We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conrad New York--Good and Bad Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad New York to your Saves list
Conrad New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekends from $239/night
Ranked #44 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Conrad New York--Good and Bad Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed in a suite at the New York Conrad. Accommodations were excellent – large rooms, big flat screen TVs, espresso maker, and comfortable beds. If you like modern, this hotel will fit your eye. I prefer a more traditional look, and so for me the hotel was relatively stark and ultramodern.

You are in the heart of the financial district – this is both good and bad. You're near the water, lots of parks, and World Trade Center. But over the weekends, the area is somewhat shut down since offices are closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities of your guest suite. We also appreciate your candid feedback about the hotel's location, and are happy to hear you enjoyed it overall. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Conrad in the future.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    388
    103
    43
    25
See reviews for
384
506
55
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

All rooms are called suites and have a bed-and living room.
We stayed with 2 smaller kids and was plenty of space for couple of days.
Location is nice even-though you are at the far end, or south of Manhattan. But being able to walk along the shores of the Hudson and Battery Park.
Walking to Soho is do-able and mid town is just a 15-17 usd taxi ride away.

The lobby is spacious, something most NYC hotels lack and the atrium is nice.

Directly around hotels some pretty ok restaurants.

We had booked via a travel agent and we found we had a very good deal incl BF.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were a little hesitant to stay in downtown, away from the hustle and bustle from midtown but this turned out to be an excellent choice. The property is very contemporary with an amazing lobby, we were upgraded to a corner room with views of the Hudson River and the Statue of Liberty, the room had a nice living room with a corner sofa and a wet bar with an espresso machine. Very spacious and comfortable!
As Diamond HHonors we also got free continental breakfast which had several good healthy options including big servings of fresh fruit, fresh pressed juice, nice pastries and yogurt to name a few.
The property has a rooftop bar with the same wonderful views, we were lucky to have sunny skies and warm weather. I have to say, the Conrad was the highlight of our weekend trip to NYC!!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, we got 623 on the SW corner which was very spacious. There was some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are beyond thrilled to hear the Conrad New York was the highlight of your trip to the Big Apple -- Thank you so much for sharing this review. We are really glad you decided to visit Lower Manhattan after some debate, and that our hotel and its location exceeded your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the western edge I the financial district. The biggest "downfall" is would be the proximity to the subway, but it is a short walk. The rooms are spacious for a NY hotel and the staff was very helpful during my stay. Additionally, for me, the beds an pillows were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on in a hotel...which is great after a long day of meetings or sightseeing. If you are a light sleeper, don't worry, the room walls are virtually sound proof. The hotel was completely booked during my stay and i did not hear anything once I was in my room. The room layout is a welcomed change. The rooms are divided between a bedroom and a living room. Both rooms have a TV which is nice. One feature that I enjoyed was the music option. I had the ability to choose the music of my preference from stations around the world. I would be remised if I did not mention how clean the hotel and room were. Normally I will see water spots on the bathroom mirror. I did not see any of the "usual" housekeeping misses. I will say that they did not have an iron or ironing board in the room, which I felt was rather odd considering this hotel is more upscale than most. A colleague of mine requested an iron an iron board and it took the staff about 30 minutes to locate one. However, this is not enough to warrant a poor review...just plan ahead. Lastly, seeing your name on the welcome screen on the TV when you walk into the room is a nice touch. If you have business downtown, consider staying at the Conrad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice size room. Luxury accomodations. Service is good although I think still a little green. Location is really nice.. along the hudson and with the promenade right there. i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Truly enjoyed our suite at The Conrad.

Attention to detail throughout the hotel was beautiful and obvious.

The rooms are very well designed with opaque glass walls to the vanity/bath area and shower; allowing light to move between all of the spaces.

We were surprised with a beautiful view of the Irish Hunger Memorial and the Hudson river through the gap in the buildings. Although our room was only on the third floor, it was quiet.

Accommodating staff and room service was very kind to honor unique requests.

The neighborhood is calm, clean and away from the tourist throngs at the One World Trade Center site (thankfully).

After finding this location, our future travel to NYC will find us searching for rooms at The Conrad. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west - near the main entrance stack have a great view over the Hudson between the build...
See more room tips
Green Features: Only change linens once every three days unless you request a change.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community! We are thrilled to hear you felt at home during your stay at the Conrad New York and enjoyed all of our hotel's amenities, including our Lower Manhattan location. I am also happy to hear you plan on returning and we truly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean, courteous, helpful, QUIET ... the Conrad is exactly all of the things you'd never expect of a hotel stay in the city! The location is very convenient for access to downtown, and the ride to and from Newark International is relatively painless, though still dependent on the individual obnoxiousness of the cabbie. Views of the river are available, a morning jog is recommended for further enjoyment of the waterfront. Ferries are nearby, and panhandling was non-existent, at least during my own stay. 5 stars all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.