We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Our Best Rate
Ranked #43 of 452 hotels in New York City
Ft Laud
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

You don't need a car in NYC and it's very expensive if you bring one. Walk to everything from here, including Central Park! Dino, doorman is remarkable, professional and helped us tremendously with our car. Rooms are very comfortable and amazingly quiet for NYC. I would recommend staying in Time Square for convenience to all NYC attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear TQtravels,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that New York has to offer and our property met all of your family's needs. We appreciate your feedback. We deeply value your patronage and hope that you bring your family back to stay with us again.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,888
    977
    237
    72
    43
See reviews for
808
939
149
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. The room was spacious, wifi equipped. The bed a VERY comfortable! I slept very well. Great little desk area to get work done. The food was also very good. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our second visit to New York. First time our room looked directly at a wall! This time l was determined to do better! I booked a room with a city view. The first room we were offered on the 25th floor did not offer a good view. The reception staff immediately offered a second room on the 35th floor which was great. We had am amazing view, well worth paying a little extra for - to be able to enjoy the NY skyline at all times of the day meant that we were sightseeing even when we were in our room relaxing. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was large for New York and well equipped - the fridge, safe and coffee maker all nice touches. The shower was really good and much needed after long days. The hotel is ideally situated for sightseeing and surprisingly quiet given it's location. The overall decor of the building and rooms is not very exciting in my opinion and other hotels do better - but it is clean and well maintained. I asked about internet use and was informed that l could purchase use per day which l did - what l was not informed was that there is a business centre providing free use of 4 computers and that free wi-fi is available in the lobby. This information for have saved my money. The concierge service is very good - helpful and friendly advice and information is provided.

Just a couple of niggles to mention. Just by the lifts in the lobby there is a stand with a member of staff offering the opportunity to join the Hilton Club. We were initially engaged by the question - have you received your free gift yet? The gift was a $5 voucher for use in the hotel. The catch was feeling under pressure to attend a 90 minute presentation. Every minute in New York is valuable and l did not appreciate being placed in this situation.

Secondly - the placement of the toilet paper holder requires some kind of contortionistic yoga to reach from the toilet seat! Also the tap does not extend into the sink far enough so that every time it is turned on water floods the unit top.

Overall - fantastic hotel. Definitely recommend it. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Room tip - the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Julie6468,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. I will share your comments with the entire team. Thank you again for choosing us and for your time in writing this feedback.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here over the Easter Long Weekend for a short visit to New York. The hotel is on 42nd street right beside (on top) of Madame Toussauds and Ripley's - so depending on your point of view, the location could be amazing, or too busy.

The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are a good size, the bed is extremely comfortable and the bathroom nice. All in good condition, though all pretty standard. The staff we dealt with were all very friendly and attentive.

The main lobby, which is located well above the ground and reached through a separate elevator, is quite compact. The business center was well appointed and convenient. The wireless internet in our room (which was at the end of a hall) was very poor - a few times I'd sit in the bathroom just so I could get service.

Don't get me wrong, being at the center of it all is pretty cool, but the crowds on 42nd were crazy! We'd often walk out the 41st exit and avoid Broadway just to get somewhere. We were on the north side of the building, and it was a little loud - mostly sirens and honking.

So if you're looking to be in the center of it all, this hotel is for you. If crowds aren't your thing, maybe head a little further north or south. Would definitely recommend the hotel itself though - already missing that comfy bed!

Room Tip: South side to face the Empire State Building and may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear JBI747,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I’m glad you had such positive experience during your stay with us and you enjoyed the location. We really appreciate this feedback. We look forward to having you back with us.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge,BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and 9 year old son just came back from our trip to New York and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I had spent a long time looking at hotels before booking this one because I couldn't make up my mind where to stay and I am glad I chose this one. The location is right in Times Square which was perfect for us. The view we had from our room was amazing, we could see the New Years ball and all the amazing lights of the city! I was expecting it to be noisy but was pleasantly surprised at how little we heard from outside. Of course we heard sirens every now and then but that was it. The room was great as well, newly renovated, modern, comfortable, clean and relatively quiet, however we did have a connecting room door which we could hear our neighbors very easily through.
The only complaints I did have are small and are with regards to the staff working at the reception desk at check in and the organization of the little restaurant in the lobby for breakfast. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 9pm for check in and the staff working at the front counter were not very friendly, there were two woman working and neither greeted us and then they actually debated between the two of them which was going to be the one to check us in as if we were putting them out. We were checked in quickly but were not made to feel very welcome. Then the following morning we went to the buffet breakfast and found that there was quite a wait to be seated. It seemed very unorganized as there were many tables empty but not cleared for seating. Once we were seated we did receive great service from the wait staff and did enjoy our food.
So overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Superscarymiss,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments on our service in mind. We constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope your family will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I spent Spring break with my 11.5 years old here. The hotel is in the heart of the city, a minute from Times Square, right in the middle of the craziness. But, as soon as you are inside, it's like you are in a whole different world. Quiet, nice, clean, elegant (newly renovated). Wonderful buffet breakfast, served until 11:00 am. But, what really makes me want to go back is the service. Starting from the check-in through the cleaning lady, they were all just incredible!
We had two favorite persons: VAL at the Concierge and GAZI at breakfast. They made our otherwise great stay just PERFECT! Thank you guys!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Andrea D,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled that you felt welcomed and well taken care of as our guest here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really nice hotel to stay in - not tired and unkept, but very well maintained. The concierge were knowledgeable and very helpful. Excellent place for us to explore NYC in 24 hours

Right inside Times Square so you can get onto the public underground system really easily.

Room Tip: High floors = great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Branagan-Harris,

Thank you for the 5-star review! I am so appreciative that you've chosen us when traveling to the New York City area. I'm glad we were the perfect starting point for your New York City adventures. We look forward to your visit. See you again soon!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.