We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2422” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Save Saved
You added Sofitel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #47 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2422”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Sofitel in New York is everything that you expect from a luxury hotel ... and more. The service was excellent ... treating everyone like a V.I.P. Plus, if you have a chance to book one of the premium suites with a terrace overlooking the New York skyline, then I say "do it." The restaurant at this hotel is amazing. If you are there for breakfast, then don't bother looking at the menu ... just order the blueberry pancakes! The location is perfect ... right around the corner from Central Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue ... and only a 15 minute walk (with luggage in hand) from Penn Station. So ... why title this 2422? Well, that's one of the rooms with a private terrace ...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,763
    1,081
    243
    76
    31
See reviews for
584
1843
216
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stay at the NYC Sofitel a few times a year when I’m in NY for business, but unfortunately this will be the last, as the overall experience was well below par, when you’re paying over $500 plus per night and being a Sofitel Platinum member (---------). When checked in the room it was not what u expect from a Sofitel brand it was more like Days Inn, there were glasses missing from the set, the hot water was not working, and we were woken up at 7am buy workman banging away changing carpets outside the room, which was ridiculous as there were no notice of this, If I had known I would have checked in elsewhere as I needed some down time after a serious of long flights, after complaining to the reception they made it feel like it was fault for being in that room at 7am. To be honest this was an utterly unprofessional way to behave and the stay experience was just short of being pathetic

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel in NYC during Easter and really enjoyed our stay.

The rooms were a good size, clean, really comfortable bed and good bathroom.

We felt welcomed here and all staff were friendly, helping with any requests.

The Sofitel is perfectly located and close to Times square and accessible to the transport.

Overall we would recommend this hotel and will return next time we are in New York.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

What can I say that others haven't already wrote on here? Sofitel New York is the perfect choice for any traveler to the Big Apple.

My mother and I chose to stay at the Sofitel for three nights of our NY vacation after reading the stellar reviews here (we would have selected to stay here our entire trip, but unfortunately weekday rates are about $100 more than the weekend ones). We loved every moment we spent in this hotel.

The moment we stepped out of our taxicab after our exhausting red-eye flight from LA, we were greeted by a kind bellman who ushered us into the hotel and helped us with our suitcases. Check-in was quick and the staff were pleasant, accommodating, and friendly. We took the elevators up to our room on the 14th floor and were impressed by the spacious room we were provided with. Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The bathroom was our favorite part of the room - it was large unlike most hotel bathrooms and had a separate tub and shower.

We left our suitcases in the room and did some shopping. When we returned, we found the maid had come in and cleaned our room again. There was classical music playing softly from the Bose speakers - what a nice touch!

The remainder of our stay went smoothly. My mother and I loved the Sofitel and would always look forward coming back after a tiring day in the city. With the exception of a fire alarm that went off during one of the nights, our stay here was pleasant and perhaps one of the most enjoyable and luxurious experiences I've had in a hotel. Highly recommend!

Pros:
-Attentive, friendly staff
-Spacious rooms and bathrooms
-L'Occitane bath products in the bathrooms
-Conair hair dryer, not those super slow ones
-Comfy beds and pillows
-Nice decor
-The bowl of fresh apples in the lobby!
-VERY clean
-The classical music they play on the speakers

Cons:
-Nothing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our short stays in NY are always frenetic, running all over the places and diversions to optimize the schedule. It was our first stay in NY Sofitel and we'll comeback for shure. Sofitel brings a calm and relaxed atmosfere, european style, so we can reenergize for the very next challenging day in Manhathan. Excellence service and amenities, best location and great personnel. Congratulations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The location could not be better. is near of the best in NY and accessible transport. In the heart of the city and times square.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I love staying at this hotel! The rooms are nice, the location is great, and I enjoy the French ambiance. The first night of our stay, the fire alarm went off around 3:45 a.m., followed by instructions in French (help!). We called down to the front desk, and were informed it was a false alarm, to go back to sleep. For the next few minutes, there were lots of French instructions. My only other complaint is that I would love to have a sheet in addition to the duvet cover on the bed. It was way too hot for a duvet, but I needed a light cover. Come on, Sofitel, give us a sheet! Otherwise, the stay was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Amex, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.