We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for downtown stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canal Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Canal Park Inn to your Saves list
The Canal Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect location for downtown stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Sarah and Kip were warm, welcoming and helpful. Accomodations were clean, comfortable, and space was well organized with all amenities. Access to all downtown locations ideal and public transportation to uptown within walking distance. Great area for walkers, bikers along the Hudson River.
Herb and Joy (Sept 2013)

Room Tip: Denot suite was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
57
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a place! Who knew Manhattan could have such a cool place to stay! A real bed & Breakfast in the Village. Sara and Kipp are great hosts. They make you feel like your staying in your families home! In fact it is or was their home for many years! A great place to stay. We are going back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Denot Suite. It was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I recently took a course in NYC and had to find a place to stay last minute. When the Canal Park Inn popped up from an Internet browse, I gave a call. From my first conversation with Sara to the delightful room and yummy breakfasts that followed, this inn became a definite 'find'. Tucked into the quaint area of TriBeCa yet near the subway and entrance to the Holland Tunnel, the Canal Park Inn is amazingly quiet and soothing (said from a gal who lives in rural CT). Get ready for a comfortable rest, easy access to everything in the city, and friendly hosts. I only wish the course had lasted longer!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a lovely B&B situated in TriBeCa - it is cosy and feels a little like staying at your Grandma's house (warm and welcoming) with a comfy bed, hot shower, air conditioning (we stayed at the height of summer!) and the tv remote awaiting your return after a busy day of sightseeing. Kipp's hospitality was wonderful and genuine. The granola and waffles were breakfast favourites, as was the freshly made tea. Based here, you're a 5 minute walk to Canal St subway and a 10-15 minute walk to the start of the West Village's great restaurants (Westville, Spasso, Cowgirl's and The Fatty Crab) along Hudson Street. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A unique and wonderful stay. The house is one of a kind. Its in a great neighborhood. The staff--notably Sarah--is, extremely friendly. And our room was as big as my old apartment on the Upper West Side. Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you love NYC and you hate the anonymous chain hotels, this is the place to stay. Even the smallest room is large and comfortable enough for two people and their luggage, and they are all well equipped, beautifully decorated and surprisingly quiet and silent. And breakfast in the lovely theater's cafe' is amazing!! You must absolutely try the waffles, and the frittata made on the waffle line! The location is wonderful. You will be just steps away from the Hudson River Park, one of the most exciting walks in NY, from Chinatown and its yummy eateries, from West Broadway and Soho and all the best shopping, from Downtown Ny and from the subway (line 1) that takes you straight to Time Square or Columbus Circle. And - last but not least- the owners, at the Canal Park Inn, are so kind, warm and interesting to talk to, and full of good advises for the traveller. The price/quality ratio is excellent. Absolutely reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The character and ambiance of each room is what first caught our attention. We stayed in the
Kennedy room amongst handcrafted furniture created by the owners, to maintain an atmosphere
of an era gone by.
To go along with our great surroundings we were treated to a delicious and more than adequate breakfast, with several choices to choose from. While Kip, Sarah or Zac prepared our breakfast we were able to chat about our daily activities. By sharing some of their experiences of NYC we were able to plan many lasting memories.
You will find places such as the Canal Park Inn that can provide a safe location, close to the parks, restaurants, and easy subway access. But, with all these things being equal, the difference maker was the warm welcome we received from the hosts. They truly wanted to make our stay in NYC enjoyable. Their hospitality and friendship is a gift.
When the Inn your staying at becomes a highlight of your vacation, you know the choice was right. We now have friends in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kennedy room. Great nights sleep in a most comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canal Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Park Inn

Address: 508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Canal Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the border of Soho and Tribeca, our landmarked 1826 Canal House is ideally situated for experiencing the best New York has to offer—and still having a quiet place to call home at the end of the day. Surrounded by 5-star restaurants and a block away from the landscaped parks, open grass, tennis courts, and stunning sunsets at the Hudson River Park, we strike a perfect balance between nature and culture.The Osborne’s have owned 508 Canal Street since 1980. In this building, they raised their daughter, providing the building with family history built into the very walls. (Behind a renovation wall on the top floor of the building is hidden a mural painted by children at a particularly creative third birthday party.) The beds and several end tables in the Inn were built by Kipp Osborne, coming from the days when he and his wife, Margot, were furniture makers in Soho and Tribeca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, T4B and Tingo so you can book your The Canal Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canal Park Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canal Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.