We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good renovation; great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year’s Eve VIP Pkg
Ranked #52 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good renovation; great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed with my family April 7-12. Located in very busy Times Square with major subway stops located half block away. Very large (for NYC) recently renovated rooms. Some rooms are still receiving touch ups. Rooms are located beginning on the 23rd floor, high above the bustle of the street. Yet, if you want to enjoy the sounds of the streets below, open the window. Yet, when the window is closed, you hear silence. On check in, mentioned to desk clerk Martina we were there for our son's birthday. Later that evening, we received a fruit and cheese basket from her for our son. Nice touch. Beautiful view from the room looking north. As a preferred member, we were offered full buffet breakfast each morning and free wireless WiFi. The breakfast server, Francisco was very attentive each morning. Housekeeping was great. Bell staff was very attentive able to hail cabs (quite difficult task on a Street (vs. an Avenue) and during rain) or arrange for Town Car service (which we used to return to the airport). Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor. Less guest traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,105
    269
    79
    49
See reviews for
912
1,074
166
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had the BEST stay at Hilton Times Square. The rooms are great (newly renovated), but it's the staff that make this hotel shine. There were two managers (Sarah Kreiger & Chad Nathan) who went above and beyond to make our visit outstanding. In fact, every employee we came in contact with left a positive impression. Thank you!!! The location is pretty amazing too, in the heart of everything. We highly recommend this hotel - the BEST! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went to new York first time ever with my daughter, hotel was brilliant, rooms were lovely big and clean, staff were brilliant, Lobby was really nice and hotel manager Chad Nathan was very welcoming. Will definitely visit again, the only think would make it better is more food choice in sky restaurant and different menu in sky bar, apart from that will defiantly return, if Chad gives a good deal!!!

Room Tip: try and goo for times square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Hard to believe you are on Manhattan with the friendly professional staff of this hotel. :)

The location is hard to beat. Smack right in the middle of the action of Times Square. As the hotel is elevated from the streets it is a very quiet hotel.

The rooms are large and clean. Looking at some of the other reviews it mentioned that the rooms had been refurbished - all rooms have not yet been refurbished.

Overall this is a great hotel. Yes forgot to mention a pretty hopping lobby bar on top of everything else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is very well placed for all the attrations of NYC. They have just refurbished all the rooms - which are very luxuirous and spacious for a city centre hotel. The rooms were service d to a very high standard.The staff are very helpful - the concerige found a fab little Italian restaurant for us. We would highly recomend this hotel if your visiting New York . we picked a high floor so we couldn't hear any noise from the street.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor - but that good advice anywhere in NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent hotel. Comfortable, neat and well maintained. Good to be right there in the centre of the buzz. Lots of great shops all around. Look down from the window to see lots of people moving around and look out over the view of buildings and also the lights of time square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first stay at this property after staying elsewhere on prior trips to Manhattan.

Checked out Trip Advisor reviews before booking this property.

Special thanks to Chad, Coretta, and Stephanie for their outstanding customer service during our stay.

I booked online ~ 2 months prior to stay. I reached out to Chad (front office manager) shortly after booking to make a few special requests. Chad was very accommodating with all our requests getting us on an upper floor of hotel with a great view of 42nd street. Our room had just been completely renovated (hotel was completing or had completed renovations to all rooms) and was exceptional. Chad's hospitality prior to and during our stay was outstanding.

We arrived late morning on Thursday before Easter for 2 nights. Coretta at the front desk was very pleasant making me feel welcome. Initially our room was understandably not ready at 11:00AM so we walked to a nearby restaurant for an early lunch. I received a call from Coretta ~ 11:45AM that our room was ready (a pleasant surprise). We made the short walk back to get our keys and retrieve our luggage from bell services. Coretta was very helpful arranging for my wife to pick up her own key later (My wife had abandoned me and the 13 year old immediately after stepping off the train at Penn Station and sprinted off to Macy’s).

I mentioned the rooms were just renovated. It is understandable with brand-new rooms and all new appliances there are always going to be a few issues with equipment that are not found until they are used for the first time. I’d like to thank Stephanie at the front desk for her diligence and initiative in getting a very minor issue promptly resolved.

Also a nice health club on 16th floor.

We had a great stay in NY. Thanks again to Chad, Coretta, and Stephanie at the Hilton Times Square.

Room Tip: All the rooms have just been renovated (Spring 2013). Lobby is on 15th floor and all rooms are abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.