We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful dessert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sprig - CLOSED

Sprig
885 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
212-249-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 53rd & 54th Streets
Transit: Take E & M trains to Lexington Avenue-53rd Street or 6 Train to 51st and Lexington Ave Station with convenient exit at 53rd St.
Description: SPRIG, a unique restaurant located in the north end of the lobby of the landmark Lipstick Building, brings the essence of Northern California cuisine to Midtown Manhattan. With a seasonal focus and support of purveyors from the tri-state area, the restaurant menus are touched with "sprigs" of simple genius plated to please the eye.
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Most beautiful dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Sprigs is a bistro-style restaurant. I had lunch there during the week last time I was in New York. The food is really good, fresh, tasty, light, and satisfying. For lunch they have a variety of salads, pasta, sandwiches… the best part was the dessert. A picture is worth a thousand words. I am just going to say that it is as good as you see it here or even better. Great place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were there a thursday afternoon for an early dinner. We became positively surprised, it didn't look so fancy from the outside but the inside was really nice!
Housed in the lobby of the Lipstick Building in Manhattan, the restaurant has an astoundiung ceiling height and acoustics. Soft jazz was playing when we came in around 6pm and there were a lot of tables avaliable, but they filled up fast soon after our arrival.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The place isn't snooty, but rather casual and yet sophisticated.

We ordered Garlic grilled chicken and Lobster and forest mushroom linguini respectively and found both dishes to be very good. The pasta was not al dente, but for me personally, that's a plus, although it may not be for everyone.
The desserts were also very nice and they have an adequate selection of wines in my opinion. Around ten red, ten white and five sparkling plus a couple of rosé, enough to fit the menu. The wines were both European (Italy, Argentina et.c.) and American.

Maybe a bit pricey, depending on what you expect, but the location and the surroundings is worth it I think.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had previously been to Sprig for a delicious Restaurant Week meal so my wife and I decided to visit for dinner. We were pleased that we did. Our meal started with a nice California Chardonnay. We then ordered a Crostini sampler. Note: The waitress said they were "bite-size" so we ordered 3 each. They are larger than we expected and 3 would have been enough to share. In any event, they were delicious. For entrees, we each ordered the Ahi Tuna Nicoise Salad. It was beautifully served and very tasty. My wife felt that the tuna was too peppery but it was just fine by me. I'm sure they could make it without pepper if asked. All through dinner, jazz was playing in the background, adding to the cozy feeling of the evening. Since Sprig offers a seasonal menu, we look forward to coming back to see what they will have to offer for spring.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Meals in the Lipstick Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had one lunch and one dinner here during a business trip because of its convenient location. The lunch was a prix fix during restaurant week and included a small appetizer with goat cheese, a salad Nicoise, and a small slice of cake with ice cream for dessert. Every item was delicious, including the strong coffee. For dinner I had grilled salmon and vegetables that were both made beautifully. The service was polite and efficient for both meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“sprig is a keeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

headed to sprig on third ave and 53rd st to celebrate a cousin's birthday. it's very spacious and is in the lobby of the lipstick building. was a freezing cold night so was so great to get out of the cold into a lovely restaurant with happy competent staff. we had a glass of wine and nibbled on some popcorn at the bar before dinner. table for 5 with a vegetarian included. menu had some additional entrees not on the website. Jamón de Serrano & Warm Goat Cheese Salad, brussel sprout salad, soup, duck, pasta, beef all delicious and nicely presented. outstanding wine to boot. we all decided we would return to sprig.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprig also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.