We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Our Best Rate
Ranked #47 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in NYC and the entire family loved this hotel. Honestly I didn't really know much about it when we booked it. I reserved primarily based on price and good reviews I had previously seen on tripadvisor. We previously stayed at the Doubletree in Times Square which is also nice, but the Hilton was less expensive during our stay and had better room options for our family. We definitely would stay here again.
Location is a major draw - you are right in Times Square and literally steps away from a subway stop. I had no idea the hotel was as high as it was - when I booked I was a little concerned that with the Times Square location, outside noise could be a concern, but because of the better price we took a chance. Noise ended up being non-issue for us because the rooms start at the twenty something floor so you are pretty high up either way (our room was on the 41st floor).
Price was very good compared to other comparable hotels.
The view was incredible - our room faced the side opposite Times Square and we had a great view of the Empire State Building and could also see the Statue of Liberty (not all rooms may be able to see this).
The room was decent sized and staff were very friendly.
Tried to think of negatives and the only thing I could come up with was that there were some smudges on the windows when we first got to the room that you would think should have been cleaned beforehand. Very minor though.
For our purposes we didn't spend a ton of time in the hotel because we were out much of the day but it was great to come back and have the hotel steps away from the subway stop.
Everyone loved the experience at this hotel and we plan to stay here again for our next trip.

Room Tip: Side opposite Times Square has a beautiful city view. Ask for a room as high as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,049
    1,075
    265
    79
    44
See reviews for
880
1,039
163
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a great hotel for Manhattan. It is recently renovated so rooms are clean and comfortable. They are good size with plenty of room for desk, chairs, large flat screen TV, and king bed. I requested a high floor and from my room on 44 I had open views of The City including The Empire State Building, Freedom Tower and The Hudson River. Even lower floor have great views since the hotel rooms and lobby start on the 15th floor or so. The room was very quiet, which is unusual for NYC.

I also liked that the hotel had an entrance on 41st street so you can avoid the tourist zoo on 42nd. As a former NYC resident, Times Square is not the area I would usually stay, but rooms were tight this week and I am glad I tried this hotel. Most tourists will like the area as it is central with great subway access.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. I ordered room service one evening (I could not pull myself away from the view!). The food was expensive as you would expect in a hotel like this, but it arrived hot and fresh.

The only negative here was the lack of an executive lounge. Hilton seems to be limiting these more and more and I think it will hurt them. Similar flags (Marriott, Weston) almost always have them. They did offer coupons for free breakfast, but I missed it since I had other plans. Also, you need to take 2 elevators to get to the street level, since the lobby is not on the ground floor. however, they were never that busy so it was not really a problem.

I would definitely stay here again and am happy to recommend this hotel for a great stay in New York City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Not sure about these reviews....are people paid to lie. Here is our true experience.
True: Recently renovated, big rooms, friendly service, decent fitness center, adequate bathroom. Metro (subway) is very close. Great location , nice furniture and bed.

What isn't being said: Thin walls...I could hear my neighbor sneeze. Street noise even from a high floor is easily heard. Finger nail clippings on rug, hairs on toilet and used coffee cup welcomed us to the room. New sinks are very high. Toilet is low but with high water level ...so expect a splash in your nether region.

It was ok, but we certainly did not feel pampered.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Room was not clean especially same small litters like wrappig paper of candy etc on the floor when we first entered the room. Beds were good and comfortable. Location was good. Concierge was helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our room was beautiful - modern, clean and with great views. The hotel is right in the thick of it, with metro station about a 5/10 minute work. Service was fantastic and exceeded expectations. My flight got cancelled and they allowed me to change dates and even gave me an early check in! I just wish I could've stayed longer. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Every time I go to NYC, I stay in a different hotel because I never leave totally satisfied... until now. I was hesitant to book here because I thought it would be super loud being on 42nd St., but I was pleasantly surprised. We got here four hours early and they allowed us to check in right away, which was awesome. We could not believe how big our room was, the biggest I've ever had in NY, that's for sure. It was tastefully decorated and the bathroom was spacious as well. We got a room on the 38th floor and could not hear a single sound from the street below. The view was great, we couldn't be happier. Well, maybe if the price was lower, lol.
Peter checked us in and had an amazing personality and treated us great, thanks Peter!

Room Tip: The higher, the quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am a Hilton Diamond member. I stayed at the Hilton Time Sq 234 W 42nd hotel and Peter Arons (Guest Serivce Agent) is the best Service Agent I have met at any hotel or resort. Peter was outgoing, fantastic personality, and had great ideas on hotel reservations. If you stay at the Hilton Times Sq, make sure you ask for Peter Arons.

Room Tip: Talk to Peter Arons :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in New York City
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.