We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One ochre best in Manahttan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #69 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One ochre best in Manahttan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I took a suite with two rooms to host me, my wife and my two daughters. Price was around 550$ excl. taxes, not bad for NY. I love this hotel. Rooms are modern, stylish, super comfortable, clean, with the most comfortable beds I ever experienced, very nice and large bathrooms, many amenities. We got free chocolates, a small cake, water and a welcome letter from the director. Location is great at 44th street and close to 5th Avenue. Service is very kind and friendly. The only issue was that we first got a suite with a sofa that couldn't accommodate my daughters, despite we were four when we checked in. Anyhow they kindly found another suite that met our needs, but it was a bit inconvenient to repack our staff and move. Despite this I still rate this hotel among the best in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent family stay at the Sofitel New York.
We regret you have not been giving a room which could fit four people during your check-in and we apologize for the inconvenience.
However we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay, and really appreciate the comfort of our SoBed.
We thank you really much for recommending our hotel; we are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,984
    1,222
    285
    95
    43
See reviews for
703
2,114
249
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I walked by the Sofitel two years ago, and took a picture because of the unique architecture. After hunting down the name of the hotel, we booked a room... and were very pleased with the beauty of the hotel, not to mention the staff. LOVED the French guests and bilingual staff. They were warm and welcoming, and courteous... whether we were dressed up, or in our tennis shoes. :-) They responded quickly and cheerfully to requests for a fan, refrigerator in the room, and to check our heat. The manager Mr. Tito, and reservations agent, Gina, went out of their way to be accommodating and friendly... going way above and beyond, so that we felt like we were staying at a bed and breakfast in someone's home, rather than a large Midtown hotel. The fresh flowers, candles, music, lobby atmosphere, and cleanliness also impressed us. Fresh water in room at night, French toiletries in bathrooms, and wonderful bedding were pluses. Very friendly and unobtrusive housekeeping also. The location is unbeatable. Every time we looked up a destination on a map, we were shocked that it was within a 10 minute walk. We were concerned about it being so close to Times Square, but, remarkably, it is on a quiet side street. Very nice workout room with high end extras. Fabulous restaurants nearby, in any price range. Only two complaints: a king bed would have fit nicely in the large room, and there was a bizarre flapping noise on the outside of the building that started our third night because of a storm, and kept us up. ( I hope they will find the mysterious source before the next guests arrive.) We would love to come back with our children. (Did not see many in the hotel... so we'll liven things up a bit next trip!)

Room Tip: Don't book room 1206 until they figure out what's flapping on the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your amazing stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear such positive words about your recent experience. We are glad you came back two years after your first visit. We really appreciate your comments about our Ambassadors and especially Gina who helped you with your booking.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you and your children.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Softel in New York for our 5 day holiday It was a fantastic hotel, the staff were very helpful and we had a very quick check in and check out. We were shown were the bar, and restaurant. We had a room on the 18th floor, we were upgrade to a Junior Suite, as at the time we stayed they were offering a upgrade if you stayed for more than 3 nights. The suite was fantastic, the bathroom was fully equipped with shampoo/conditioner, shower gel, and was topped up everyday too. The decor of the rooms were top class. Our bed was turned down every night and fresh bottled water left for us.
The food at the restaurant was really good and service was perfect, they were very attentive, as were the var staff, and i think the nibbles you are given with your drinks is a really nice touch too.
The manager Jorge was great and really good to chat too, as was Nicholas in the restaurant, is was never a problem for them to stop and have a chat.
Mark on check was top class and again nothing was ever a problem.
I would recommend this hotel as being a great place to stay and we had a lovely relaxing holiday, we will being going back in time and taking the children with us too. Thanks Jorge to you and all your staff for making our holiday so perfect.

Room Tip: We had a high floor room and we never heard a sound from hotel or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this very detailed review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We were thrilled you had such a lovely stay and had such a terrific experience meeting our Ambassadors.
It will be our great pleasure to share your comments with them.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your children during your future visit.
Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stay at the Sofitel NY when we come into the City to have dinner and see a Broadway show. The location is a stone's throw from Broadway and Times Square. Service is excellent. The rooms are clean and modern. The bed is very comfortable. We have been doing this for several years now and the price seems to be creeping up quite a bit. Of course, most good hotels in NYC are expensive. If you want to have an excellent stay with a French flare, the Sofitel fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor.
It is with great pleasure that we read your impressions. It is exactly this feeling we hope all our guests experience.
We are delighted you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our very central location, within walking distance to the Broadway shows.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel as we wanted a Midtown hotel. Having not stayed in Midtown before I was worried that the hotel would be bland and big and the location too loud. The location is good though, being a few blocks away from the chaotic tourist scene at Times Square. The hotel was very big but had a nice atmosphere. No, it's not one of the modern boutique hotels but it's reliable, reasonable service and the rooms are a decent size.
My friends who were sharing a room were given a queen bed despite booking a twin room so this was disappointing but otherwise the stay was good. Being a French chain, I would have hoped for tea and coffee facilities in my room instead of having to pay a huge amount for tea from room service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sofitel New York
We regret that we did not provide you the type of room you booked. All of our guests’ requests are important to us, we apologize for the inconvenience.
As you mentioned we do not have tea/coffee maker in our rooms. However it is our pleasure to place one for you upon request. Moreover, we are offering complimentary tea and coffee every morning from 6:00 to 10:30.

We are delighted to hear you really appreciated our very central location in the heart of Manhattan close to the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent location, so nice to be a few blocks away from the madness of Times Square. The staff were truly outstanding - especially at the front desk, concierge and porters. I got a terrific pre-paid rate online that made it easy to accept a somewhat dated room with a nice large bathroom. Room service too overpriced and not good. The hotel is very clean with a nice clientele. The location, service, cleanliness outweigh the dated rooms. There are so many bad and over priced hotels in Manhattan, this is truly a find if you can pay around $300 a night.

Room Tip: Not worth asking for a high floor as I just looked at another tall building. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York.
We regret that the food you order from room service was not tasty; we forwarded your comment to the restaurant manager to correct the problem.
However we are very glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and think our ambassadors are delivering an “outstanding” service.
We are looking forward to your return to show you the quality of service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service, cleanliness, comfort -- it all met my expectations. I don't expect perfection out of a hotel, but I do have high standards. This was my second stay at this Sofitel. I was very happy with everything. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you had a lovely stay and that your experience met your expectations.
We are glad you came back and we are looking forward to another opportunity to meet you.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.