We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #66 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My stay was good and the staff were helpful and friendly
The room was good.
Breakfast at gabby was excellent.
Location of the hotel is perfect
The amenities was sufficient
The room is great and the beds are lovely

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our quiet property and the amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,990
    1,229
    288
    95
    43
See reviews for
708
2,118
251
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have been to Sofitel New York plenty of times. People in the hotel are nice. Anything i need help with someone always helped me. Loved the food. The real plus is that the rooms are all a good size, and modern, with up to date aircon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,


We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our service policy and the different amenities. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from our staff at the Sofitel NYC and I can't stay enough great things about this hotel. In fact, I've never been compelled to review a hotel but our stay was so incredible I just had to let everyone know about it. Our room was ready for us when we arrived at 3 pm and we had been placed, as requested, on the top floor. We stayed in a luxury king, which was unbelievably spacious. It was modern, immaculate, and very well appointed. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and when I requested extra pillows, I was presented with a menu of options! The bathroom suite was sparkling clean and spacious. To say this room was quiet is an understatement. I was soundproof. The hotel staff were not responsive and very friendly. The special touches in the hotel made my stay even more special - Evian Water by the bed every night, complimentary Hermes bath products, fluffy robes and slippers, "Bonjour" greetings from the staff and the most beautiful fresh floral arrangements throughout the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's 2 blocks in every direction from everything - Bryant Park, Shopping on 5th Avenue, Times Square. The hotel is just perfect. I've already book another stay in a few months.

Room Tip: There are no coffee pots in the room, but room service is incredibly responsive. We were sipping a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our quiet property, the amenities we offer and our servivce policy

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This luxury chain hotel is well-located at 6th Avenue and 44 St. W, putting you mid-town, but not too close to Broadway. We had a 1 king 'luxury' room on the 14th floor, which was spacious and well-appointed, having most of the high-quality amenities you would expect from a property in this price range. Staff were courteous, helpful and obliging. Nightly turn-down was a nice touch, as well as the chocolates. King bed not quite as firm as we prefer, but certainly sleepable. this hotel is something of a magnet for French and French-speaking visitors, so the atmosphere is very international, in the well-recreated art-deco decor in the public areas. Our pet peeve was the fact that there was no coffee maker or kettle in the room with the result that you had to order room service or schlep out of the hotel in order to get a simple hot beverage! Because we like our Java in the AM (and in bed when on vacation!), I would likely choose a different property the next time - one that offers the simple, and almost universal convenience of a fresh cup of coffee at your disposal - Nespresso anyone??

Room Tip: I understand that the large rooms with kind beds are in the 'luxury' category and start on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location and the "Nightly turn down".

We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because there was no coffee maker or kettle in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed here several times (see previous review), and have just spent a week there, As noted, the location is great, central, near most things. The real plus is that the rooms are all a good size, and modern, with up to date aircon. The lobby and lounge are very attractive, and we found the staff, especially the concierge, very helpful.We used to get a complimentary upgrade to a suite, but this is no longer available.We booked a suite anyway, which was pricey, but this is NY! we aim for a '22' suite, which overlooks the front and the Chrysler Building. we were, initially, pleased to be on the 28th floor, out of 29, but not so pleased when in the evening the fire pump starts up causing a loud noise. We were moved, which was good, to another suite, and then back to 2522, the following day which was fine. The '22' suite is spacious and well worthwhile. Good bathroom, separate shower, good deep bath, all first class.

As noted by others, avoid Gabys for breakfast, and head for the Red Flame diner. We tried Gabys once, and got no-where. A disinterested woman said there was a ten minute wait, despite there being a number of free tables.When we pointed this out, we were told that they did not have enough people to clean the tables!! At the Red Flame, they clean the tables in 30 seconds. We raised this point with the duty manager, but do not know what happened, we went back to Red Flame. Also when we checked out, the usual problem with getting someone to collect the bags. I had to ring 4 times and it took nearly 20 minutes. The bellhop said no-one told him, the desk said they had! However, this is still the best hote, out of 20 or so, that I have stayed at in New York.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location, the professionalism of the staff and that you found our bedroom very modern and spacious.

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I arrived from a red eye flight in time for my day of meetings at the Sofitel. Despite arriving super early (8am) they accommodated me to check in early and I was able to get just a little nap before meetings started at 930. It was nice to have a place for the bags as well. It gave me the impression that they will accommodate if possible. The business room was nice and they had an array of delicious snacks and beverages. The rooms are still NYC small, and the price is still NYC Big. But if you can handle the coin it is worth checking out.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better of course. They do charge for the higher rooms with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.
We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for this specific occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The handicap bathroom left a lot to be desired. Water completely covered the bathroom floor after using the shower. Very dangerous. Also, a coffee pot in the room would have been nice. The staff very helpful n.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location.
We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the shower.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.