We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better second time around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Rocco

San Rocco
37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010 (Flatiron District)
212-255-4655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,330 of 11,213 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: btwn 5th. and 6th.
Transit: N,R train at 23rd. and 5th. Ave. F train at 23rd. and 6th. Ave. 5,6 train at 23rd. and Park Ave.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Much better second time around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The first time we came here we were not impressed by the quality of the food. We were very pleased with the service and admired the presentation.
We came back for the 2nd time, mainly because they let us take our dog with us and its in the neighborhood, and we were pleasantly surprised because everything we had was good. The service was still good and so was the presentation which was impressive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good neighbourhood italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Small and cozy restaurant with great service and food. Small outdoor patio on quiet street. Home made pasta a must.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Make sure Rocco is there before ordering...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The service and food quality are great if Rocco is there to supervise the staff. We stayed at the hotel next door and had breakfast there every day for a week plus one lunch and one dinner. The menu has lots of choices for meats, pastas and seafood plus they have an extensive wine list. Their hot breakfast is a very good value - if Rocco is there. We noticed that everything was perfect when he was on the premises, otherwise the wait and cook staff would screw up a 3 item order.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

You have to have a taste for that type of cuisine...It wasnt what I liked.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pasta in a hip lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was a great find, conveniently located quiet restaurant with wonderful service. The food was very good, especially the pasta and the decor was very modern and attractive. The service was impeccable.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Rocco also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Rocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.