We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub and restaurant food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McFadden's Restaurant and Saloon, New York City

McFadden's Restaurant and Saloon, New York City
800 Second Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)
212-986-1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,756 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good pub and restaurant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had dinner at McFadden's one night and the food was excellent. My wife had a penne pasta dish and I had a lamb sheppard's pie which was delicious. Lots of good beers on tap....
Be prepared for a fairly noise environment.....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Noisy and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Service was quick. The place is small and fills up fast. The food was good as far as burgers and wings. The salad and shepherds pie was nothing special. The prices were good. They ran a $1 beer special the night we were there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

So our group of about 10 went to McFadden's because Calico Jack's next door was playing insanely loud music. The first time we looked in at 6 pm, McFadden's was relatively quiet. But by 7:30 pm, the crowd at the bar was huge and the noise was almost as high as next door. We said we had a group and were told several times that if we wanted to sit at a table, we had to order food. Fine, we said, then what seemed to be a single waitress for the dining room didn't come close to our table for quite a while. The dining room was never more than one-third full. We had bar food for the table - fried calamari, chicken wings and chicken fingers that were ok, although the chicken fingers were on the dry side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The old time pub feeling with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The restaurant is usually very busy at lunch time and after 5:30pm weekdays-especially if a big game is on. The crowd is YPM and YPW. The establisment is like an old time pub with a bar and a divider for eating. The food is very good and not that expensive for Manhattan prices.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food very average service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Food was good quality. However service very average, tip added with bill, waitress Danielle started clearing the table before we'd all finished. No real interaction! Felt like wiping off the tip. Felt sorry for the chef, great steak, just let down by serving staff. Day 4 in NYC and the worst service by a mile.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFadden's Restaurant and Saloon, New York City also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to McFadden's Restaurant and Saloon, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McFadden's Restaurant and Saloon, New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.