We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #43 of 446 hotels in New York City
St Martin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent and confortable hotel...
Service is very good, multilingual.
Rooms are spacious. I was in 23 rd with an excellent and beautiful view.
Bathroom in marble are nice as well, with shower and bath separated.
Full furniture.
Free Wifi and wire Internet...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the comfort of your room.
We are looking forward to welcome you back for another wonderful stay.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,632
    1,003
    223
    70
    30
See reviews for
538
1736
204
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic eight day stay here with the family in July and August. Goid sized room and the staff could not have been more helpful always saying hello or bonjour. Would definitely stay here again. Great location Recommended. Only complaint was that they charged me for a breakfast which we never had although they have now refunded it, $101 though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending the Sofitel New York following your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location. Good size room. Very nice check in staff and concierge. Only dislike was the big down comforter on the bed was too hot and there was no alternative in the closet. Next time I will ask for a light blanket instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you experienced the ultimate in comfort and convenience at the Sofitel New York. We gladly provide sheets and blankets upon request.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Never stayed at a Sofitel before and was pleasantly surprised with the first experience. This is a a solid, clean, well maintained and somewhat central located Hotel. Often when you stay in the city you would like to walk out your front door an be somewhere, Central Park, Times Square, Broadway so I downplayed location a bit for that, as the Hotel is kind of plunked down in the middle of the above referenced 3 areas and you do have a bit of a walk back at the end of the night. Including through some lesser traveled areas and therefore, if your alone and traveling later at night and that would bother you, you should take that into consideration.
I really do not look for much in the ways of amenities when in the city as I am usually there, to be there and not in my hotel. I like value, clean, a little upscale and centralized location, all of which this property delivered solidly (value delivered through a successful priceline bid)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests, therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After a difficult trip we finally arrived at the hotel at 4:30 PM, check in was at 3pm and our room was not ready. We were told to return later. We asked how long it would take, answer "i don't know but here is our phone number, call us later." I thought, ok let's just deal with it these things happen. They stored our luggage promising to deliver it promptly once we were checked in. We returned 2 hrs later and our room was ready. We checked in and asked to have our luggage delivered quickly as i'd like to take a nap and cannot sleep w/o my CPAP machine[I have sleep apnea]. Eric promised to call right away. 20mins later still nothing. I called down again, the receptionist said she would check on this personally and have it sent up. 10 mins later still nothing. I called again,asked what was going on, and talked to a 3rd person, who of course knew nothing about this and promptly put me on hold. I waited on hold for a few mins, finally got frustrated, called down again, and the line was busy. I went down there and had to wait in another line pleading with them to just direct me to my luggage and I'd get it myself. After a few more mins my luggage was finally located. Overall, pathetic service. Was there anything offered for this late check-in and substandard service? A few drink? An upgrade? Anything - of course not!!!

Avoid Sofitel in New York!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to experience Sofitel New York and gain your entire satisfaction and trust.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York Hotel
Sofitel
Sofitel New York City
Sofitel Hotel
New York City Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel New York 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.