We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Thnaksgiving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #48 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy Thnaksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent location and better service. Near of all major NYC attractions. Gaby restaurant is elegant and boast a casual atmosphere. Clean rooms and prompt service. Thanks to Mattie at Gaby's, Lirio and Nancy at the front desk, the best. Front desk personnel speaks more than 10 languages, amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this glowing review you shared on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your nice comment about our staff and will be sure to share it with them. Moreover, it is extremely important for us, you feel at home and for that matter to be able to speak in your own language. We are glad you had a very nice experience at Gaby and enjoyed the quality of the service.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel New York during your next visit.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,761
    1,078
    243
    76
    31
See reviews for
582
1843
216
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great loction for all the attractions,Time Square, theare district just down the road and some lovely restuarants close by too.

Room was comfortable, nice bathroom, our view wasn't great, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were there to see everything we could. For a relativly large hotel is was extremly quite we were not disturbed with doors, lifts etc.
We flew into New Jersey and stayed with a friend of mine for a few days then got the train into cental station. travelling was simple on the train, and whilst in NY we just used the buses they were great for getting around.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us back to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoy our location in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance to the main sightseeing, which enable you to do all you wanted. We are glad you appreciated the calm in our hotel, thanks to which you can rest in this very busy city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Visited NY and stayed at Sofitel for 4 nights. The cost was some 1500$. The location is the best possible regarding activities in mid Manhattan.
The pros in Sofitel (at least, if you stay in room 1504)
+ nice view
+ very comfy beds
+ spacious std room
+ clean
+ friendly frontdesk and they speak french
+ very nice piano bar, lounge
+ good dinery only 50m to the right from the main entrance, open at 6am.
+ the room is well soundproofed
Cons
- no bidee in the bath room!
- carpet floor (not nice having any allergy)
- toilet paper is a joke
- currency exchange rate is poor at the hotel, use ATM

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you really enjoy your stay and the comfort of our beds. We are delighted you have been able to experience the Piano Bar, in our restaurant Gaby on Friday or Saturday, during which a French pianist and singer are coming.
We regret you experience some allergies during your stay. We really you will still consider coming at the Sofitel New York during you next stay in Manhattan.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

First time in NYC since 1988. Hotel was perfect. Location for out of towners is ideal as its central to everything. Rooms were great, staff was nice. I would definately stay there again. Close to restuarants, Time Square, Rock Center and the theatre district

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel New York for your come back in the city. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location in the heart of Manhattan at a walking distance to every main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next occasion to visit New York.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is the most money I have ever spent on a hotel in New York..but it was good value for the extra dollars. Great sized room (awesome to have spacious closet), really nice bathroom with personal ammenities, great view. Decent gym. Super clean. Awesome location. Service was exceptional. Felt very special. If you are looking for a higher end hotel, this is good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you had a very nice stay and enjoy the comfort of our rooms made in order you could feel at home with large closet, separate bathtub and shower and our skincare products from Lanvin and Hermès. We are delighted to hear you have been able to enjoy our Sofit Fitness Center during your stay.
We are really looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 6 nights at Sofitel New York in a king room and it was excellent. Every need is catered for. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever had in any hotel. The room was quiet, and very clean. We ordered room service food on the first night as we were feeling quite lazy after travelling, but it was so good we ordered again later in the week. Great location, can walk everywhere or the nearest subway stop is just 2 streets away. Loved having a separate shower cubicle and bath, would definitely recommend the place to anyone going to New York looking for a comfortable base for their trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely comment about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you really enjoyed our SoBed and the separate bath and rain shower.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to the Trip Advisor users.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel New York very soon,
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.