk and Ronald the restaurant staff at breakfast were good at there work giving a personal touch to their service. There is only one problem at this hotel. They make a lot of mistakes in billing for the room. I asked for my room statement on day 5 and breakfast was charged for all days and also 2 lunches in their restaurant which I never had. Again at the time of checkout the same mistake- breakfast and lunches charged. However they immediately acknowledged the mistake on both occasions and knocked off the wrong entries. So I suggest if you are staying here take a copy of your room statement the night before checkout to study it. It will save time while checking out the next day. However I consider this insignificant compared to the other plus points this hotel has. Will definitely be staying here on my next visit to newyork.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We are also glad that you found our staff very professional. We are very sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the billing.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed in numerous hotels in NYC (Muse, Crown Plaza, Sanctuary, Park Central) but the Sofitel is my favorite by far. It has a perfect location - between 5th and 6th. The rooms are large by NYC standards and impeccably clean. The entire hotel is well kept and comfortable. The staff is always eager to help. You can't go wrong staying at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend trip to New York, it was an excellent base for exploring as it was really central and close to all the public transport links.

The hotel itself was amazing, you walk in and someone was there to help. Everything explained clearly at check in and when we reached our room it was excellent! what i loved was the separate bath and shower! the room was immaculately clean (some hotels i have been too have stained carpet or some little niggle). The bed was amazingly comfy!

On the day we were leaving we had a late flight, the concierge let us leave our luggage with them for the day and when we went back for our luggage negotiated a town car to take us to the airport i reckon at a cheaper price than a yellow cab, as the cab would've been on a ticker and there was traffic.

I'm sad i didn't get to spend more time in the hotel. I want to check out the gym and restaurant.

I will be back :D

Room Tip: Breakfast in the diner next door was very authentic and much cheaper than the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.