We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad New York to your Saves list
Conrad New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekends from $239/night
Ranked #42 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrible Internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As I write this I am experiencing a very very slow Internet connection, something that certainly should not happen in an otherwise very stylish and new hotel. Biz travelers beware. If you need the net for work purposes, best to book elsewhere. The rest of hotel is first rate but their helpline could have a friendlier voice attending to the call.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, General Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Dennis,

Please accept our sincere apologies about any inconvenience you experienced with the internet connection during your stay. I can ensure you this is not typical of our hotel as we have invested a significant amount of resources into the strength and power of our wireless internet connection. We will be sure to investigate further to see why there may have been a connection disruption during the time of your stay, and so we can ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope you will stay with us again at the Conrad New York during your next visit to NYC, whether it is on business or pleasure. Please reach out to me directly if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you,
Robert

Robert H. Rechtermann
General Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, New York 10282
Direct 646-769-4101
E-mail Robert.Rechtermann@Conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    390
    104
    43
    25
See reviews for
390
511
55
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Only thing 5-star is the look of the lobby.
Staying here is like Chinese water torture... one drop of inconvenience, leads to another, and another....

1. Checked in at 1:00pm. Woman at front desk asked me 3 times how many keys I wanted for my room. Each time I answered 2 - guess she wasn't listening?

2. Dark elevator corridor - difficult to read signage.

3. Elevators are key operated and worked sporadically with my keys.

4. Lunch with 3 associates took almost 2 hours in an empty restaurant.

5. Signage is bad. Wasted 15 minutes trying to find an elevator to get to the main ballroom (we had equipment and couldn't take the stairs. Front desk direction lead us to a dead end.

6. NO TOP SHEET on my bed. When I asked staff why I was told "we are a European-style hotel." I have stayed in European hotels and always have had a top sheet. Besides - THIS IS THE U.S. !!!!!!

7. Thermostat set on Celcius. A minor inconvenience, but again... THIS IS THE U.S.!

8. Shower is a weak-streamed shower wand that I have to hold to rinse off. Horrible. WORST SHOW IN ANY HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

9. Because I am working a meeting here I am trapped eating the hotel food. Dinner on first night with associates sent back 3 yellow-tail appetizers... BAD TASTE. Second basket of bread was stale - "ran out of the other bread" was the waiter's reply. Just overall bad food.

10. Desk lamp not working - just found that out as I tried to turn it on while typing this.

11. Ordered room service to be delivered this morning at 5:45 because I have a strict 7:30 call time. At 5:48, there was still no knock at the door so I called room service. The woman said that the server had other orders he had to deliver but she would send him right up. I said "thank you" and she said "No problem?"

Which prompted me to write this review. No problem? Yes there is!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your recent stay with us. We will contact you privately to discuss your stay in further depth, and hopefully find a solution to rectify these issues you experienced.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was there in Jan 2013. Great Hotel, friendly concierge, great service & a quiet location. Loved every moment of my stay; the rooms are superb with amazing view - spacious, clean & spotless. Very modern. Will recommend it to one & all.

Room Tip: Corner suites are river facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for recommending the Conrad New York in your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had a memorable visit and thoroughly enjoyed the location, the rooms and the views. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Conrad the next time you are in New York City.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were there the weekend before Sandy. Although we typically like hotels that are not as modern, we fell in love with this hotel. The room was spacious immaculate and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly, we loved it!

Room Tip: Great hotel and very well thought out rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Conrad is hands-down a fantastic hotel. I'm a former Manhattan resident and typically stay in the midtown area when visiting. Never again. If you're someone who enjoys life south of 14th St., I highly recommend the Conrad. You'll be impressed from the moment you walk into the lobby. Everything about the hotel feels new, modern (but not cold) and comfortable. Guest rooms are larger than most New York 1BR apartments and the amenities are amazing. Battery Park City is a hidden gem - feels like an oasis of calm and green, yet an esy walk to lower Manhattan with connections to subways and buses. I had no trouble finding a cab, even late at night. I had a room on the top floor, so noise wasn't an issue. I heard nothing from neighbors next door. Lots of restaurant options nearby, plus the requisite Starbucks, Duane Read, etc.

The walk-in shower alone is worth the price of admission.

Can't say enough about this wonderful property.

Room Tip: Higher floor, riverview rooms offer amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at the Conrad. The hotel suited us perfectly as we wanted to be away from the crowds. Travelling as a family with two older children, the accommodation was perfect due to the sofa bed in the lounge area. Although not the cheapest hotel, this taken into account, reduced the cost of our stay.
We cannot find any fault with the service in the hotel, all staff being charming and helpful. The decor and standard of the rooms is exceptional but perhaps not to everyone's taste.
Would return in an instant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this review regarding your recent stay at the Conrad New York. We are pleased to hear you had a memorable visit with us and that our guest suite was accommodating to you and your family's travel needs. Having that extra space along with a pull-out sofabed and sliding doors really helps families like yourself avoid having to book a second room. We are thrilled to know you would return in an instant, and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to NYC!

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located in a vibrant neighborhood. There are lots of people around, including many families with children. The walk along the waterfront is beautiful and safe; full of dog walkers and joggers. Blue Smoke is a great bbq restaurant located just outside the hotel. We also ate at the Shake Shack for a quick meal; it was good! The hotel is nicely decorated; the staff is very pleasant and helpful. I have just one complaint: the bathroom in the room is odd. There is very little privacy as there is only a glass partition between the toilet and living room. There is a glass swinging door that does not close completely leading into the toilet or shower (they are 2 separate spaces). To shower, you have to close both glass partitions into the living room and bedroom, unless you know your other guests well enough to step out of the shower au naturel into the hallway! I prefer an old fashioned bathroom, toilet and shower together, with a door that closes completely so I can shower, dress, and then open the door. Other than the odd bathroom arrangement, the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.