We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BONCHON wannabe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyochon

Kyochon
319 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
212-725-9292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kyochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,063 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 32nd St
Transit: We are conveniently located near the 34th St Herald Square Subway Stop which includes the B, D, F, M, N, Q, R and PATH trains.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“BONCHON wannabe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good fried chicken...not as good as Bonchon! BonChon has more taste and is more crispy! Just to make sure I wasn't losing my mind, I grabbed a 6 piece of both Kyochon and Bonchon wing both Garlic Soy flavor since they were located next to each other across the street from the Empire State Building for a taste test in my hotel room. Can't lie though...Kyochon has way better take out packaging than their competitors...but the taste has to go to Bonchon!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would eat there again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We walked into this place simply because our hotel was right around the corner and we were pleasantly surprised. Very modern decor, nice staff, we were served quickly, nice crowd and atmosphere, the food was excellent (we had a rice bowl) and the prices are ok. Considering the difficulties one can have when attempting to find a good place to eat in NY without a recommendation from a local person, this was indeed an excellent accidental discovery. The next day I went back there and got a grill chicken salad to go and it was also very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Great accidental find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The line at Shake Shack was so long that we decided to walk until we found something we liked. Good thing we did, because the food at Kyochon Chicken was delicious, fresh, and filling. The have salads, wings, rice bowls, and sandwiches for decent prices. Order at the counter, then have a seat upstairs. Be sure to sample the sauces from the condiment station.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Portions are a bit small, but you just have to know what to order”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I realized that the portions were a bit small. The secret is to get the side of rice. The rice was a perfect filler and great for calming my tongue from the hot wings.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and still hungry !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Was told it was great for wings , ordered 15 pcs for 18.99 and wife had bed of lettuce and 4 strips of chicken for 11.99 called soy sal sal , in the end we were still were hungry and mad at the price we had to pay I would rather eat the wings at hooters than this place I'm a big tipper but not this time very disappointed .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyochon also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kyochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyochon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.