We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YOTEL New York at Times Square West to your Saves list
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10-15% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #123 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Viareggio, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One week stay in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My stay in the hotel was execellent! Everything was really good... I can't say anything bad! The room was clean, the crew was really kind and the service was very good! Also the quality of the sleep was good... I suggest strongly this hotel also for the position, 5 minutes walk from Times Square!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,159
    2,205
    466
    184
    121
See reviews for
862
2,741
386
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and it's fair for the price and really took full use of the tight space, but the daily cleaning space was just ok, cuz they didn't change the toliet paper stuff or give you daily bottle of water and hope this can be improved one day.

Room Tip: Definitely need pay extra $17/per night to upgrade the room otherwise couldn't imagine how small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Small rooms and unhelpful staff, we had a last minute issue with luggage that was not well explained on web site or by staff beforehand. Also some issues with change of stay and related costs. A bit too much, and at times too loud, ambient music everywhere but in rooms. Rooms fine and public spaces nice also, but they need to clarify their policies and also offer some space for left luggage particularly for foreign guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great friendly staff, they were so sweetnthat I ended up having a conversation with at least three staff members at the yotel! The galley is undoubtedly the best feature, a sort of a kichenette, with free coffee machine that serves you coffee of all sorts - yes, for free! You can also grab a hot chocolate from the machine or make yourself a hot cup of tea.

The lounge and the studiYo club was great with a dark purple ambiance and lights. I found it funny how the housekeepers would refer to themselves as 'cabin crews' as the rooms are designed to give an aeroplane feel.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. What i did not like about the hotel, umm, i think they need to work on their breakfast menu and diversify the choice of food. I was kinda stuck with cereals and muffins because I cannot eat pork cause of my religious preferences. However, i feel that's too small an issue to consider, as compared to the stay that was offered!

Plussss, how can I forget! Great great location! Just two blocks away from the main 8th av, 42nd street, Times Square! Lots of places to eat all around it, be it food stalls, restaurants, bars etc.

Hope u have as much fun as i did :).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had never stayed in a Yotel before and was looking forward to it after seeing pictures on their website.

The hotel was situated perfectly for our stay, only a short 5 min walk to Times Square. The taxi driver couldn't find our hotel to start off with (a lot of them wanting to know both the main and cross-streets) so it would have been helpful for the website to state 10th avenue and W42nd.
Upon arrival, the bell boy was friendly, polite and more then helpful, he helped us check in too (thouogh it wasn't hard).

The room was brilliantly laid out, the lighting and compact nature of the room made it appear very futuristic. I loved the electronic fold out bed/sofa seat and teh back lit bathroom mirror (which is only a knob on the front of the mirror - you wouldn't know it was a switch!)
My only critisism of the room was although we were expecting a compact cabin - there is literally nothing separating the bathroom from the bedroom apart from a curtain wall - and if one of you've been partaking in some of the NYC delicacies.......you catch my drift! >.<

Each floor has a galley where you can help yourself to drinks (water/tea and coffee are free) and there are muffins each morning on the 4th floor. There is also a bar and a gym, though we didn't use either of them).

Despite the hotel being more on the outskirts of Manhattan (not far from the motorway) our view was still impressive from the 15th floor and there wasn't any noise.

I would definitely stay in another Yotel, the staff were great and the overall feeling in the hotel is quite a chilled out and relaxed atmosphere. We paid a little extra for a car direct to the airport on the way back rather than hailing a cab - they looked after our cases when we checked out and the car was early and actually waiting for us when we left - at a pre-set price.

Ideal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My first trip to NYC and Yotel was perfect!! Rooms are small but it was expected. We got a great deal. I loved the body wash for day & night!! The Yobot was so cute also! The service was amazing! We asked for a late check out. Check out is 11am and we were told we could stay until 1pm!!!!

Only downside. This hotel really isn't in Times Square but it's a close 10 min walk!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I got a great rate from Hotwire - $143 on a Thursday night. It's kind of out of the way - 42nd St & 10th Ave, which used to be all trucks and warehouses but has been redone into gigantic skyscraper apartment buildings and lots of fun dining on 9th Ave. But far enough not to be bothered with all the tourist crapola of Times Sq.

You check in with a terminal, no front desk people, and are directed to the 4th floor, which is Headquarters Central, with a nice Japanese-ish small plate restaurant and then you take another elevator to your "cabin". It is a bit like a cruise cabin but (thankfully) larger. Perfect for one, might be a bit crowded for more. Nice glass door and curtain separates bathroom from main cabin. Plenty of storage and immaculately clean. Great view of the West Side from Room 2034. Very comfy bed which goes up or down depending on your desire to sleep or read. Nice bathroom with -MY FIRST EVER - heated towel rack!!!

Room temp was perfectly set at 67 degrees, needing no adjustments. Pretty quiet except for occasional hallway noise, with none from adjacent rooms.

The only things I missed were the usual little pad of paper with the hotel logo and there was no light over the bathroom mirror. But very minor quibbles as Yotel is an interesting choice, very futuristic and fun. Nice complimentary muffins and coffee in the AM. If you have a choice, go during nice weather - it was too snowy to hit what looked like an amazing deck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Address: 570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 669 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, FOUR, you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully equipped concierge desk for one stop service 24/7. Also on FOUR is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a state-of-the-art gym, a flexible studio and boardroom for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. YOTEL serves a complimentary breakfast including coffee, tea, and assorted muffins and whole fruit. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary Wi-Fi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YOTEL New York at Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.