We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YOTEL New York at Times Square West to your Saves list
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor 10%OFF
Ranked #117 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good central location in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for a week while sightseeing in New York. It had an excellent location (right down the street from Times Square), very clean rooms and used the space exceptionally well in a modern style. Staff were very helpful, free coffee and muffins on offer in the morning, anda decent exercise room. Great value for money, would certainly stay here again.

Only downside was that the toilet and shower room don't have their own walls so there isn't much privacy if sharing a room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,851
    1,961
    419
    167
    113
See reviews for
782
2,452
331
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

First, I do want to say that overall our experience at the Yotel was positive. It is a fantastic value with some very nice touches. But there were just enough little problems that prevent me from giving 5 stars.

On the positive:
- Rooms are nicely laid out. Good space for the price.
- The galleys have free filtered water and a free Lavazza machine for coffee and espresso drinks on demand
- Rooms were clean, and housekeeping was efficient
- Every staff member we interacted with were very friendly and helpful

Neutral:
- White decor showed dirt and scuff marks. It is hard to overlook the suitcase scrapes or wear in the spot where the door handles touch the wall.
- Beds are firm. YMMV. We were OK with it, but I can see where others would hate it.

On the negative:
- We had an odor coming from the bathroom - sort of methane odor. While the staff tried to solve it by leaving an ozone machine in the room, that just covered the odor and didn't eliminate it. This was a huge turn off.
- Breakfast service for the non-self-serve sucked. Every thing from messed up orders to 5 of us getting our meals randomly over a span of about 25 minutes.
- Reading light in the room had a short and would flash.
- Coffee machine's "spent capsule" bin was often full, meaning you couldn't use the coffee machine.

In the end, what bugged me was that the negatives were really "attention to detail" type problems that are easy to fix. The sheer number of them detracted from the overall experience, which had the potential to be very good.

In the end, I'd still recommend them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at the Yotel from the 2nd Decemeber until the 8th, No complaints about the hotel it was fantastic! The room was spotless and cleaned everyday the bed is amazing and very comfortable, the hotel staff were more than helpfull and very welcoming. The hotel is very funky and modern the free coffee and muffins for breakfast were lovely, we also paid for a breakfast one morning which was very nice.The hotel is not far from Times Square just a short walk away. We would recommend if you want to see a show on broadway to book the tickets before you get to New York (as long queues and can only book tickets for the same day) We loved Maddam Tussards which is also just a short walk away it was fantactic especially the 4D cinema!! If you go to Macys take some ID with you as they will give you a visitors card which gives you 10% off on all purchases!! Overall this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I typically do not write bad reviews because I give an establishment the benefit of the doubt, assuming that at times service is not delivered as intended. With that being said- a few weeks after my stay at the Yotel I am still so displeased that I feel compelled to write a review.

We called for early check in and were told our room was ready. Upon arrival not only was our room not ready but they overbooked and "upgraded" us- however I am not convinced the room was an upgrade. We did not receive this upgraded room until 2 hours after we had arrived (late for even our normal check in time).

When we arrived to the room it was very cramped and lacked almost all common hotel necessities(ice bucket, fridge, normal smelling soaps ect). Our bags took 2 phone calls to "mission control" and an hour to arrive to our room. There were only 2 towels in the bathroom(they knew we had 3 people staying), when we called for more it once again took 2 phone calls and at least an hour for extra to arrive.The mattress could hardly be called a mattress. A futon would be an extraodinary upgrade from this "bed".

Then the shower experience (the icing on the cake, forcing us to leave). There was no edge on the shower to prevent the water from flowing out. It leaked onto the bathroom floor, which there was no drain for the water to go down. It then leaked onto our bedroom floor. After the first person showered we reported the problem to mission control- they seemed to care less. An hour later an "engineer" arrived and looked at it and explained it was a flaw with the hotel design and to just keep showering. We requested to switch rooms because the flooding was so inconvenient and they told us all rooms would be like that. By the third person it was almost impossible to get into the bathroom and shower due to the water buildup. Not only would constant flooding have obvious adverse effects on the building structure itself there are obvious liabilities with a person slipping and falling. I am baffled by their lack of concern for this particular issue and wonder how long a company can effectively run a hotel with this judgement.

The staff presented themselves as inept, did little to compensate for everything that went wrong and was incredibly careless. Overall this was a disaster of a stay and we checked out before staying the night. I would and have told everyone I know to avoid the Yotel at all costs.

Room Tip: If the bathroom is handicap accessible (despite the fact that the room does not appear to be) the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... M, Director of Operations at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the issues you encountered with us during your stay; from your delayed check-in to the cause of your early departure. There is simply no excuse for making guests wait as you did, and for not following up on your requests. We do try to accommodate all guest requests within 15 minutes and we are sorry that this was not the case with you.

Based on your feedback, it appears that you were upgraded to one of our larger cabins, which happens to be designed for ADA. Where the showers are designed as “roll-in showers” for the purpose of those in wheelchairs, there is a drain that is adequate for drainage. We have investigated all the cabins in that line and have corrected the drainage issue. More disturbing, was the lack of care and concern that we showed you when you brought it to our attention by not sending an Engineer up straight away to fix the problem.

We are sorry that you had such a negative experience with us and appreciate your feedback. We would like to make it up to you by inviting you back as our guest for a weekend stay should your travel plans bring you back to New York. Please feel free to contact me directly at Deborah@yotelnewyork.com and I will take care of all the arrangements and ensure you a much different experience.

We do hope to hear from you and welcome you back to YOTEL New York.

Sincerely,
Deborah Lunn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed one week and very lucky that it was with someone that could stay in the room while using the bathroom and shower. Bcs u have to leave the room if u need privacy when using bathroom and shower. Its just made really stupid, but I guess they like to call it fancy.

Small rooms, but good shape, except for a strange smell from the plastic sheets.
When I booked it said incl continetal breakfast, that was not true at all. U get coffee and a cupcake!

Overall with the price and and 5-10min to Times Square its a good choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Awesome hotel. I will stay there again. Right down the street from Times Square. Now, how awesome is that. Super price for the location. Couldn't have chosen a better one. Only drawback - the mattress could have been softer, it was very hard and there could have been more food on my plate for the price. Had to get a gyro from down the street to satisfy my hunger. However, other than those two items I love the theme, cabin crew, mission control,....the theme goes throughout. Very helpful staff. I will be back!.....

Room Tip: The view on 42nd Street was just awesome....all about NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Really nice hotel in NY, very modern & original. A real experience. It is also a must to try their oriental restaurant, delicious and very affordable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Address: 570 10th Ave, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#23 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 669 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, FOUR, you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully equipped concierge desk for one stop service 24/7. Also on FOUR is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a state-of-the-art gym, a flexible studio and boardroom for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. YOTEL serves a complimentary breakfast including coffee, tea, and assorted muffins and whole fruit. Guests can also enjoy complimentary hot beverages on each floor, as well as free Wi-Fi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YOTEL New York at Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.