We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad New York to your Saves list
Conrad New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekends from $239/night
Ranked #45 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“All around nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The rooms are large, comfortable and contemporary. The lobby is quite striking with a large mobile hanging in the atrium. Staff was friendly and responsive. The location is very interesting with good water views, increasing numer of shops and restaurants and close proximity to Ground Zero. The only downside is that it is a hike to the subway. My biggest complaint is the restaurant. It is very poorly run. The food is average and the staff seemed overwhelmed. There was always a long wait for no apparent reason. The concierge Andy is very good, but he is overworked. They should get him some help. I would highly recommend this property. They did a great job rebranding an Embassy Suites that had good bones.

Room Tip: water view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to hear you had a memorable stay with us at the Conrad New York. I am glad you enjoyed our Lower Manhattan location and felt the staff were both friendly and accommodating. I appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant and staffing levels, and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We will be sure to take your comments into consideration when looking for ways we can continue to improve for our guests' satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    386
    103
    43
    25
See reviews for
381
502
55
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, this can't be denied. However, the level of customer service experienced was saddening. A few friends reserved 2 luxury suites at least 5 weeks in advance of arriving from out of town. When we arrived at the hotel, to our surprise our room was not ready, hadn't been cleaned, the toilet was backed up and overflowed twice! When we called for service we were rudely asked by the overnight runner not to call again for the remainder of the evening due to the fact that we were an inconvenience to him!

The next morning we were promised to be relocated to another room and to pack our belongings, go out for the day and upon our return nothing that was promised had been delivered! Again, our room hadn't been cleaned our bags were still in the middle of the living room. 12 hours had past and nothing had been taken care of!

We went back down to the front desk and was told there was no record on file of what had been promised. We waited all day outside in the cold and snow from 10am-11pm to have our room changed. The next morning the hotel had no hot water! Again, it was about 30 degrees outside and snowing! Great experience! (Not really)

All in all, the hotel staff was pleasant and willing to right their wrongs. The downside was the in inconvenience that we had already experienced and then having to explain the situation repeatedly to 3 different managers in order to be accommodated...at the last minute. Our relaxing weekend that we hoped to experience was ruined!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind words and constructive feedback on your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions as we know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Okay, some of what I will put down is opinion, as this had formerly been our favorite hotel in the world (when it was Embassy Suites NYC). But, I will identify it as such.
1) FACT - at least when we arrived on the North End Avenue side, there was no doorman to open the door or assist us with our large amount of luggage after a European trip.
2) FACT - the reception area has been moved from the ground floor, up to a mezzanine on the second level, so if no one is there to to assist you, you must drag your bags up a substantial number of stairs (where there had been an escalator previously), or up the elevator.
3) FACT - The shower (separate from the toilet and sink) opens directly into the living space, so if you are traveling with children, or someone other than a significant other, you will have to work out modesty issues. (In this case, I was with my wife, but very often, we travel with our children, and this would have been an awkward arrangement). Additionally, the doors to the shower and toilet areas are "swing shut" type doors (ie. they do not close tightly [by design], and there is a gap - again, may or may not be a problem, depending on the person or persons with whom you travel)
4) FACT - We waited 40 minutes for a "maintenance engineer" to come up to our room to assist with a clogged toilet. Particularly irksome since we had been told "...a few minutes", and on a second call, we were told by the operator that she would call back after she got in touch with that "maintenance engineer", to give us an approximate ETA. This did NOT happen.
5) OPINION - They took a brightly colored hotel, with a phenomenal staff, and a lively, convivial atmosphere, and turned it into another generic, business property with earth tones, and pleasant, but robotic and detached staff.
6) OPINION - The Embassy Suites cooked to order breakfast was removed (due in part to the branding change), but replaced by a horrendously overpriced breakfast in a bland restaurant by the name of ATRIA. The HHonors Diamond breakfast only includes a "Continental" breakfast with juice, coffee and a few light items. Bacon was $6 each. Plus, since it is table service, a tip is obligatory - so our "free" breakfast was about $20.
7) OPINION - There are myriad switches all over which control the room lighting from several places; in our opinion, overly complicated, and unnecessary. That said, there was no plug on one side of the bed, in order to charge a phone. REALLY? Fortunately, I had an extension cord.
8) OPINION - The good, family style restaurants have been replaced by high end, trendy (read: expensive) fine dining places ... save for the Pick A Bagel.
9) OPINION - The hotel is understaffed for a hotel which considers itself to be a top tier luxury property.
Overall, we still love Battery Park, and the rooms are still substantially larger than the typical room in NYC. However, they took a good thing and made it very generic.
This particular stay is a points stay, but I would not pay a premium for this hotel.
In the interest of full disclosure, I will say that when I contacted the duty manager about the "maintenance engineer", he agreed that the wait was too long, but that they were "short staffed". No hotel which considers itself to be a five-star property should ever be short-staffed, if anything, there should be an excess of staff members visible to the public. Same goes for the one man bell desk on the lower level. Whatever happened to the days of the desk clerk calling for the "front"?
Summary: Depending on your needs and requirements, you may or may not like this hotel.

Room Tip: ENSURE that you are on the Hudson River side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

So many wonderful things to say about this hotel: great service, spacious rooms, amazing location - this is definitely my hotel of choice when in NYC. My first stay occurred after flying across the country and getting into Newark on the late side. After getting in a taxi and then taking an hour just to get out of Newark Airport, I was tired and irritable by the time I reached the hotel. But service could not have been more prompt, and my room was waiting for me. I was conducting interviews in the library next day - and I could not have been more pleased that it was never chaotic or loud - and plus, it has some impressive artwork that spans the lobby. The hotel's location is perfect - there is a bagel place right outside, Shake Shack as well. Whole Foods is across the street, as is a Starbucks Coffee. It's a short walk to some great Tribeca restaurants - and the views of the Hudson are fabulous from the rooms. All in all - has everything I'd need and the great Hilton name behind the service and amenities. I'll be back in a few weeks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community! We are thrilled you had an exceptional experience at the Conrad New York and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel's location, service and spacious accommodations. We are happy to hear you will be returning again in just a few weeks and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Recently had a great experience staying at the Conrad in the Financial District. Staff was very friendly and quick with service. We were provided an upgraded room without even asking. The lobby and room were both very modern and immaculately clean. Bathroom was very spacious with an extremely large, separate walk-in shower. Espresso machine in-room was a very nice and appreciated touch. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC, whether on business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: High room with a view of the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The guestrooms are spacious and sliding panels allow you to customize the suite. The location is great, in walking distance of the subway (8-10min) and away from major areas of tourists (allowing for a quieter stay). The only negative aspect of this hotel is the service at the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Don't get me wrong, it's nice. But, a five-star Conrad in the greatest city in the world? I expected much more. It is obvious that this was formerly an Embassy Suites, and that is what you should expect. They fancied up the decor a bit, and it's otherwise uninspiring. The location is okay. Not really close enough to a subway station for my taste. Easy walking distance to the 9/11 memorial though. Everyone working there from the front desk to the restaurant seemed at best disinterested and at worst rude. We waited at the rooftop bar for 20 minutes and were never served. I eventually went to the bar to try to order a drink, and they asked where I was sitting. I pointed it out to them, and they said they would be right over. 15 minutes later, we just left. It wasn't even busy! The room is clean and a nice size for the city. I guess my expectations were just too high. I have been a HHonors Gold member for a long time now and am very loyal to the brand. I've stayed in amazing true five star Hilton properties like the Waldorf in Chicago. Let's just say, you can do better than the Conrad New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for flawless service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work for yourself.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#33 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.