We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on the pricey side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #67 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good hotel on the pricey side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I can't seem to say anything outstanding or horrendous about this hotel. Location is good, close to everything in midtown. Bed is really comfortable, although for the price I was expecting a bit of a larger room. Bathroom was nice with tub and walk-in shower, good size. As usual the experience depends very much on the room allocated, mine was on a low floor with views to the inner courtyard (AC and the office building next door) so no great views for me. Oh, on the positive side, it had 4 elevators which is good as in those thin highrises it take hours if you want to go up or down, which was not the case here. On the negative side (not the hotel's fault though) cell and internet connection was really bad. Recommended if you can find a fair rate (cheaper than the Hilton)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed our spacious bathroom, and our very central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,992
    1,230
    288
    96
    43
See reviews for
710
2,119
252
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a perfect hotel if you are visiting the city for the first time! It is very centrally located to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, and Broadway! We walked everywhere we wanted to go. The staff was very nice and helpful and the room was clean and spacious. For me it was all about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

1. Overpriced. 2. Certainly many more hotels of much higher quality of service & rooms with the same or lower price in NYC to pick from. 3. Staff were too slow & the only explanation was that they were trying to get used to a new system. 4. Check-in staff didn't have any idea of the package I had although I booked through the hotel website - my package included a room upgrade to the next level & dinner for 2, but the reception staff didn't have any of those details. I had to show them my copy of the reservation to convince them. 5. Upon checkout, I was charged for the 2 dinners that were included in my package & I had to resend my copy of the reservation to the checkout staff to get it deducted from my bill. 6. Since I had a 25 hour journey & arrived by 10:00 am to the hotel I had requested an early checkin, but I had to wait until late in the afternoon to check in. I had expected a lot more for the price I paid. I am used to staying at the London NYC & I regret changing my hotel. Their service, rooms, attention to details & requests of the guests are far better than this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We regret that you were incorrectly billed at the time of check-out and we apologize for the miscommunication regarding the package you booked. We value your comments and have also treated this matter internally after receiving your guest satisfaction survey .

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Sofitel New York is exactly what you would expect from the Sofitel group -- a great urban location, tasteful & well-appointed rooms, and an international clientele. I heard at least a dozen languages being spoken in the lobby and at the front desk during my two-night stay. The rooms were immaculate, and the closet was surprisingly roomy for a midtown NYC hotel. I was there for business with colleagues from all around the country, and everyone was pleased with the Sofitel. I also ate two meals in the restaurant, which was also a perfect place for a business traveler to grab a nice dinner or cocktail after a long day of meetings. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for this specific occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent two nights at the Sofitel. We appreciated being so close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, etc. etc. Step out the door and you are so close to everything! The rooms were well-appointed, well-lit and spacious. The staff is gracious and the concierge desk is a real gem. With so many restaurants and bars, it can be overwhelming. Take their suggestions and let them make you a reservation. You can't go wrong here. This was our first time at a Sofitel property - they made a wonderful first impression!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We are still staying at the Sofitel and having a wonderful time. Staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spotless and fresh linen and towels everyday. The bar is beautiful and very relaxing and again staff are spot on. Looking forward to eating in the restaurant on this perfect festive evening. Thank you Sofitel for an amazing Christmas break x x

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit in the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We thank you also for sharing your experience at Gaby Brasserie Française. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Amex, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.