We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yotel NYC - good location, good price, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added YOTEL New York at Times Square West to your Saves list
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor 10%OFF
Ranked #117 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yotel NYC - good location, good price, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pretty decent experience at this hotel with my wife recently. Booked under an Expedia deal to include flights & hotel

We stayed there for 4 x nights. The location is great - 42nd &10th about 3 x blocks from Time Square, 42 Bus & Subway terminal - so it's easy to get around.

The hotel is ultra modern so if traditional is your cup of tea then this hotel isnt for you! We arrived on Sunday morning during their "Brunch". Dance music, trendy people, giant drag queens...pretty much every walk of trendy life!

Rooms are pretty basic but if you're only there to sleep & shower then you dont need anything more. The views were great (book an "Executive Room with View") if you want the same. Staff were excellent, especially Catherine at the front desk who was extremely helpful

B&B doesn't really apply to this hotel - free muffins & coffee is all you get however this was fine for us. If you want a proper breakfast you need to pay for it each morning.

One thing to note - if you buy the water taxi tickets from the hotel, these do NOT qualify as real tickets as you still have to queue up in line to get them changed to proper tickets & the hotel is also $1 more expensive. So if you think you're saving time by doing it through Yotel you're not.

If you want to rent bikes to ride around Central Park as we did, Yotel can arrange this for you for $3 vs. the $35 at the Bike & Roll shop. However, these bikes are not as nice as the bike shop ones (more racer like with no gears & harder saddle)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for those seeking something that little bit different)

Room Tip: Try & book the Executive Room with View as this gives wall to ceiling windows look at Husdon Riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear toby s – our concept of simplicity is wholly different from tradition but fully engaging and experiential. The STRADA bike program returns next year (bit too chilly) with a new custom design so reserve at Mission Control and ride in style. Catherine will jump for joy to hear your praise. Come back soon, book your stay @ yotel.com and bring a friend or two. Cheers!
David-Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,856
    1,966
    421
    167
    114
See reviews for
783
2,460
332
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with helpful and friendly employees. Rooms are also great and recreative. I only had breakfast there and this one was delicious. I recommend Yotel and will go back there again on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello 5inha,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us at YOTEL New York. Your comments are wonderful to hear! It’s great to read you have enjoyed the cabins and the creativity put into the construction of them! We look forward to your future return.
Micheal- Director of Cabin Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I love Yotel! Many reviewers warned about the size of the room. The room (premium cabin with a convertible queen bed) was well-designed and has a good a use of space. Yotel makes you feel you're boarding the plane and your first class cabin which is essentially the founder's inspiration to create Yotel. I think I've had the fastest check-in and check-out in my life here. At self check-in kiosk, you can get the room cards from the machine. Then, you direct yourself to the 4th floor and then your cabin. We actually had fun figuring out what's in the room and where to store our luggage. Read the manual!

On a different note, we found the shower faucet was a bit weak. The room can use some new paint after 2 years in operation. The 4th Fl (mission control) layout was a bit confusing, and the decor is somewhat plain and can be better.

In summary, affordable prices, great location (2 blocks from Port Authority subway), free espresso on every floor, complimentary warm muffins on the 4th Fl, free wi-fi. I'd stay at Yotel again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
YOTEL New York loves you too SaranR, and we are excited you will join us as our guest again. Thanks for your feedback on the on the faucet, I will share with my Engineering team. If you would like to mail me your cabin number to sales@yotelnewyork.com, we will get it painted STAT….we strive to keep all of our rooms fresh. See you soon!
Cari-Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had an issue when we booked through a 2nd party site.
Management was very accommodating and fixed the problem immediately!
Would recommend staying here.
Friendly staff and very cool atmosphere for adults.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello LouisBurger007,

Thank you so much for your review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay, and were particularly fond of the heated towel rack and free WiFi! So glad to hear you’ll be coming back – we can’t wait to see you again!

