We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sofitel NYC - fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #64 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel Sofitel NYC - fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights ..... very very nice hotel. It was our 20th anniversary and they surprised us with a special desert plate of chocolate dipped strawberries and brownie cake! We were in a King suite room -- lovely amenities, staff was amazing -professional, classy. The Gaby bar/lounge restaurant is high class -- with drinks they serve olives, nuts, munchies to you nonstop --- cabs come by out front very fast ... location is super! Close to 5th Ave shopping, diamond district, Times Square, St Patricks cathedral -- everywhere. Lovely bed linens. We wanted a fan and they brought us one immediately. Service there is superb. Worth every penny there. Bath linens are large and thick -- robe in closet, slippers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,750
    1,129
    256
    84
    37
See reviews for
647
1,941
229
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights from May 28 to Jun 3, 2012 and found the hotel superb!
Location: Great location. Just two straight blocks from Times Square but it's far enough to avoid the busy and unpleasant atmosphere. Three main subways around - Grand Central, 42th street Port Authority and Bryant Park. All withing walking distance. Many nice and reasonable-priced restaurants nearby.
Service: All staffs(the front desks, the cashiers, the concierges, the maids, the bell men, the bartenders, the waiters etc) are well-trained and have both good attitude and service-mind. They were all proper and very efficient.
Dining: Had breakfast 2 days at Gaby and also ordered room service. Foods were of high-quality and standard and above all these very delicious (do not taste like hotel foods but more like good restaurants)!
I paid about $345+++ to $475+++ a night (not the same rate everyday) and that worth every dollar!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel for our first trip to NY and really enjoyed the central location. The daily bottles of water in the room were a nice touch. We only used the hotel as a base as we were out & about all day but the room was comfortable and we enjoyed the powerful shower. A tip to smokers: it's one of the only NY hotels that allows smoking in rooms but only at floors 28-30 (superior rooms). As the weather wasn't very nice, it was nice to be able to smoke indoors & sitting after having walked miles.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Positive: A nice touch was the fruitplate for our honeymoon in our room and that we got a room on the 29th floor so we had a good view. Concierge Service was nice.

Negative: We were staying at Sofitel in Munich and Berlin, Germany before, i have to say its a total difference, the rooms at Sofitel NY are not as close luxurious as the ones in Germany and the staff is not very warm and welcoming (for instance when i arrived in my wedding dress on ,no one was there to open the door). All you pay for is the view, definately not the room. Beeing that we live in NY and have the view all the time i wish we wouldve picked another hotel! Saturday we were out of the room until 4 or 5 pm and when we came back the room was not cleaned (we didnt leave the Do not disturb sign on!). I work for hotels and this is not acceptable for the price we paid (about $420 a night)! Later an attendant came we told her to fix the room at 8 pm, but then we went out at 6pm and i told the Front desk clerk to clean the room right now instead of 8pm. Well, when we came back nothing happened. I had to call front desk again and then finally the maid came up. This shouldnt happen and i dont think Sofitel NY can meet the Standards of Sofitel Europe. Another thing is that we tried to call the front desk and housekepping and could never get a hold of anyone, the only one we got on the phone was the concierge. Its very upsetting for us because it was our wedding weekend and we expected to have a good experience since we trusted the Sofitel Brand... Definately will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very nice rooms and bathrooms, extremely courteous staff (all French), hotel well maintained. A very comfortable place to stay if you are in NYC on business for a couple of days. Well equipped gym and wifi etc. Rooms nice and quiet and no noise from the elevators!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level to avoid road noise from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I liked this hotel and would stay again.

Having stayed at quite a few different hotels in Manhattan, i rate this as one of my favourite.

Good location, nice rooms, decent food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with the Sofitel. We had a Jr. Suite and a superior queen for our girls. They were attached with a private hallway. I believe the price we paid for our rooms was the best value we had during our trip to New York City. The hotel is half a block from 5th Avenue shopping and 2 blocks from Times Square. Everyone from the doormen to the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We never had to wait more than a minute or two for a cab out front and the desk made sure our free breakfasts were erased from the bill (family package) upon check out. We will definitely stay here again and we will enthusiastically recommend this hotel to our friends that visit NYC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Amex, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.