We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky & quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris
56 West 120th Street, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky & quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place, spacious, clean, Moroccan-themed room with all we needed - homemade cookies on arrival, kettle, tea/coffee, cups & bowls. Very quiet at night. Comfortable bed. Georgia left lots of printed local information in the room and was on hand in the morning to help with queries. 5 mins walk to subway at 116th or 125th and M1 bus runs by Marcus Garvey Park so easy to get downtown.

Room Tip: We stayed at the other building: 68 West 120th - room 64 at the back - more like a suite with sofa/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    126
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
44
189
45
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for a week in this unique B&B. Immediate after our booking we got a personal mail from our landlady. We felt welcome all the way from our booking till we left the house. Perfectly placed in a quiet street in Harlem. 5 mins from the Subway and only a few stop to Times square. The house is and old town house - neatly restored with a lot of old charm. Our room was heavily decorated with lots of decor, but roomy and with a good bed. The service was top class - especially for a B&B. Only really strange thing was the glass door to the toilet. We enjoyed our stay and will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalunya, Tarragona, Manlleu,.... Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a communication problem, couldn't get in touch by phone, didn't answer the mail quickly once we where already in the city and we arrive with our baggage in the afternoon and had to call again because the door code didn't work.
Finally they solve it.
The room was nice, well decorated with a big bed, tv, ketle, and a small closet, fresh towels.
We shared the tiny bathroom and shower with the rooms on our floor.
We had many tips from the host and homemade welcome cookies.
In general good experience.
They had very nice apartments and rooms there, but with our budget ours was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Białystok, Podlaskie, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed there for two nights during our round US trip. The room itself was really clean, but also tiny - 10 square meters including bathroom ( room 66 ), but anyway was worth money paid.
Furniture and bathroom was pretty new and the AC was working well. Only the parking on the street was a bit of a problem as it was really tight and we've got our car bumper scratched.
It was very noisy during the night, some man was shouting.
Georgia was really kind and provided us with lots of information left in the room together with yummy cookies. Overall experience was great, thanks :)

Room Tip: If You care about space dont get room 66
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi, this was our 1st visit to NYC, we're 3 girls all alone, and we felt very good and safety on this place. We loved the rooms and the decoration, the breakfast is also very nice :). As all the reviews said, the people is very nice, they give you all the information that you can ask for. Georgia is the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights with my 12 years old son. The house is quiet and comfortable, everything is clean and smells good too! Paula is a fantastic guest, every morning at breakfast she has a good and valuable suggestion for everyone, she even bought a cake to celebrate a birthday of one of the guests! I would like to thank her again for being so nice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had reserved well in advance and arrived late afternoon to the west 120th st address, our room was very small and dark, so we were initially quite disappointed, however, there was a huge amount of useful information from Georgia left in our room along with some cookies from a local bakery!

We also got given free breakfast at the location a few doors away, simple but good and free, so on the 2nd day we asked to change rooms; it wasn't possible for that night but for our last two days we were moved to west 123rd street, closer to 125th st metro and that room was amazing! Huge and more like a suite!

We didn't actually get to meet Georgia in person but all the other staff were friendly, helpful and chatty, giving us tips about places to visit in NYC.

We had a couple of issues with the ac not working which were fixed straight away.

My advice would be to stay here and make sure you explore Harlem, if you head more towards 125th St it feels like the real Harlem, we stumbled across Shakespeare in the park, Marcus Garvey park just about 1 min from our place.

Can't think of anything else to add, use the metro, explore Harlem, talk to locals and you'll have a great time. Also take Georgia's advice about visiting Williamsburg as it is a really cool area with lots of funky shops and bars.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 66 in 120west is very small so if you know in advance and are a couple, I would ask for a diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris

Address: 56 West 120th Street, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed and breakfast in a 1890s "New York City" Victorian-era Townhouse. Comfortable, trés stylish rooms. Location: tree-lined street in a less congested area of Manhattan. An unexpected surprise. Ideology: Value, comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Mont Morris
Bed And Breakfast Mont Morris Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Mont Morris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.