We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in TriBeCa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canal Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Canal Park Inn to your Saves list
The Canal Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (TriBeCa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in TriBeCa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed in the Kennedy room for 4 days and loved every minute! After walking the city on cold December days it was great coming back to the warmth and coziness of the Inn. Sarah greeted us upon arrival and we were treated great from then on. The breakfast was delicious in the Playhouse and Kipp helped us out a lot with our first experience in Nyc. Even learned a little of the history of the neighborhood. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
63
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Quaint, historic Inn only 2.5 blocks from the #1subway line (with stops in Greenwich Village, Chelsea, Times Square, Columbia University, etc.). The rooms are lovely, well-equipped and QUIET. Breakfast is very nice with a good selection and excellent quality. Sheets were the softest I have ever felt! We have found our pied-a-terre in Manhattan!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Canal Park Inn on a nippy November weekend. We came up for a concert at the nearby City Winery (fabulous) and a weekend of exploring (such fun), and it was great to have a suite to return to when we were ready to put up our feet.

We stayed in the Sinnott Suite in this charming 19th-century row house. The bedroom is the size of many entire NYC hotel rooms -- plus there is a separate sitting room, bath, and kitchen area. The building is delightfully quirky with low ceilings, exposed brick work, wood floors and operable windows.

Breakfast downstairs was tasty with nice options, and our hosts were friendly and helpful. It was easy to set out on foot to explore -- and when the time came to check out, they helped us with a car service to the airport (cheaper and less stressful than the cab that brought us in).

This is not the place to go if you thrive on glitz and glamor. But for a quiet retreat in a bustling city, the Canal Park Inn can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Canal Park Inn for our wedding ceremonies which were held in Tribecca. The Batsby room was exactly what we were looking for. The room was spacious, clean, and charming. We loved the outside terrace. Kipp Osborne was our host and couldn't be more accommodating. We highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in lower Manhattan.

Room Tip: We loved the Batsby for its outdoor veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Canal Park Inn in November 2013. Built in 1826, the Inn's rooms instantly provide a glimpse into old New York City, while convenient to the villages and a scenic riverside stroll. Our hosts were friendly and helpful; the breakfasts are simple, yet delicious and filling. We would definitely return to the Inn on a return trip to NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sinnot suite, which has loads of character by virtue of its narrow "living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Clean quiet comfortable room in a charming old building with exceptional service. Rooms are away from the street and associated noise. Short walk from the subway. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. The quintessential B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We can't praise the CP Inn highly enough. The staff were equally welcoming and charming to the adults and to the teenagers in our party. The Batby Room was really comfortable, spotlessly clean and of excellent quality and the apartment had everything we needed. The location worked really well for sightseeing in a this lively and fascinating part of town and is close to a variety of subway stations. Thanks, Team, you are doing a great job!

Room Tip: Canal Street is a major thoroughfare, but we were not disturbed by noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canal Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Park Inn

Address: 508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Canal Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the border of Soho and Tribeca, our landmarked 1826 Canal House is ideally situated for experiencing the best New York has to offer—and still having a quiet place to call home at the end of the day. Surrounded by 5-star restaurants and a block away from the landscaped parks, open grass, tennis courts, and stunning sunsets at the Hudson River Park, we strike a perfect balance between nature and culture.The Osborne’s have owned 508 Canal Street since 1980. In this building, they raised their daughter, providing the building with family history built into the very walls. (Behind a renovation wall on the top floor of the building is hidden a mural painted by children at a particularly creative third birthday party.) The beds and several end tables in the Inn were built by Kipp Osborne, coming from the days when he and his wife, Margot, were furniture makers in Soho and Tribeca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Canal Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canal Park Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canal Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.