We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, a touch of class with modern style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #68 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Perfect location, a touch of class with modern style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

If you want midtown, you're hard pressed to find a place any better than the Sofitel. Its high tripadvisor ranking comes from a palpable commitment to exceptional service, rooms that are a decent size (and exceptionally well appointed) and a location that is handy to the action of Times Square as well as the finer escape of Bryant Park and a slightly less intense 'vibe' (that being a relative term in central manhattan).
I've stayed here a few times and always been impressed... The beds give the best in the business a run for the money.. and there's a decent gym if you want a winter workout

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice comment left on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to have you back at the Sofitel New York and we are delighted to hear you enjoy our very central location in the heart of Manhattan.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,782
    1,151
    263
    87
    38
See reviews for
653
1,975
234
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. Hotel located in between Times Square and 5th avenue on 44th street. Easy walking to 3 subway stations within 2 blocks. Hotel room itself was average with scratches on the wall and peeling wallpaper in a few spots. Bed was soft and clean with warm bedding. Bose Wave radio on the nightstand that our traveling partners could hear through the wall. Bathroom was comfortable and amazing with everything you could need. I like quiet and we didn't hear any other guests on the hall or doors slamming up and down the hall. Elevators were fast, never waited more than 20 seconds going up or down from the 14th floor. Staff at desk, concierge, and doormen were helpful and professional. The weekend we went was cold and rainy so the free umbrellas helped. Overall, would stay there again. It's midtown NYC so expect to pay $$$.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible, near the end of the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel New York.
We regret that you found the rooms old and tired, we are working on a renovation project that will be finished on the first half of 2013 which will address all the points you noted and I am sure it will improve on the perception you had.
We are delighted you enjoyed our very central location and the quietness within the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on the quality expected from the Sofitel brand and its location, which is excellent, being convenient for Times Square, Grand Central Station, Radio City, 5th Ave. Our room, on the 18th floor was a little oasis from the hustle and bustle of the New York streets being very quiet, even though close to the lift. The room was a good size and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower with. Wifi was complimentary and reliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you really enjoyed our location in the very center of Manhattan. We are glad to hear these nice words about your room and the feeling of an “oasis”.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights with my five year-old son in November. It was just after Sandy had hit, and I had booked another hotel in SoHo initially, but cancelled and booked the Sofitel kinda last minute.
The room was good, but still nothing special for that category of hotel. Everything was working, the bed was very very comfy, everything was clean. But still, we could hear the elevator from our room and TVs from adjoining rooms.
Breakfast was very good (beware! huge portions!), a la carte and the croissants very heavenly. They have a kids menu and some crayons etc in the restaurant.
We had room service once (dinner); was ok but wouldn't recommend it.
The staff in the restaurant was really nice and very very helpful.

I liked the hotel but wasn't that impressed. Great location though! Lots of stuff in walking distance! And the subway is really close.

Room Tip: Higher up & away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor about our recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you choose Sofitel New York after what happened during hurricane Sandy. We are really sorry you have been disturbed by the elevator sound.
We are delighted you had a great time in our restaurant Gaby for Breakfast and enjoyed our French viennoiserie.
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As a frequent guest at Sofitel fraubourg Paris, I was looking forward to my few days at Sofitel NY. I wasn't exactly disappointed, but not that impressed either. Everything is satisfactory, but nothing is great. Rooms are ok, comfortable, clean etc, but at 600 bucks per night they should be! Rooms (even superior ones on higher floors) are fairly small and the bathtub is ridiculously small unless you are tiny. My minibar was not restocked at all during 5 days, the cleaners do the bed and the bathroom, but don't really tidy up much beyond that. Service was all ok and friendly.

Would only stay again if other places were full. Not that impressive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations.

We regret that you did get the same experience as during your stays at the Sofitel Le Faubourg. We apologies your minibar has not been restocked during your stay. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent location and better service. Near of all major NYC attractions. Gaby restaurant is elegant and boast a casual atmosphere. Clean rooms and prompt service. Thanks to Mattie at Gaby's, Lirio and Nancy at the front desk, the best. Front desk personnel speaks more than 10 languages, amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this glowing review you shared on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your nice comment about our staff and will be sure to share it with them. Moreover, it is extremely important for us, you feel at home and for that matter to be able to speak in your own language. We are glad you had a very nice experience at Gaby and enjoyed the quality of the service.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel New York during your next visit.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great loction for all the attractions,Time Square, theare district just down the road and some lovely restuarants close by too.

Room was comfortable, nice bathroom, our view wasn't great, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were there to see everything we could. For a relativly large hotel is was extremly quite we were not disturbed with doors, lifts etc.
We flew into New Jersey and stayed with a friend of mine for a few days then got the train into cental station. travelling was simple on the train, and whilst in NY we just used the buses they were great for getting around.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us back to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoy our location in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance to the main sightseeing, which enable you to do all you wanted. We are glad you appreciated the calm in our hotel, thanks to which you can rest in this very busy city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.