We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant

Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant
West 46th Street, (between 8th Ave & 9th Ave), New York City, NY 10036
(646) 455-0705
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,307 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stumbled upon Smyrna while looking for something a little different. Though it doesn't look like much, it will become a new favorite. We were immediately served warm bread which was tasty. The cucumber salad was amazing. I'm still raving about it 24 hours later. The entrees were also well made and delicious. Can't wait to go back and try more of the menu.


Service was incredible. They were attentive without being pushy or bothersome. Took their time to explain menu items and gave us enough time to decide. They also score points for not rushing us out of there like so many places in the city.

A great meal and even better environment. First class operation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Turkish cuisine is a rarity for us so it's hard to compare to similar places but Smyrna was very good for us. We got there early because of an early show and were of course seated immediately. Service was quick and attentive. Our waiter was well versed in the menu and could make comments on every dish we asked about, and seemed to be quite evenhanded.

The food itself was tasty and I guess it was authentic. Hard for us to tell. But it was an enjoyable meal with no complaints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Service was bad.
There was only one waitress and place was empty. One more guest was sitting down.
They brought lentil soup which was cold and then went to reheat it, it took 15 minutes!!!
Cigare burek not crispy enough.
All te food seems like was not prepare fresh but only reheated.
We won't come again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

very trraditional turkish restaurant, decor is nothing special but the wait staff are very attentive and the food speaks for itself, very well prepared and served. Some very tasty dishes here... we come here every time we are in NYC

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I have just discovered how good Turkish food is!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had dinner here during our visit to NYC. We randomly picked this restaurant, honestly, I didn't know what to expect about Turkish food... the menu looked good and I knew that we couldn't go wrong with mediterranean food, so we gave it a try.

We where greeted to the restaurant, got a table; service was really nice with a good ambiance. There is a large selection on the menu and for the appetizer we shared the Mixed Appetizer Plate (lebni, babaganush, hummus, tabouleh, eggplant salad). What a nice plate!! Everything was so good and the bread was fresh and very good too. I got so inspired already with that entree. Don't really remember what I got for the main plate, but it was very good.

All that to say, I recommend this restaurant. And because I love cooking, my experience at Smyrna opened my curiosity and it brought me to buy a Turkish cookbook!

I am giving a 4 out of 5 for the rating, because in order for me to give a 5 to a restaurant, it was to be really really outstanding... for that reason, 4 means very good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.