We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Special Offer
Ranked #58 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I really liked the convenience of the location; public transportation was nearby and access to the hotel is available from either 41st or 42nd streets, making it especially handy. The room was large and the staff was friendly. I didn't try the bar, but the business center was very convenient for printing tickets, etc. Only real complaint was the extra blanket in a plastic bag in the closet was used and dirty. I had wanted to replace the 'too warm' comforter with the blanket during my final night. Left a message with the hotel mgmt at check out, so hopefully, things like this will be monitored more closely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Bearjm,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. I have shared your comments with Housekeeping team to make sure they are exceeding our cleanliness standards. Thank you again for choosing us and for your time in writing this feedback.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,565
    1,345
    311
    92
    58
See reviews for
1,119
1,313
197
738
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is near everything you would want to see. The room size and quality exceeded our expectations. It is the largest room I've ever stayed in while in NYC. Another bonus is that there was complete silence on the 35th floor. Everything was perfect!!! I'll definitely stay here again and have already referred people to this hotel who are traveling to the city! Super great experience.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Kathy D,

Thank you for the 5-star review! I am genuinely appreciative that you choose us when traveling to the New York City area. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay! We look forward to the next time your visit. See you again soon!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at the Hilton 6 or 8 times now. I am always there for business. It really isn't a business hotel now. There are many more tourists using the hotel for general New York sightseeing and the theatre, etc. It is located dead in the middle of Times Square on 42nd St and when you walk out the door you are subject to lots of the tourist things that make up New York and this part of town. Which is OK if you are visitor from another place and you are seeing everything for the first or second time. But not so much if you are there for business. The lobby is on the 15th floor and you need two elevators to get from your room to the street. The lobby is always very full and the elevators also. It is not at all convenient to enter and leave the hotel. You must wait 30 minutes for your car to be delivered if you have decided to valet park. And when I say 30 minutes, I mean ALL of 30 minutes. Don't take a car there if you don't have to do it. But my real problem is that the hotel is very ordinary now compared to when it first opened. And as always it is the little things. The people behind the desk are not very responsive sometimes. The concierge is way too busy serving too many customers with not enough help. And lots of these customers don't speak English very well so everything takes more time. The concierge desk is next to the elevator so you feel like you are in the middle of Times Square on New Years Eve. There is no room service after 10:00 PM. This is a huge hotel in the middle of New York without room service after 10:00???? If you do attend the theatre, then you can't get anything to eat in the hotel after you return. The rooms are very nice, the lobby is very nice, and the views are terrific. But the entire experience seems watered down to me now. It was easily one of the best big name hotels in the city and now it is more ordinary. They could do better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Bobjusacoils,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. At The Hilton Times Square, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet yours, or our own, expectations.

We deeply value your patronage and hope that you choose to stay with us again. If you would like, please contact me directly so I may work to restore your confidence in our hotel. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of service you have every right to expect from Hilton.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

& large room for a New York hotel Although the Hotel is very busy it is kept to a high standard,
The staff do there job well but are not over friendly. Drinks in the bar are over priced even for New York. Check in & out was reasonably painless

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Witheldno,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We realize that there are many options for you to choose from and I hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and provide the excellent service you have come to expect from Hilton.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very Nice-clean room. Impressed with the size of the room. Most NYC hotels offers very small rooms but this one had ample space. Would definitely stay here again. The location is great especially if you are going to the theater for the evening. In the heart of things but didn't notice it as being noisy at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Ryan B,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled that you were "Impressed". Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I spend 3 nights for a travel trip .
Rates were at a great deal considering it was a easter seasson. Check out was fast and in less than 10 minutes I was enjoying an amanzing view of times square. Ask for a higher floor possible. Service is good as well as room amenities.
Location is excellent you are about 3 minutes walking of times square ,bus or subway.
Would back without a doubt not matter is for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear AliceA14,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay as this helps us to improve the experience for all of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed staying in the Time Square area and liked the views from our rooms and the location. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Comfortable and renewed apartments in the nervous center of the city! From it you can walk to the theatres, restaurant, centrak park, etc. Nice staff! Internet is charged in the apartments but free in the lobby.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Bahiabrazil,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. Our number one goal is to give our guests a perfect 10 experience. We look forward to the next time!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#96 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,076 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#173 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#121 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,588 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#166 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,038 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.