We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canal Park Inn

Save Saved
You added The Canal Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Canal Park Inn
508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I recently took a course in NYC and had to find a place to stay last minute. When the Canal Park Inn popped up from an Internet browse, I gave a call. From my first conversation with Sara to the delightful room and yummy breakfasts that followed, this inn became a definite 'find'. Tucked into the quaint area of TriBeCa yet near the subway and entrance to the Holland Tunnel, the Canal Park Inn is amazingly quiet and soothing (said from a gal who lives in rural CT). Get ready for a comfortable rest, easy access to everything in the city, and friendly hosts. I only wish the course had lasted longer!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
45
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a lovely B&B situated in TriBeCa - it is cosy and feels a little like staying at your Grandma's house (warm and welcoming) with a comfy bed, hot shower, air conditioning (we stayed at the height of summer!) and the tv remote awaiting your return after a busy day of sightseeing. Kipp's hospitality was wonderful and genuine. The granola and waffles were breakfast favourites, as was the freshly made tea. Based here, you're a 5 minute walk to Canal St subway and a 10-15 minute walk to the start of the West Village's great restaurants (Westville, Spasso, Cowgirl's and The Fatty Crab) along Hudson Street. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A unique and wonderful stay. The house is one of a kind. Its in a great neighborhood. The staff--notably Sarah--is, extremely friendly. And our room was as big as my old apartment on the Upper West Side. Excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you love NYC and you hate the anonymous chain hotels, this is the place to stay. Even the smallest room is large and comfortable enough for two people and their luggage, and they are all well equipped, beautifully decorated and surprisingly quiet and silent. And breakfast in the lovely theater's cafe' is amazing!! You must absolutely try the waffles, and the frittata made on the waffle line! The location is wonderful. You will be just steps away from the Hudson River Park, one of the most exciting walks in NY, from Chinatown and its yummy eateries, from West Broadway and Soho and all the best shopping, from Downtown Ny and from the subway (line 1) that takes you straight to Time Square or Columbus Circle. And - last but not least- the owners, at the Canal Park Inn, are so kind, warm and interesting to talk to, and full of good advises for the traveller. The price/quality ratio is excellent. Absolutely reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The character and ambiance of each room is what first caught our attention. We stayed in the
Kennedy room amongst handcrafted furniture created by the owners, to maintain an atmosphere
of an era gone by.
To go along with our great surroundings we were treated to a delicious and more than adequate breakfast, with several choices to choose from. While Kip, Sarah or Zac prepared our breakfast we were able to chat about our daily activities. By sharing some of their experiences of NYC we were able to plan many lasting memories.
You will find places such as the Canal Park Inn that can provide a safe location, close to the parks, restaurants, and easy subway access. But, with all these things being equal, the difference maker was the warm welcome we received from the hosts. They truly wanted to make our stay in NYC enjoyable. Their hospitality and friendship is a gift.
When the Inn your staying at becomes a highlight of your vacation, you know the choice was right. We now have friends in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kennedy room. Great nights sleep in a most comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After you've checked in and chatted to the (very welcoming, kind and helpful) owners dont be surprised if you quickly forget that you are actually in bustling downtown manhattan. Unlike the countless anonymous branded hotels or over-designed boutique places the Canal Park Inn offers accomodation which is both of a very high standard but also unique and personal. Think country b&b in a historic building owned and run by people who really care but in the heart of the city. The location is perfect for getting to both mid town or further afield (5 minutes from line 1, 15 minute walk to Greenwich village or Washington square park) and there are plenty of nice restaurants in the near vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The only reason I didn't give this an "excellent" is that I reserve that for when a room has everything this has, plus a great view and a phenomenal breakfast. But! There is so much that was perfect about The Canal Park Inn.

Easy to get to - right off 9A, had good parking karma and found a free spot right around the corner, large room with kitchen and separate sleeping nook for our "almost" teenager. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets must have had a very high thread count as they were silky-soft. There's an "urban" outside patio which was a nice addition - a rare commodity in NYC to have that much space! We love to walk everywhere in NY and it was a safe, easy 15-20 walk to the Village, where we strolled into shops, restaurants, and Washington Square Park.

We were only there for one night and the owners were most accommodating. They usually host for 2 or more, but it was empty so they were gracious and generous about arrangements. (It was my husband's 50th birthday.) The owners live there and Sarah-Doe (who manages the B&B with her Dad), was lovely and exceedingly helpful. We met Tip,her father, at the play and he was very, very nice. There is an intimate theatre space attached to the B&B and we saw the play (A Russian Drama from another theatre company using the space) and it was wonderful. A dream to see an inexpensive play, get a snack/beer afterwards at the little cafe, then walk upstairs to our room. (Stairs are a tiny bit steep, for anyone with physical limitations, but fine otherwise.)

The service at breakfast was great - very friendly guy making waffles, and even had an egg, mushroom, spinach frittata made in waffle maker too! Fresh orange slices for all of us, great selection of tea and coffee was okay. My husband had yogurt and fruit and that was good.

You will be happy and comfortable if you stay in this clean, comfortable B&B - where you can explore Tribeca, walk to the Village, Little Italy and China Town - plus you can walk to South Street Seaport!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Batby Suite - very quiet - not on the street. Also has a little sleeping nook for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Canal Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Park Inn

Also Known As:
The Canal Park Hotel
The Canal Park Hotel New York City
Address: 508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the border of Soho and Tribeca, our landmarked 1826 Canal House is ideally situated for experiencing the best New York has to offer—and still having a quiet place to call home at the end of the day. Surrounded by 5-star restaurants and a block away from the landscaped parks, open grass, tennis courts, and stunning sunsets at the Hudson River Park, we strike a perfect balance between nature and culture.The Osborne’s have owned 508 Canal Street since 1980. In this building, they raised their daughter, providing the building with family history built into the very walls. (Behind a renovation wall on the top floor of the building is hidden a mural painted by children at a particularly creative third birthday party.) The beds and several end tables in the Inn were built by Kipp Osborne, coming from the days when he and his wife, Margot, were furniture makers in Soho and Tribeca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Canal Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canal Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.