We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Our Best Rate
Ranked #37 of 449 hotels in New York City
Encinitas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here during our last night in Manhattan. It is right in the middle of Times Square (which is good or bad, depending on your point of view). But it is in a great location in terms of being accessible to most of New York's attractions. The lobby is on the second floor, above the street and it's nice. It looks very new and check in was very easy. The people at the front desk were great and helpful.

The room had a pretty good view over midtown and it was a larger two twin bed room. It was pretty new and I thought the bed was very comfortable. The TV was bright and worked well too.

The bathroom was nice, except that the sink/faucet looks better than it functions. The water doesn't go over the middle of the sink.

Room service was pretty good and their exercise area was spacious, new and had everything you need right there. The hotel, including the rooms and exercise area, was very clean. What's good too is that the subway is very close.

I don't know that I would stay here again, but that's because I don't like Times Square. I love the hotel itself and if you're looking to stay in Times Square, I'd stay here.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room to be above the noise of Times Square! And you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,818
    956
    229
    69
    41
See reviews for
760
910
144
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a girl's weekend in NY city. It was the first time visiting for all of us. This hotel is in an ideal location. It's close to everything. Although it's right at Times Square the lobby is on the 15th floor with rooms above so noise is not an issue. Apparently the hotel was recently renovated. The rooms were very spacious, modern and clean. Couldn't ask for better. The hotel staff were a wealth of information and very friendly, especially the guys downstairs at the door. Check out is at noon. We had an evening flight so they looked after our luggage and arraged our car back to the airport so we could enjoy one full last day. Pax, directly across the street was a great option for a fast meal.Delicious breakfast for $5 but also a great option for other meals. Many healthy choices as well. Chevys, also across the street was the best Mexican food I've had (outside of Mexico). Their frozen margharitas (can be bought by the pitcher) are worth the visit alone. The subway system is easy to master. Once you have a pass you can easily reload it. We always travelled together so we got one card and passed it back for the next person to use. When in doubt ask for directions. People were very friendly. Be sure and take in the theatre. We booked our tickets ahead of time to be sure to get a good seat but you can purchase "day of" tickets and may luck out. The Cake Boss Cafe is on the next corner. Treat yourself. It's worth it! A few highlights for me were the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens, Brooklyn Bridge, the UN, Grand Central Station (celebrating it's 100th this year) shopping of course and my main reason for going "The Jersey Boys". I wasn't disappointed. We were only there for four days so we didn't see everything but we'll definitely be back and definitely stay at the Times Square Hilton again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking 42nd St. Great views : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Checked in after an amazing night at the Beverly Hilton and a 5 hour flight from Los Angeles only to find a hotel in New York with many issues and problems. Emailed the hotel 2 weeks before requesting a transfer from JFK which never arrived and also requested a room upgrade as a Diamond Member of HHONORS. Check in experience was terrible, was told there was no upgrade available when questioned was advised that the Hilton Times Square have 200-300 Diamond Members checking in every week and my expectation needed to be lowered, also advised that perhaps I should of booked rooms at the Astoria down the road if I expected a free upgrade, such a rude front desk manager never experienced this at any Hilton in all my years. Secondly the Internet service was less than satisfactory, constantly being kicked off the network, no 24 hour room service, executive floor with no facilities. The rooms are bigger than normal NYC rooms however the staff seemed to lack any customer service skills. Ordered breakfast on the first day and received undercooked eggs, decided to use Starbucks instead across the road. The rooms were not cleaned properly and often just had the beds made and towels replaced, rubbish remained. Upon checkout I asked for my bags to be taken down to reception. After waiting for 30 minutes I decided to take it down myself. Upon making it down the lifts I saw 3 staff drinking coffee and reading newspapers, Yes it was 5am but this is your job and its clear your not doing it very well. In my previous NYC I stayed at the less fancied Hilton Garden Inn but to be honest I found that stay superior to the Hilton Times Square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest at our family of hotels and for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of meeting and exceeding your expectations. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area I do hope that you will be our guest again so we may demonstrate our brand standard hospitality and the quality hotel experience you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We divided our stay and spent 2 nights here and 2 nights at the Marriott Marquis. The rooms at both hotels were very comparable. There was slightly more street/neighbor noise at the Hilton, though not enough to keep anyone awake. The linens and towels were top notch, and the room was newly furnished and modern and clean. I like the Peter Thomas Roth lotions at the Hilton. Staff at Hilton was exceptionally helpful from the desk staff, doormen, to concierge, everyone was welcoming and eager to assist us. I liked that this location is very near to Times Square, but not quite as chaotic once you leave the hotel as compared to the Marriott. I would definitely return to Hilton Times Square, it felt more personal and friendly.

Room Tip: Though we were just off the elevator, we heard no noise from the hallways. Some plumbing noises and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed with my family April 7-12. Located in very busy Times Square with major subway stops located half block away. Very large (for NYC) recently renovated rooms. Some rooms are still receiving touch ups. Rooms are located beginning on the 23rd floor, high above the bustle of the street. Yet, if you want to enjoy the sounds of the streets below, open the window. Yet, when the window is closed, you hear silence. On check in, mentioned to desk clerk Martina we were there for our son's birthday. Later that evening, we received a fruit and cheese basket from her for our son. Nice touch. Beautiful view from the room looking north. As a preferred member, we were offered full buffet breakfast each morning and free wireless WiFi. The breakfast server, Francisco was very attentive each morning. Housekeeping was great. Bell staff was very attentive able to hail cabs (quite difficult task on a Street (vs. an Avenue) and during rain) or arrange for Town Car service (which we used to return to the airport). Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor. Less guest traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had the BEST stay at Hilton Times Square. The rooms are great (newly renovated), but it's the staff that make this hotel shine. There were two managers (Sarah Kreiger & Chad Nathan) who went above and beyond to make our visit outstanding. In fact, every employee we came in contact with left a positive impression. Thank you!!! The location is pretty amazing too, in the heart of everything. We highly recommend this hotel - the BEST! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went to new York first time ever with my daughter, hotel was brilliant, rooms were lovely big and clean, staff were brilliant, Lobby was really nice and hotel manager Chad Nathan was very welcoming. Will definitely visit again, the only think would make it better is more food choice in sky restaurant and different menu in sky bar, apart from that will defiantly return, if Chad gives a good deal!!!

Room Tip: try and goo for times square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.