We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such welcoming hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canal Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Canal Park Inn to your Saves list
The Canal Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Negaunee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such welcoming hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The character and ambiance of each room is what first caught our attention. We stayed in the
Kennedy room amongst handcrafted furniture created by the owners, to maintain an atmosphere
of an era gone by.
To go along with our great surroundings we were treated to a delicious and more than adequate breakfast, with several choices to choose from. While Kip, Sarah or Zac prepared our breakfast we were able to chat about our daily activities. By sharing some of their experiences of NYC we were able to plan many lasting memories.
You will find places such as the Canal Park Inn that can provide a safe location, close to the parks, restaurants, and easy subway access. But, with all these things being equal, the difference maker was the warm welcome we received from the hosts. They truly wanted to make our stay in NYC enjoyable. Their hospitality and friendship is a gift.
When the Inn your staying at becomes a highlight of your vacation, you know the choice was right. We now have friends in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kennedy room. Great nights sleep in a most comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
56
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After you've checked in and chatted to the (very welcoming, kind and helpful) owners dont be surprised if you quickly forget that you are actually in bustling downtown manhattan. Unlike the countless anonymous branded hotels or over-designed boutique places the Canal Park Inn offers accomodation which is both of a very high standard but also unique and personal. Think country b&b in a historic building owned and run by people who really care but in the heart of the city. The location is perfect for getting to both mid town or further afield (5 minutes from line 1, 15 minute walk to Greenwich village or Washington square park) and there are plenty of nice restaurants in the near vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The only reason I didn't give this an "excellent" is that I reserve that for when a room has everything this has, plus a great view and a phenomenal breakfast. But! There is so much that was perfect about The Canal Park Inn.

Easy to get to - right off 9A, had good parking karma and found a free spot right around the corner, large room with kitchen and separate sleeping nook for our "almost" teenager. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets must have had a very high thread count as they were silky-soft. There's an "urban" outside patio which was a nice addition - a rare commodity in NYC to have that much space! We love to walk everywhere in NY and it was a safe, easy 15-20 walk to the Village, where we strolled into shops, restaurants, and Washington Square Park.

We were only there for one night and the owners were most accommodating. They usually host for 2 or more, but it was empty so they were gracious and generous about arrangements. (It was my husband's 50th birthday.) The owners live there and Sarah-Doe (who manages the B&B with her Dad), was lovely and exceedingly helpful. We met Tip,her father, at the play and he was very, very nice. There is an intimate theatre space attached to the B&B and we saw the play (A Russian Drama from another theatre company using the space) and it was wonderful. A dream to see an inexpensive play, get a snack/beer afterwards at the little cafe, then walk upstairs to our room. (Stairs are a tiny bit steep, for anyone with physical limitations, but fine otherwise.)

The service at breakfast was great - very friendly guy making waffles, and even had an egg, mushroom, spinach frittata made in waffle maker too! Fresh orange slices for all of us, great selection of tea and coffee was okay. My husband had yogurt and fruit and that was good.

You will be happy and comfortable if you stay in this clean, comfortable B&B - where you can explore Tribeca, walk to the Village, Little Italy and China Town - plus you can walk to South Street Seaport!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Batby Suite - very quiet - not on the street. Also has a little sleeping nook for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What makes a good hotel? Well, for me, its service, its the feeling that you're more than a credit card with a person attached; and maybe also its a good feeling about the room, that its quiet and stylish and well thought out and super comfortable (Denot and Kennedy are excellent) and its about value, that you're not being ripped off, a pawn in someone's fancy business plan but that the people you're paying actually might consider staying in their own inn. The Canal Park Inn clears these hurdles effortlessly, but then it does something else, because its more than an inn, its a unique theatre too, and in a world of too many sterile hotels, to live temporarily above a small working theatre is a very refreshing and heartening experience. And they have a great cafe too. Impossible to dislike : seriously....don't look anywhere else, unless you have unusual tastes or needs, you will come away delighted by your stay here.

Room Tip: Kennedy is perfect for a couple, Denot has a great little side room that could accommodate an additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Ks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in the Kennedy room for four nights. It was our fourth visit to NYC. We have stayed in chain hotels and boutique hotels and this was far superior. The building is on the National Historic Register and was built in 1826. Our room had the original fireplace, beautifully restored wood floors and an authentic color scheme yet included modern conveniences like flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator and a full bathroom. The beautiful furniture was made by the owner and his wife. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast consisted of juice, tea or coffee and a choice of four entrees. We tried them all and they were very good. Breakfast is served in a small cafe on the ground floor. Our breakfasts were enlivened by conversations about the theatre from the wait staff and the owner. There is a small theatre on the premise with shows on the weekend. While our schedule did not allow us to attend, we did get to see the facilities which are state of the art. Location ideal-subway five minutes away, within seven stops of Times Square, two stops of World Trade Center. SoHo and Tribeca with shops and restaurants are both within walking distance. Our host was very accommodating about storing our bags past checkout time until we could catch our shuttle. Reasonably priced-especially for Manhattan.

Room Tip: "Kennedy" is at the back and even quieter than the front rooms which, based on the lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights prior to leaving the USA. Very close to 9/11 memorial...also within walking distance of train station. Loved the Kennedy room although the walk up the stairs was initially daunting when we arrived. Literally dragged the 2 bags up the 2 flights of stairs! Breakfast in the morning was cheerfully served and quite adequate...excellent coffee! Comfortable bed, although unaware that the rooms would not be serviced until our departure. Did not matter really as our stay was not long enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Canal park inn is great downtown home from home. I stayed in Batsby for 5 nights. It is cute, comfortable and feels like your own apartment. Its location is great - just moments from Tribecca and, if you know New York, it is a perfect jumping off point. The rooms are full of character, the beds comfortable and it is unbelievably quiet. The owners are helpful and available without being obtrusive. I have no reservations in recommending it and will be back soon. My nly request is a mirror above the chest in Batsby bedroom - then it would truly be perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canal Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Park Inn

Address: 508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Canal Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the border of Soho and Tribeca, our landmarked 1826 Canal House is ideally situated for experiencing the best New York has to offer—and still having a quiet place to call home at the end of the day. Surrounded by 5-star restaurants and a block away from the landscaped parks, open grass, tennis courts, and stunning sunsets at the Hudson River Park, we strike a perfect balance between nature and culture.The Osborne’s have owned 508 Canal Street since 1980. In this building, they raised their daughter, providing the building with family history built into the very walls. (Behind a renovation wall on the top floor of the building is hidden a mural painted by children at a particularly creative third birthday party.) The beds and several end tables in the Inn were built by Kipp Osborne, coming from the days when he and his wife, Margot, were furniture makers in Soho and Tribeca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Canal Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canal Park Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canal Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.