We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small chick hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YOTEL New York at Times Square West to your Saves list
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor 10%OFF
Ranked #116 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small chick hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night cause it was the closest to our wedding location. The hotel staff was nice and friendly. However the rooms are really the size of a cabin. I had a suite with a balcony and the room was realllllllly small. Def. not worth the price. I also had some of my friends staying in regular room, which really even smaller. Great location, great place but the rooms are uncomfortably small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,852
    1,963
    420
    167
    114
See reviews for
783
2,456
331
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rexford, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is pretty cool. Check-in is interesting and completely automated. Once you've checked in you need to go upstairs. I got a bit confused trying to find the elevators to the rooms. Finally figured out I just needed to turn around.

The rooms are pretty interesting and mostly no frills. I had a room with a queen bed and two bunk beds. These rooms would be great for families. There's not a ton of room to store your stuff but adequate if you have a couple suitcases. The bathroom was a bit tight but usable.

On each floor there's a room where you can get coffee and water. Was nice to have. The coffee machine on my floor was broken one day but they were quick to fix it.

At the right price (and they constantly have deals) this place is great for families, business travelers and even just tourists. It's not a bad walk from the Times Square area. It's not too far from Port Authority where you can grab the A, C, E subways.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Scott P, thank you for taking the time to drop us a line and fill us in on your stay at YOTEL! We’re thrilled you had a great stay, and had fun with our automated check-in. So sorry for the elevator confusion. With so much cool stuff to absorb in our Lobby, like Yobot and the kioks, it’s totally understandable. Glad you got the hang of it though! Sounds like you stayed in our Premium Cabin with Double Bunk. The bunk beds are definitely fun and you are absolutely correct; families do love them. It’s also really convenient as these cabins are located right off the ‘Galley’, so there’s always to time to stop in and pick up a coffee, or maybe even those leftovers from dinner you stored in our guest fridge. We pride ourselves on our concept of affordability and uniqueness, and are very pleased you found value in staying with us. We look forward to having you back soon; if we can be of any help in getting ready for your next visit, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com. Thanks again Scott P!
-Jennifer, Cabin Crew Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Unique hotel with special design and atmosphere. The room is very well equipped, even with aux cable to connect portable devices to the TV. Very hi-tech hotel. There are automatic check in and check out and even a robot to store the bags. The only problem was that the door between the bathroom and the rest of the cabin was not sealed...

Room Tip: Pick a room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After reading some good reviews we wanted to see if they were true and stayed 3 nights at Yotel.

This hotel exceeded our expectations and we loved the futuristic decor. The best things about Yotel besides the cleanliness and good service were the bar/lounge, the balcony restaurant and hi-tech features in every bedroom.

The location is also excellent, just a few blocks away from Times Square so it's perfect for tourists. If you get a room with river-side view you will be amazed! I got great pics.

Room Tip: Ask for river side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is new with a chic and modern decoration. The room is simple but perfect for my stay. It is located in a very good location, with a walking distance to the bus terminal and Times Square. I also love a roof top lounge and bar.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited this hotel during hurricane Sandy in Oct 2012 and both of us completely agree that the service we received during this event was excellent!

This was my first experience of New York and I will without a doubt be booking this hotel again if I ever they the opportunity to visit again!
Based very closely to Times Sq , we couldn't fault the location of this Hotel and this enabled us to travel by foot on the days were were not confined to our room!

Whilst the room we had was on the small side, this did not detract from the fact that this hotel was perfectly suited to anyone looking to stay in a trendy modern hotel!
The beds retract from more space during the day, but to be honest in a city such as new York, very little of your time is spent in the room.
The toilet/shower walk in is linked to the bedroom and separated by a curtain- so this may not be ideal unless you know the person you are staying with very well! I'm not sure how this works for a twin room. The privacy issue wasn't a massive problem for us...but I guess for some people it MIT be.
The room was spotless and decorated to a high standard with some quirky extras. Purple night lighting, Bose speakers/iPhone speaker, flat screen tv and satellite, etc...
We were originally only booked for 4 nights but due to our flights being cancelled the hotel extended our stay for a further 4 nights with very little hassle. We kept our room and complimentary lunch and films were put on in the hotel for those who were stuck in the storm.
Everything ran as normal which was very reassuring considering the circumstances.

Without a doubt I would 100% recommend to anyone staying in New York! Loved it and cannot wait to return!!!
The staff deserve all credit for the hard work they put in during the storm!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view- we did and managed to get the Empire State Building in our skyline view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. We were not disappointed as the yotel was excellent. In a good location 10 minutes slow stroll to Times Square, the room was a good size with lots of well thought out storage space. A really spacious shower and the loo was not a problem in terms of privacy and you could see the Manhattan sky line whilst you were seated or you could close the curtains!!

In the morning you may have to wait for the lift for 5 minutes but why rush when you are on holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a premium view room to be on 22nd floor or above; it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Address: 570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 669 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, FOUR, you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully equipped concierge desk for one stop service 24/7. Also on FOUR is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a state-of-the-art gym, a flexible studio and boardroom for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. YOTEL serves a complimentary breakfast including coffee, tea, and assorted muffins and whole fruit. Guests can also enjoy complimentary hot beverages on each floor, as well as free Wi-Fi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YOTEL New York at Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.