We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year’s Eve VIP Pkg
Ranked #50 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Epic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed right in the heart of Time Square.The boys loved being so close to Toys R us. We would at night walk and see all the lights of the big apple and enjoyed every moment.The roos was perfect and the attention from the staff was one of the best I have ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    1,102
    268
    79
    49
See reviews for
911
1,071
166
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great quick service. They really take the time to make your stay great. They go out of their way to make sure u do not have a unpleasant stay. The kind man at the front desk(name is Chad) was very kind and not difficult to work with. He made sure that no problems occurred and was always pleasant to be around. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We trained to New York to escape the Blizzard of 2013 in Connecticut. AAA arranged our hotel based on tripadvisor reviews of this Hilton. I haven't been to NY in nearly 30 years and I was blown away by the friendly staff, the beauty and the enormity of this hotel as well as the location. We had the time of our lives, escaped a blizzard and made some new friends. There is a gentleman named Peter (at the front desk) who helped us every single day and who was a delight. I will be back and I will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hilton TS is in Times Square, no more than 50 meters walking distance.
The entrance is via a very long gallery with one door at 42th st. and the other door at 41th st. , so this gallery has one block lenght.
And where do the porters stay?
In the very center on the gallery, taking care of the elevators entrance - so I am not sure if they are security guards or porters indeed.
Anyway when you get to one of the entrances of the gallery it is always empty of employes, as they sit by the elevator.
Nobody to help with cabs, luggage or shopping bags, mostly in the winter when the guys are not prone to stay outside or near outside waiting for guests.
The whole gallery is absolutey empty, not even a stool for an old person to seat while waiting for someone to arrive or even a transfer to arrive. So if you want to wait for someone stand up and wait period.
Waiting upstairs is the other option, but who will call you there on the 15th? floor as the porters are not at the entrances?
The lobby is somewhere in the middle of the building, I guess around the 15th floor as the elevator has only two buttons, lobby or first floor.
Then you get another elevator to your room.
The lobby has a very dark brownish woody almost tired decoration, but by no way, a beautiful decoration anywhere in rooms or lobby.
The restaurant at the lobby is also very tired, presenting little food choices, of an no more than average quality, so a bad choice to dine unless you feel very tired to go downstairs and dine in one of the hundred choices around TS.
The hotel is a good value but don't expect anything beautiful in decoration to please your eyes.
Hilton is, still, a brand to take care of their name,so I expect a little more of care with the hotel premises and guest welcome at main entrances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear of the missteps in service you encountered and we appreciate your input on our property's decor. We will use your comments in our ongoing training as we strive to provide the best hotel experience possible to each of our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Flew into Laguardia and the fare was $41 before tip (the cabs have credit card scanners in the back seat for convenience). This was a Saturday, so the fare might be more during a weekday (as LGA, unlike JFK and EWR don't have flat rate fares). Was at the hotel at 1:30, well before the 4pm check-in, but was able to check-in right away. Because of our Hilton gold status they gave us an upgrade to a deluxe room on a higher floor (iirc it was the 29th floor facing 42nd.

The rooms are tired, but decent,and clean. The furnishings are reminiscent of a Hilton Garden Inn and could definitely use an update. Of course the bed and bedding are upto date with great bedding Hilton is known for. The floor and direction we were facing worked out excellent for us to watch the cruise ship come into its pier 88 berth.

The breakfast buffet, also complimentary for Hilton Gold and Diamond members was decent, but I'd caution you, it's $28 per person if not included in your room rate or with your status.

Service was excellent and everyone was friendly and helpful. Now, location, location, location, as stated by many, gets top marks. Everything you need is right out the 42nd street entrance. Starbucks across the street. Walgreens (or CVS) right at Time Square for any forgotten items.
Also, TS is noticeably less busy on a Saturday then it was the last time we were there during the afternoon week day.

Overall great experience, the score would be 5 stars when the rooms are updated.

Room Tip: Manhatten Cruise Terminal views are the rooms facing 42nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a business interview scheduled at the Time Square Tower and this hotel was the perfect location. It is within easy walking distance to anything in the Time Square area. The staff were great and extremely helpful to us since we hadn't been in NY for many years. They made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived and easily accommodated our need for a room change when we accidentally were booked for a single bed room and needed a double! I would stay again should the need arise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

just got back from nork york and the times square hilton hotel, just can't speak highly enough of the location of this hotel, just a 1 minute walk from times square, surrounded by food outlets, mcdonalds about 4 shops up so very handy for snacks of breakfast, however we didnt take the breakfast option at the hotel as it was a little steep at $30 per person, we used the diner next door applebys which is reachable via the entrance of hotel using a side door, we all had pancakes,bacon,scrambled eggs coffe's with free fill ups and orange juice for around $65 per day for all of us, set us up nicely for long busy days!

we purchased the NY pass which was brilliant, also added the hopper bus tour to it which was a blessing in disguise, the card gives you upto 70 main attractions in a 3 day period and the bus takes you on uptown and downtown tours which pretty much covers all the top attractions, you just jump off where you want to go ie empire state building see your attraction then go back to bus stop and there will be the bus every 20 mins to carry on the tour, it really is worth it, i think we paid around $200 each for both which was around half the price of what we would have paid if paying at attractions. first day we did, maddam tussauds, central park, national history museum, rockefella centre, easily with the hopper bus, hotel was very clean and staff really good, especially chad who helped us with a roll up bed for our room as we had booked the wrong room, mini bar in room very expensive so we found all be it on the 2nd day a supermarket to get water and snacks etc for the room, that is come out the hotel turn left to the traffic lights and its on opposite corner, decent prices aswell.

we are pizza lovers so we had to find the famous johns pizza resteraunt, OMG what a pizza, and free coke top ups for the kids, best pizza ever, johns is on 44th street, so same directions as the supermarket, turn right at the lights go 2 streets down then turn right onto 44th street, there you will find johns, enjoy!

new york was everything we all dreamed about and more, would like to go back in summer when the tree's are in bloom in central park,

tip if travelling soon, take think jackets hats and scarfs, its bloody freezing, -5 one day on the bus which are open top.

Room Tip: wrap up warm if going in feb and visit johns pizza on 44th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.