We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #67 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the helpful, considerate staff (thank you, Roger) to the accommodations (oh those linens!) to the location, the Sofitel in midtown Manhattan is the perfect place to rest your weary body after a day in the city. Even with the ever-present city noise (there were even jackhammers outside the hotel the day we were there), the interior of the hotel was quiet, refined and relaxing. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that Roger was a great help, we will share your great comments with him.
We are glad you enjoyed the calm the hotel offer in this great city!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,816
    1,163
    269
    90
    38
See reviews for
659
2,004
235
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I need to clarify that I have not stayed at this location. I stayed at a nearby hotel on 44th that I didn't love and was looking for a hotel for a future trip. I walked to the front desk and asked about the room size. She immediately asked someone to show me 3 different rooms in the hotel. The young lady was so accommodating. It seems as if service was Impeccable at least by the desk staff. I was surprised to see negative reviews based on my experience. I saw the queen, king and a suite. All above the 16th floor. It was very quiet inside the rooms on the upper floors. They were clean with modern amenities. They were wonderful size by New York standards with generous bathrooms having showers and tubs. The prices were also within New York standards for this type of hotel. The lobby was elegant but also quiet. Perfect for business or personal travel. I have stayed all over the city and was excited to find this gem of a hotel....can't wait to stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this really nice comment, especially while you did not stay with us.
We are delighted to see we made such a great impression to you and we are really looking forward to welcoming you very soon, and showing you the service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Sofitel on 3 occasions and have always enjoyed my stay.

The location is excellent, within walking distance of many sights. The staff have always been helpful and nothing seems like too much trouble.

On one occasion, it was my Birthday when I visited and I arrived back to my room to discover complimentary chocolates, a Birthday card and a small bottle of bubbly - very kind and unexpected.

The hotel restaurant was lovely but quite expensive and I would recommend eating out for breakfast.

The standard rooms are on the small side but this is normal for New York. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on one visit and the views were amazing as we had a balcony though many rooms do not have great views due to the close proximity of other buildings.

Free wi-fi in lobby and plenty of seating to relax there too. Rooms clean and of good quality. Bathrooms in good condition.

I love this hotel and will always try to stay here when in New York. The only downside is the price as it is not the cheapest !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel New York for your Birthday celebration, we were very glad to be part of it, and it was our great pleasure to make that day special to you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your future stay in New York.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is the absolute perfect location, close to Fifth Ave, close but far enough from Times Square, 2 blocks from the Bryant Park subway station...the list goes on. The rooms are small but comfortable with a good size bathroom with both shower and tub. Rooms are spotless, and maid service comes in twice per day to refresh beds, towels etc. A nice touch but did not really see the need in replacing towels twice a day especially from an environmental standpoint. Service was excellent everyone from the front desk, concierge, door man and porters to the service in the Gaby restaurant. Good size gym with cardio and area for weights. No coffee machines in rooms but downstairs they have coffee available until 11am. Also a great coffee shop across the street called Gregory's and pharmacy open 24 hours for any last items needed or snacks around the corner. Overall a perfect stay and would highly recommend. Lastly sleeps were solid, rooms were quite and a perfect location far enough from the noise of the city but close enough to enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review shared on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at the Sofitel New York. It is extremely important for us to provide you all the services you need to feel at home, and it is a pleasure to hear you really enjoyed it.

Thank you again to recommend the Sofitel New York; We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Brilliant view of the skyscrapers of New York. Gorgeous bedding and very comfortable beds. Room was nice, clean and modern. Restaurant and bar area beautifully decorated, with lots on offer. A great base for all of the sights. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were a family of 6, and we had 3 rooms between us, and we very well received, and the check in process was a breeze. The rooms are OK, a bit small for my taste, but i guess that's New york! The concierge was very helpful and booking restaurants for us and recommending places to go eat. The location was great, very close to time square, as well as fifth avenue and Macy's were all walking distance. The only thing was on our way back home we missed our flight and we had to stay in NY for one more day and so we called to ask if they had any rooms, and they did so we decided to go back there. And we arrived there was no one to help us with our luggage, i know they were not expecting us, but still considering the price we were paying you would think they would have someone to take your luggage! I really do not know if it's worth the price, think we paid $375 per night, but i mean i enjoyed my stay because of the location, and i do not think if i went back to NY i would go back to this hotel though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are glad you enjoy the beginning of your stay with us; however we are sincerely sorry that your return did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is just off 5th ave, in the heart of the city.

The staff is courteous and helpful. The hotel is comfortable.

It's pricy. Forthe price,theroo could be better.

A coffee machine in the room would compete it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, from your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the location of the hotel.
We are always glad to hear new suggestions, and I will forward your comment to our hotel manager.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.