We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cozy place and kind service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danji

Danji
346 W 52nd St, Frnt 2, New York City, NY 10019-6218
212-586-2880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #340 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, cozy place and kind service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A very pleasant restaurant, with good cocktails and a very interesting menu - pick your selection of small dishes to share from the two menus with traditional and modern korean food.

Don't leave without trying the pork!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    56
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious Korean tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We managed to bag a table here early on a Monday evening. The food was delicious. Staff delighted and attentive. We even took our kids age 4 and 9. The ginger margarita were to die for, the sliders and calamari went down a treat for the kids. Whilst we loved the spicy wings, salad and the fish stew and beef rib. We ordered too much... We just couldn't decide. When we left the queue was out the door... Says it all!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cozy Korean in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Go for the spicy giner margaritas as they were great with the Bulgogi sliders, spicy wings and kimchi trio. We will be back here next visit in NYC. Excellent service on a busy Friday evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Korean food that a Korean would eat!...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

You always have to be skeptical of any type of Korean fusion or upscale Korean restaurants because they usually tend to try to appeal to the masses. Which usually translates into bland and boring interpretations that cater to a Western palate. Danji is neither. The food has "Seoul" and the interpretations and flavor profiles are spot on for Korean food. The Su Jung Kwa cocktail was delicious, I had two. The mushroom jook, or rice porridge had the perfect consistency and was really tasty. Bulgogi sliders and tofu for starters and the trio of kimchi which was perfectly ripe, and the poached sablefish which was cooked perfectly. I'm going to go back and try some of the other things but was very happy with this order. TIP: They don't take reservations so either get their early or be ready to wait!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good Korean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had been told about this place by friends; the first night we tried we were too late, but we were able to have drinks and they were very good. I had their Su Jung Kwa and loved it. We went back the next night and had dinner and found the food very fresh and very good. We sampled several of their plates and also had a bottle of delicious Sancerre. We would go back again if only we were closer!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danji also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Danji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.