-Rebecca, Online Marketing & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The check-in, check-out process and yobot are, firstly, unconventionnal but exciting new ways to do things and make them simple. Yes, the room is small, but everything is well planned to make every inch of place useful. The mattress is a little hard due to the folding mechanism of the room but I have still sleep very well. Heated towels were so cool!! Finally, free wifi was fully functionnal and at a relatively good speed to do your things. I'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batangas City, Philippines
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The Yotel is perhaps the first hotel I have stayed at where I hardly had any contact with hotel staff. Check in and out at the lobby was via kiosks, which dispensed your key cards as well as processed payment via credit card and issued the receipt. At Four, the coffee and muffin service each morning was certainly a good start but you again had no need to talk to any of the staff as you could just grab and go or sit yourself. There were other breakfast options though I never really partook of such given the wealth of breakfast options nearby. The galley concept was also useful though again everything was automated, the coffee machine, ice and water dispenser as well as the soda vending machine.

The room was small though I have seen much smaller rooms so not a big surprise or issue with me. The fact the bed could fold up made the room appear a bit larger. The soap dispenser concept I have seen as well in several other hotels of this class and I find it to be practical as it avoids wastage of bar soaps and individually packed/bottled shampoos and bath gels. I do think they can design the door panels on the shower better. Between the shower and the loo, there was really no barrier or curtain so tendency was for water to splash and puddle. I have seen a similar design where the door swiveled instead of just sliding. The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept at but it was mostly ok. Noise from the outside was not an issue. My window overlooked 10th Avenue and the corner with 42nd St so could get quite busy. As I was up at the 17th floor, so I suppose it helped from that perspective.

Internet was free and fast and the TV had all the major networks plus a few cable favorites. The hotel is still a few minutes walk from Times Square itself and Theater Row as well as 42nd St Port Authority Bus Terminal and subway station. Dining options abound though as the hotel is in the Hell's Kitchen Area and just across the road along 10th Avenue you could find row upon row of eating places catering to various budgets and cuisines. To me this was the biggest draw for this hotel.

I thought the price was rather high but it was really the standard for the hotels in this neighborhood so no escaping that. I would consider staying here again given similar circumstances in future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear RRGT

We appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned our check in and out process is via kiosk which is one of the things that makes us different from other hotels in NYC. We are present though in the lobby with our Ground Control crew (Bellman) greeting and assisting guests with any needs from reservations, Local restaurants or transportation. We are a technology based hotel however we understand the human touch as well. I also enjoy the complimentary muffins as it is a quick alternative before starting your day here in NYC as well as the great options we have from a vast menu to prepared in front of you omelets. We do have some small cabins however all are efficient as you experienced and we have larger ones ranging at 330 square feet to larger VIP suites. We are currently looking into alternative options for mattress’s as we understand some guests find them to be hard as you mentioned. We are testing different mattress’s and will have new ones placed soon. I am very happy you found us to be convenient and close to all attractions and restaurants.
We hope to welcome you back very soon again.

Elvis- Assistant Director MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fresh and cool hotel, not quite Times Square, but I'll forgive that. Checkin is easy, rooms are nice and clean, good facilities. Only gripe was the price of the drinks in the hotel bar, I would expect those prices in a 5 star hotel, but not one of this budget. You have to check out the yobot, seriously cool! Nice and easy to get a cab outside the front door, and it's a 10 min walk to the subway.

Room Tip: Room with a view gets you a higher up room, not necessarily of Manhattan though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi Davidkn!

You nailed it! Hip and cool as well as relaxed environment is what we attempt to deliver each and every time. Location and view from our cabins are always the talk about amongst our guests. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to see you soon in the Big Apple!

Jose-Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Address: 570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 669 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, FOUR, you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully equipped concierge desk for one stop service 24/7. Also on FOUR is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a state-of-the-art gym, a flexible studio and boardroom for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. YOTEL serves a complimentary breakfast including coffee, tea, and assorted muffins and whole fruit. Guests can also enjoy complimentary hot beverages on each floor, as well as free Wi-Fi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YOTEL New York at Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.