We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go-to hotel whenever we stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our go-to hotel whenever we stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've stayed at the Sofitel in NYC three times before: 1) For the weekend of New Years a few years back 2) In September 2010, when my husband proposed to me during our trip to NYC and 3) this past June for our wedding anniversary. Every time, we have been completely impressed by the cleanliness (a MUST for me), the comfortable, luxurious rooms, and the central, really accessible location of the Sofitel.

The hotel is located on 44th Street between 5th & 6th avenues, so it's within close walking distance to Times Square, shopping on 5th Ave, Bryant Park, Central Park, Grand Central Station, the NY Public Library and (of course!) Broadway. The door staff are always ready to carry your luggage or flag you a cab, but we found we were able to walk pretty much everyplace from this central location, which is key for NYC.

Yet, despite the bustle of activity outside, when you walk into the lobby of the Sofitel, everything is calmer and more tranquil, and by the time you make it to your room, you completely leave behind the noise of city outside (except for the great views of course). When we were there in June, the Puerto Rican parade was happening right outside our door and we didn't hear a thing until we actually made it out to street level. It was that peaceful. I could have slept forever in the comfy beds.The rooms are small, but elegantly furnished, and the little things like the Lanvin bath products, fluffy white robes, and real orchid in the bathroom make for a welcoming touch. Not to mention, when we were there for these special occasions, the staff congratulated us, welcomed us, and made us feel right at home.

The hotel restaurant (Gaby) is great for a nice dinner, but overpriced for breakfast, especially with so many other good options nearby.

The only negative we ever experienced at the Sofitel was this past June: One evening the water seemed to go for about an hour or so (apparently there was an issue with a pipe on the street level). We called down to the front desk, were told honestly what to expect, and the water came back on in the time promised. All in all, totally reasonable.

We look forward to many more happy returns.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views, but in our experience, all the rooms were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing again and again to stay with us at the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan, our very quiet property, the “comfy” bed and the “fluffy” bath robes. All our bedding items are available for purchase on our website.

Thank you again for all your interest, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely your
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,679
    1,092
    247
    76
    34
See reviews for
623
1889
222
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 6 nights. Swift and efficient check-in/check-out, top notch room, great shower. Easily accommodates a roll-away bed. Centrally located with 10 minutes walk to theaters. Can catch subways to anywhere from Grand Central Station (also a good place to grab breakfast). 23rd floor was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely your
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend mid September. It was such a beautiful hotel.The lobby was very pretty and cozy with beautiful sofas to relax in. We did not dine in the restaurant ,but did get room service once for breakfast. The food was very good! The rooms were spacious and the beds were so comfortable. I want to order all the same bedding!! loved it all! big and fluffy! The bathroom had beautiful amenities as well. Lanvin products from France,Bathrobes and slippers, Rain shower head.Separate bath as well. Location was great. So close to shopping and dining. I would stay here again in a minute!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and that you enjoyed our comfortable and “Fluffy” bedroom. All our bedding items are for purchase on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. I have to say that unfortunately this hotel is not up to the European Sofitel standards. The rooms are ok, a bit aging and in a real need of an update. But they are rather big, so is the bathroom. The flower in the bathroom is a nice touch.Very comfortable beds! During my stay I had to switch rooms as the shower was clogged. In the second room (1802) the shower was fine but this time it was the internet which was working very poorly. It was perfectly working near the door and in the bathroom but as soon as you sat down on the bed the connection was lost (mostly on iphones, the computer worked a bit better but the connection was very weak as well). The lobby is beautiful and it is a calm oasis where you can breathe and chill out after having been out in the chaotic city.

Staff are so so, some of them are very nice (bell boys), but most of them simply arrogant.
I have booked a rate with breakfast: big mistake. Breakfast is à la carte. Again used to the very high Sofitel standards I asked whether the orange juice was freshly squeezed and the waiter said honestly that nothing is fresh but it’s premade…Breakfast did not taste that good (horrible oatmeal, poor eggs benedict but good white egg ommlette) and the service was a disaster! (was it a matter of not tipping enough?!? But how can you tip if you have to ask for everything, sometimes you don’t get things and the quality of the food is questionable? In any case after 3 days of rather small tips the waiters ignored us…). If the hotel is ok, breakfast is not. Also check your bill at checkout, they wanted to charge me 69 + 12 (tip) USD for the last breakfast not even considering my breakfast voucher, luckily I sorted it out at the reception during checkout. I am disappointed in this Sofitel as I simply expected MUCH more. You cannot compare this Sofitel with the ones I know (Brussels, Vienna, Paris…). Maybe I am a bit too picky but I believe that for the price they charge one could expect real Sofitel standards…
PERFECT location though!!!

Room Tip: Try a room on a high floor otherwise it will be too dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you were incorrectly billed for the breakfast following check-out and regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While those individuals do not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our central location. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had an excellent stay in this hotel. The staff was friendly. The location was great--walking distance to everything but still with a sense of seclusion. The turndown service was lovely. The bathroom was beautiful even though the rooms aren't incredibly large. We had no major complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Answer
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and that you enjoyed our comfortable and “Fluffy” bedroom. All our bedding items are for purchase on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel New York for three nights (Sept.20-23). This was our first encounter with this amazing hotel chain. The trip was to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, so we were looking for an affordable, but luxurious hotel, and Sofitel met and exceeded our expectations. From the friendly and knowledgeable service at the front and concierge desks, to the impeccable room (we stayed in the Luxury King room), to the delicious breakfast at the on-site restaurant, Gaby, this hotel is the perfect place to stay in NYC. The location is perfect - located between 5th & 6th avenues on 44th street, it's within walking distance to Times Square on 7th, 5th Ave for amazing shipping, Bryant Park and Central Library, Central Park, Grand Central Station, and more. Fantastic restaurants minutes from the hotel - check out Cafe Un Deux Trois and Rue 57 Bistro for a great breakfast. The concierge will give you fantastic recommendations to please any taste. Broadway theaters are within walking distance as well. Rooms are spacious if you spend the extra money on a bigger room (the Luxury King was over 400 sq. ft) with a large bathroom with separate tub and shower. Upon arrival, a delicious chocolate dessert wishing a Happy Anniversary was waiting for us - what a nice touch. Thank you Sofitel for making our anniversary weekend even more special and memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York to celebrate your 11th wedding anniversary. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very happy to be in NYC, Its location is perfect to be close to everthing (bryant park, times square, fifth av, but at the same far enough to avoid the noise and buzz of the city.

We found the room a little smaller than we imagine it but in perfect clean conditions the bathroom had separated shower and tub but both were small than usual, maybe having one option would have worked better specially for us in the mid 30´s.

We felt the staff is a little cold and not really very welcoming but I guess that may have to do that we are used to our small hometown and working is turism in a personalized oriented management that it in a large city like this maybe impossible to accomplish.

Overall we enjoy our stay and found everything in we need, including free reliable Internet service at the hotel public areas and room ,( only need to pay for streaming or really fast internet) which is not usual in high end hotels in our area.

We would like to come back, we found this hotel on Hotwire (undisclosed name until you pay) and were thrilled to have this high end hotel on the price we paid for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location and our internet offer.

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#35 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.